HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 How many HQs?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2503
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: How many HQs?   Mon Jun 26 2017, 12:38

@Count Adhemar wrote:
Yes, you can take them in any Aeldari army.

Does this mean I can have Mandrakes and Coven stuff in the same list?

@Count Adhemar wrote:
I'd be taking Yvraine and the Visarch and just spamming Smite and Gaze every turn (and in the enemy turn if I get a Soulburst). Shield them with some Warlocks, have The Visarch take any Perils wounds for Yvraine (and then regenerate them) and I reckon they'll probably be quite effective!

You know, for some reason I thought the Visarch was Yncarne's bodyguard instead of Yvraine's. Embarassed
Back to top Go down
Quauchtemoc
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 43
Join date : 2017-06-19

PostSubject: Re: How many HQs?   Mon Jun 26 2017, 12:39

Yes you can taker coven units, but they wont get the Ynnarys special rule of course
Back to top Go down
mightydoughnut
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 163
Join date : 2015-05-06

PostSubject: Re: How many HQs?   Mon Jun 26 2017, 12:40

@The Shredder wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
Yes, you can take them in any Aeldari army.

Does this mean I can have Mandrakes and Coven stuff in the same list?


No rule says you can't.

_________________
http://warlockpurple.tumblr.com - my wargaming blog
Back to top Go down
http://www.warlockpurple.tumblr.com
mightydoughnut
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 163
Join date : 2015-05-06

PostSubject: Re: How many HQs?   Mon Jun 26 2017, 12:41

However, you can't have Coven/Mandrake and several named characters if you build your army as Ynnari (via Army of the Reborn) as their rule prevents from certain units being taken in. Picking Ynnari HQ does not prevent you from going with Covens tho. (you build by Keyword rule, not Army of the Reborn rule, so the unit restriction does not apply)

_________________
http://warlockpurple.tumblr.com - my wargaming blog
Back to top Go down
http://www.warlockpurple.tumblr.com
mynamelegend
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 82
Join date : 2015-04-05

PostSubject: Re: How many HQs?   Mon Jun 26 2017, 13:24

Currently there's no reason whatsoever to not build your army with the broadest possible keyword, "Aeldari", at all times. When codices come out they're supposed to add army-unique stratagems, which may well change this up quite a bit.

This, more than anything else, is why I'm not just yet running out to get Harlequin models for my DE. Who knows, our stratagems could be really great. (I mean, it's not super likely, but it's possible)
Back to top Go down
mightydoughnut
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 163
Join date : 2015-05-06

PostSubject: Re: How many HQs?   Mon Jun 26 2017, 13:27

@mynamelegend wrote:
Currently there's no reason whatsoever to not build your army with the broadest possible keyword, "Aeldari", at all times. When codices come out they're supposed to add army-unique stratagems, which may well change this up quite a bit.

This, more than anything else, is why I'm not just yet running out to get Harlequin models for my DE. Who knows, our stratagems could be really great. (I mean, it's not super likely, but it's possible)

Unless you go Ynnari.

_________________
http://warlockpurple.tumblr.com - my wargaming blog
Back to top Go down
http://www.warlockpurple.tumblr.com
Cerve
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 318
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: How many HQs?   Mon Jun 26 2017, 17:15

I just got that the Keyword Ynnari is just added to all the others.

So a Solitare into an Ynnari detatchment still be both Harlequinn and Ynnari.
So let say if I take a second Harlequinn detatchment...and I buy a Shadowseer in this one....I can:
-Move with the Solitare
-Cast over the Solitare the Harlequinn power doublemove, because he still an Harlequinn
-So move again with the Solitare
-Charge
-Kill any unit with him (maybe a wounded one with previous shots)
-Soulburst with him! Which means move back, pile in and fight with another nearly target etc..


That's just an example, but thanks to the keywords, both Harlequinn and Aeldari psykers still affects respectively both Ynnari Aeldari and Ynnari Harlequinns.

Am I missing something?
Back to top Go down
mightydoughnut
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 163
Join date : 2015-05-06

PostSubject: Re: How many HQs?   Mon Jun 26 2017, 17:21

Yes - the fact that if you take Army of the Reborn, any chosen unit loses its army-specific ability (i.e Rising Crescendo, Power from Pain, Battle Focus etc.) and gain Strength from Death.

Also important - if you do pick Army of the Reborn, you can have ONLY Ynnari models in your army, meaning there is no way to have Harlequins with Rising Crescendo and another ones from a different detachement with SfD. You can take Ynnari HQ into your army without losing RC or any other universal army rules, as you are using building army by Keyword. There is no way to take your units as Ynnari that are not Ynnari HQ (Viscarch, Yvraine, Avatar) without using Army of the Reborn rule to create the army.

_________________
http://warlockpurple.tumblr.com - my wargaming blog
Back to top Go down
http://www.warlockpurple.tumblr.com
Daspien
Slave
avatar

Posts : 19
Join date : 2016-06-11

PostSubject: Re: How many HQs?   Tue Jun 27 2017, 15:31

Sorry for the disruption but reading this thread I've noticed that people mention Succubus with archite glaive and PGL (I do understand you mean Phantasma Grenade Launcher) I have the spanish edition of the Xenos Index and in it the possibility for the succubus for picking an PGL doesn't exists. Could you please confirm me this subject so as to know if there is a typo on the spanish xenos index? Thanks! [/justify]
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2503
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: How many HQs?   Tue Jun 27 2017, 15:37

@Daspien wrote:
Sorry for the disruption but reading this thread I've noticed that people mention Succubus with archite glaive and PGL (I do understand you mean Phantasma Grenade Launcher) I have the spanish edition of the Xenos Index and in it the possibility for the succubus for picking an PGL doesn't exists. Could you please confirm me this subject so as to know if there is a typo on the spanish xenos index? Thanks!  [/justify]

It's not a typo. Succubi aren't allowed to take PGLs.
Back to top Go down
Daspien
Slave
avatar

Posts : 19
Join date : 2016-06-11

PostSubject: Re: How many HQs?   Tue Jun 27 2017, 20:35

Thanks for the clarification... I wish it was!
Back to top Go down
 
How many HQs?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Dark Eldar Tactics
-
Jump to: