HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Dark Eldar point sheets preview:

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AuthorMessage
Dark Elf Dave
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 374
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Tue May 30 2017, 23:04

With the way the new rules work, you could see a raider dropping 10 Wyches off, then charging the unit the Wyches are targeting. This means the target can't shoot you before you get to charge next turn. Then the raider falls back shooting while it does and the Wyches charge in. It won't always be a viable option but against Tau or IG troops it might be useful.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2421
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Tue May 30 2017, 23:05

@Dark Elf Dave wrote:
You can take that build in 7th currently can't you? You can have a melee weapon as well as a rifle.

Yes you can, fully legal and its only 9pts different.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 374
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Tue May 30 2017, 23:11

I am building some wracks this week and I was thinking of having the two liquifier guns along with a haemonculus with a liquifier gun. That could put out 3D6 hits, and a possible random AP modifier but should be at least -1.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2421
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Tue May 30 2017, 23:12


_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 374
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Tue May 30 2017, 23:23

That's the first look I've had at the rules for our weapons...good bye splinter cannons!
Back to top Go down
dumpeal
Wych
avatar

Posts : 712
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Tue May 30 2017, 23:31

@Dark Elf Dave wrote:
That's the first look I've had at the rules for our weapons...good bye splinter cannons!

Why? At halve distance, it still shoot 6 times.
Back to top Go down
CurstAlchemist
Wych
avatar

Posts : 867
Join date : 2015-05-01
Location : Las Vegas

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 00:10

@Dark Elf Dave wrote:
With the way the new rules work, you could see a raider dropping 10 Wyches off, then charging the unit the Wyches are targeting. This means the target can't shoot you before you get to charge next turn. Then the raider falls back shooting while it does and the Wyches charge in. It won't always be a viable option but against Tau or IG troops it might be useful.

If you fall back your raider they still get to over watch your wyches as they are no longer in combat with your raider, You will need to have the raider still engaged and have it fall back the turn after the wyches have charged. As long as no enemy is within 1" of a unit and it hasn't fallen back in it's turn (unless it has fly) it can overwatch.
Back to top Go down
Hen Tai, the tentacle guy
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 278
Join date : 2016-12-13
Location : Norway

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 00:31

If all 10 wyches survive overwatch, you have chosen correct drug, and you have a succubus, that is over 50 attacks striking first (from t2)!!!!!!!

_________________
A Sybarite is never sybawrong...
I have a project log. http://www.thedarkcity.net/t14639-kabal-coven-wych-cult-and-harlequinsyyy
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2421
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 00:33

If you are fighting against T4, you would want the +1S over +1 attack.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Kantalla
Wych
avatar

Posts : 590
Join date : 2015-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 03:00

Splinter Cannon Venoms... Will miss my 12 shot batteries from the back field.

The Scourge datasheet is exciting though. There is enough info there to start some more serious theorycrafting. Will start work on a Drukhari vs Dread analysis tonight.

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Drukhari damage output analysis
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2739
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 05:14

So no staying back and shoot with venoms anymore. Maybe we should start a foot slogging dark Eldar army?

Also: those Haywire blasters don't seem great anymore. Now that vehicles gained more wounds that special rule isn't that great anymore.

_________________
+++++INCOMING TRANSMISSION+++++
The Dark Eldar Codex sucks. You probably won just because your enemy loaded his dice to loose. Never forget this mantra and spread the word. Mention it in every discussion possible, people can´t get enough of that valuable information and need to be reminded regularely.
+++++END OF TRANSMISSION+++++
http://www.thedarkcity.net/t12720-tainted-reborn
Back to top Go down
TeenageAngst
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1407
Join date : 2016-08-29

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 05:37

Quote :
So no staying back and shoot with venoms anymore.

O_o Because they became Rapid Fire instead of Salvo? You're not seeing the forest through the trees. This entire game plays like a funnel, with the middle of the table being the hole. It's designed to draw you into close combat. You don't want that for things with good guns. Venoms have the option of staying as far away from the central cluster as possible while still being entirely effective gun platforms. Ravagers too. And if something does get close enough to threaten it it can defend itself and/or get away. Raiders are our delivery units, Venoms are still our long range gunboats.

_________________
Really terrible videos about tiny plastic space elfs intended to help you get gud scrub:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZP8WGIhte5TmCWQXsZO4A

Flawless pieces of literary perfection:
https://www.fanfiction.net/u/2805979/
Back to top Go down
mynamelegend
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 96
Join date : 2015-04-05

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 08:13

@CptMetal wrote:
Also: those Haywire blasters don't seem great anymore. Now that vehicles gained more wounds that special rule isn't that great anymore.

You're not kidding. Old codex, average haywire shots to take down all 3 HP vehicles: 5.4.
New codex, average haywire shots to take down 8 wound T8 3+ armor save vehicle: 16.8.
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 374
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 09:35

Haywire is not as good as before but now all our poison weapons can wound on a 6. So I do feel that is balanced.

We have heard a lot of talk about massed IG infantry being able to bring down a land raider...well that applies to our infantry as well.
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Wych
avatar

Posts : 850
Join date : 2017-01-26

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 12:22

I assume we could theoretically.

We need fewer shots (864 vs 1152) but still in both cases we can just agree we won't be able to do more then plink 1 of their 16 wounds (54 shots) with normal splinter rifles
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 374
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 12:53

Well it wont happen very often and certainly would seem a waste against a Land Raider.

With our Raider only being T5 it means the majority of infantry will wound it on 5+ (or even 4+) where as we can only hurt their transports on a 6+

On the other hand against high toughness units it becomes a level playing field.
Back to top Go down
Khayyin
Slave
avatar

Posts : 4
Join date : 2015-03-01

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 15:15

@Hen Tai, the tentacle guy wrote:
If all 10 wyches survive overwatch, you have chosen correct drug, and you have a succubus, that is over 50 attacks striking first (from t2)!!!!!!!

How do you get 50 attacks? I count 31 + the attacks of the succubus if you take the +1a drug. And they are still str 3.
Back to top Go down
Barrywise
Wych
avatar

Posts : 530
Join date : 2012-11-14
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 15:27

@Khayyin wrote:
@Hen Tai, the tentacle guy wrote:
If all 10 wyches survive overwatch, you have chosen correct drug, and you have a succubus, that is over 50 attacks striking first (from t2)!!!!!!!

How do you get 50 attacks? I count 31 + the attacks of the succubus if you take the +1a drug. And they are still str 3.

Pistols, Grenade, Hekatrix, fully kitted out Succubus maybe? lemme try to figure it out as I type...

1 attacks base +1 pistol, +1 weapon bonus, +1 drugs, x10 = 40.

pistol shot changed to grenade -> 39 +d6 +whatever the succubus is.
Back to top Go down
Khayyin
Slave
avatar

Posts : 4
Join date : 2015-03-01

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 15:33

@Barrywise wrote:
@Khayyin wrote:
@Hen Tai, the tentacle guy wrote:
If all 10 wyches survive overwatch, you have chosen correct drug, and you have a succubus, that is over 50 attacks striking first (from t2)!!!!!!!

How do you get 50 attacks? I count 31 + the attacks of the succubus if you take the +1a drug. And they are still str 3.

Pistols, Grenade, Hekatrix, fully kitted out Succubus maybe? lemme try to figure it out as I type...

1 attacks base +1 pistol, +1 weapon bonus, +1 drugs, x10 = 40.

pistol shot changed to grenade -> 39 +d6 +whatever the succubus is.

Pistols do not give a bonus attack anymore. You can shoot into cc but only in your next own turn after the turn you charged. Grenades can't be used in cc too.

They told us in the faction spotlight on warhammer community, that wyches are one of the most buffed units in the new edition. I really don't understand how.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6914
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 15:38

By my reckoning, those 10 Wyches will get 1 attack base, +1A for their blades and +1A for drugs. None of the other weapon options give any extra bonus attacks in melee over what the blades give and I don't know if you can use grenades in melee. There's no charge bonus anymore so that's 3 attacks each and if it's turn 3 or more you are hitting on 2+ (PfP) and re-rolling 1's (Succubus).

So 30 attacks, hitting on 2+ with re-rolls is 29.17 hits. The bad news is that they are still S3 and no AP...

Against MEQ, that 3.24 dead Marines, plus whatever the Succubus does.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Khayyin
Slave
avatar

Posts : 4
Join date : 2015-03-01

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 15:42

You can use grenades only in the shooting phase. One model uses a grenade instead of a normal shooting attack. And only pistols allow shooting if an enemy is within 1'.
Back to top Go down
Barrywise
Wych
avatar

Posts : 530
Join date : 2012-11-14
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 15:46

Yeah I have no idea how he's getting to 50 if it's looking at only the CC attacks

_________________
Want to chat in real time with your fellow archons? Join our Discord channel -> https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
Azdrubael
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1746
Join date : 2011-11-16
Location : Russia

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 16:42

Is there a point even? In regular Wyches? With Hekatrix Brides there is at least weight of atcks, and you can give em S4.

_________________
The Dance of Death begins - embraces, caresses, and kisses,
The Harlequin loves you as you fall over in pieces!
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6914
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 16:50

I'm more concerned with what the Talos is supposed to do now. Okay, it gained a 5++ and PfP but lost on most stats and, probably most importantly, lost it's AP2 in melee!

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Hen Tai, the tentacle guy
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 278
Join date : 2016-12-13
Location : Norway

PostSubject: Re: Dark Eldar point sheets preview:   Wed May 31 2017, 17:05

My wych mathematics: 1 attack stock, +1 from weapon, +1 from drugs, +1 from succubus, +1 from turn two. X10. Then shooting in shooting phase while in cc

_________________
A Sybarite is never sybawrong...
I have a project log. http://www.thedarkcity.net/t14639-kabal-coven-wych-cult-and-harlequinsyyy
Back to top Go down
 
Dark Eldar point sheets preview:
Back to top 
Page 3 of 4Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: