HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Soulburst Charging (out of phase)

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
smith1186
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 73
Join date : 2016-10-12
Location : WPB, FL

PostSubject: Soulburst Charging (out of phase)   Sun Mar 12 2017, 08:01

So I was swapping tactics with a fellow Commorite today, particularly with regard to the Visarch and made an interesting point.

If a Visarch (and his unit of Incubi) use a Soulburst action 'During the Shooting Phase' to charge a unit (If that is possible) AND Do So Through DIFFICULT TERRAIN, would the 'Charged' unit be able to overeatch? Would the Visarch (unit) strike at Initiative 1 or because they charged during the shooting phase, would they strike at normal Initiative?

Also, there is this interesting FAQ question,

Q: Using a Soulburst, can a unit make a charge when they would normally be prohibited from doing so (e.g. after arriving from Deep Strike, after Running, after Regrouping, etc.)?
A: No (with the exception that a unit that is locked in combat but no longer has any models in base contact with an enemy model may do so).

Thoughts?
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1236
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst Charging (out of phase)   Sun Mar 12 2017, 08:25

Yes they can overwatch because the rules for SfD expressly say they can. And Yes you strike at I1 because the brb does not care when specifically you charged. It only cares if you charged through difficult terrain in the given turn. If the visarch charged in the other players psychic phase they would still strike at I1 during the opponents fight subphase because that is what the rules require. As to the niche case as to whether or not The visarch can down a unit at initiative and then murder something else hiding in ruins at I1 (swing at I) I lean towards that case actually being permissable because I can't find anything about the fight subphase that cares if you've already swung if you are also 'able' to swing at a lower initiative, because again: all the I1 penalty cares about is if you charged through dangerous terrain that turn it doesn't care about when.

What do you find interesting about that answer? It seems one of the more urbane and obvious ones in the collection.
Back to top Go down
smith1186
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 73
Join date : 2016-10-12
Location : WPB, FL

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst Charging (out of phase)   Sun Mar 12 2017, 08:42

I was trying to make sense of the SfD rule and charging out of phase and when I came across that in the FAQ, it just made things more confusing.

_________________
Happy Hunting the Mon-Keigh
Back to top Go down
smith1186
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 73
Join date : 2016-10-12
Location : WPB, FL

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst Charging (out of phase)   Sun Mar 12 2017, 09:20

Wait a minute, with that FAQ statement, wouldn't it mean that u wouldn't be able to use a Soulburst action to charge after the unit has turbo boosted?

In fact, if I Turbo boost Reavers across the board to get close to opposing units in my turn, then on the opposing players turn, those reaves get a Soulburst action, does that FAQ now mean they CAN'T charge???

Also, now let's say a Reaver unit gets to charge during the fight sub-phase after Initiative 10 has taken place. Does the new FAQ interpretation now mean that since I10 has passed that HoW attacks CANT be made???

Back to top Go down
Tounguekutter
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 349
Join date : 2014-05-18
Location : Springfield, Virginia

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst Charging (out of phase)   Sun Mar 12 2017, 15:09

@smith1186 First question: yes. Sad Second question: No. You can't charge during your turn, but I believe if you Soulburst during your opponent's turn you may charge, as Turboboosting prevents you from charging during your turn (I think). Third question: yes Sad

_________________
I am very excited by the new 8th edition and what it will bring for Dark Eldar.  I have a hard time believing it will be overall worse than our situation as of 7th.  I am always happy to talk wishlisting and fandexes in any edition from 4-on.  I have written multiple fan codexes (3 and a "mini-fandex" which was totally ridiculous), the latest of which (for 7th edition) can be found here.
Back to top Go down
smith1186
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 73
Join date : 2016-10-12
Location : WPB, FL

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst Charging (out of phase)   Sun Mar 12 2017, 19:42

Damn... Talk about a serious Nerfing

_________________
Happy Hunting the Mon-Keigh
Back to top Go down
 
Soulburst Charging (out of phase)
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DARK ELDAR DISCUSSION

 :: Dark Eldar Discussion
-
Jump to: