HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Soulburst, Independent Characters and Precision Shots; the confusing trifecta

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Ikol
Wych
avatar

Posts : 564
Join date : 2017-03-20
Location : Perth

PostSubject: Soulburst, Independent Characters and Precision Shots; the confusing trifecta   Sat Apr 15 2017, 02:05

Greetings fellow Archons, Archites, Klaivex's, Haemonculi Lords, Concubines, Succubi and other assorted scum!

I got into a mid-game argument over a Soulburst and was hoping one of you fine targets could provide an answer for me.

I was playing Ynnari, my opponent AM. Oddly enough, a situation arose in which my opponent insisted that I could Soulburst whilst I believed that I could not. affraid

First, the Scenario: We have a large blob of Imperial Guard on the table. At one end of this BlobSquad, we have a Commisar in Unit Coherency with the Blob. At the other end, we have a Ynnari unit of Incubi such that one model is within 7" of a member of the BlobSquad. Elsewhere on the table, there is a Unit of Eldar Rangers who happen to be within Eldar Long Rifle Range of the Commisar.

The Commisar took a few Precision Shots from Ranger Fire and miraculously failed all of his LoS rolls, dying and thus allowing any Units within 7" of his Unit to trigger a Soulburst Action.


The Question: Does this allow my Unit of Incubi to Soulburst?

I would have ruled that: 'No, the Incubi can not Soulburst as they are not within 7" of the model that was eliminated.'

My opponent, on the other hand, believed that: 'I could Soulburst, because the Incubi were within 7" of the Unit the dead Commisar was attached to.'
I suspect this was because he wanted me to charge his Blobsquad rather than the Command Squad my Incubi were Klaive-ing for.

Could someone give me a second opinion, or point me towards the rule or current FAQ that clarifies this?
Cheers in advance.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst, Independent Characters and Precision Shots; the confusing trifecta   Sat Apr 15 2017, 02:55

Because the commissar, for the purposes of soulburst, is considered a "unit" himself when he dies, I'd think that anything that wanted to soulburst would need to be within 7" of his location when he died.

So basically, yes, you get to soulburst when an IC dies, but only if within soulburst range of that specific IC. The same is true if the reverse is what happened, where the unit died but the IC remained.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7207
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst, Independent Characters and Precision Shots; the confusing trifecta   Sat Apr 15 2017, 09:55

Unless it's some sort of Schrodinger's Commissar it can't be part of the unit that is completely destroyed and not part of it at the same time.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Ikol
Wych
avatar

Posts : 564
Join date : 2017-03-20
Location : Perth

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst, Independent Characters and Precision Shots; the confusing trifecta   Sat Apr 15 2017, 13:03

@BetrayTheWorld wrote:
So basically, yes, you get to soulburst when an IC dies, but only if within soulburst range of that specific IC. The same is true if the reverse is what happened, where the unit died but the IC remained.

I thiught that was how it worked.

I've since found the FAQ about Soulburst allocation and immediacy vs Attack resolution, confirming what you've stated here.

Cheers!
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Soulburst, Independent Characters and Precision Shots; the confusing trifecta   

Back to top Go down
 
Soulburst, Independent Characters and Precision Shots; the confusing trifecta
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: