HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Transports and Objectives

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Trueborn44
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 173
Join date : 2016-06-14

PostSubject: Transports and Objectives   Mon Jun 05 2017, 13:45

Just a quick rules question here. If I have a transport on an objective, does the embarked unit count towards the number of models within 3" of the objective? Either way I feel this had pretty big ramifications for army building.
Back to top Go down
Barrywise
Wych
avatar

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-11-14
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Transports and Objectives   Mon Jun 05 2017, 16:02

I don't believe so. I think it's literally models on the table.

_________________
Want to chat in real time with your fellow archons? Join our Discord channel -> https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
Trueborn44
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 173
Join date : 2016-06-14

PostSubject: Re: Transports and Objectives   Mon Jun 05 2017, 16:15

That's the way I saw it as well. I was just hoping there was some official confirmation because it seems like a bit of a hit to transport heavy armies because we have to disembark at the start of the movement phase.
Back to top Go down
Kantalla
Wych
avatar

Posts : 826
Join date : 2015-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Transports and Objectives   Tue Jun 06 2017, 07:32

7th Edition GW clarified that models in a transport only interact with the rest of the world where the rules specifically say they do - i.e. when shooting out of a fire point. The rest of the time they are considered off the table. I would assume that would carry into 8th unless someone has something to say otherwise.

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Drukhari damage output analysis
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7192
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Transports and Objectives   Tue Jun 06 2017, 09:15

Although not specifically stated in the rules, I think it's clear that the intent is that embarked models have no effect on the table unless specifically stated otherwise. So I wouldn't imagine they would count towards units on an objective whilst still embarked, which means no last turn objective grabs.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Trueborn44
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 173
Join date : 2016-06-14

PostSubject: Re: Transports and Objectives   Tue Jun 06 2017, 09:23

You can still grab them if they're uncontested or you can blast whatever squad that's on them off of it. Raiders and Venoms are still models after all, though I do agree it's more difficult. To me this is where Scourges may shine, simply because a stock unit is only 70 pts and puts 5 bodies on an objective later in the game, whilst (I can imagine) seeming very inconsequential to your opponent.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7192
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Transports and Objectives   Tue Jun 06 2017, 09:29

Sorry, I should have said contested/occupied objectives. You can't simply move a Venom onto an objective on the last turn if there are enemy models already on it. You'd have to kill all of them within range of the objective in order to grab it.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Transports and Objectives   

Back to top Go down
 
Transports and Objectives
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: