HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Soulburst Failed Saves

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Vlad
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 97
Join date : 2017-02-06
Location : Coventry, England

PostSubject: Soulburst Failed Saves   Fri Mar 03 2017, 16:29

Alright guys,

Now we've had some questions answered in the FAQ (Yaaaaay cyclops ) I have a bit of a noob question:

Can you choose to not take saves? So for example someone shoots at your lone reaver next to your squad of 9 reavers and you would normally get the 5+ armour save, can you chose to not take a save and sacrifice the model so the bigger unit can soulburst?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2710
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst Failed Saves   Fri Mar 03 2017, 18:31

No. Saves aren't optional.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst Failed Saves   Fri Mar 03 2017, 19:00

Hmm, I don't have time to look up the precise wording the rulebook gives on this, but I know for sure that when we have multiple saves, GW has given us permission(through the FAQ, I believe), to decide for ourselves what our "best" save means.

So for instance, if you had a 6+ invuln and a 5+ armour save, and you were being shot with AP5 weapons, you might still be able to choose the 5+ armour save as, in your estimation, being your "best" armour save for the given situation.

Again, I can't confirm this at the moment due to time restraints, but it's at least a hint on where to begin looking if you'd like to research the wording.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2710
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst Failed Saves   Fri Mar 03 2017, 20:55

Now, that bit is true. So good news for our wyches.
Back to top Go down
PsychicHobo
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 62
Join date : 2016-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst Failed Saves   Fri Mar 03 2017, 22:26

@Jimsolo wrote:
Now, that bit is true. So good news for our wyches.

"OK guys, we've been training in the arenas for decades now, for just this moment!"

*squad leaps into the path of every single bullet possible*
Back to top Go down
Vlad
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 97
Join date : 2017-02-06
Location : Coventry, England

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst Failed Saves   Sat Mar 04 2017, 00:09

I know it seems kind of counter productive to just go "yeah I want all my dudes in that unit to snuff it" but situationally it could be useful?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2710
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Soulburst Failed Saves   Sat Mar 04 2017, 01:50

It could be.

So, having gone back to find chapter and verse, it appears that the rules now say you're "allowed" an armor save, and that a unit "gets" to make a save. This makes it seem like it's optional.

I seem to recall that a past FAQ answered this question that you did in fact have to make saves if you could.

However, in 7e, it may be a brand new world. If you're a Ynnari player, I'd talk to your TO about it.
Back to top Go down
 
Soulburst Failed Saves
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Dark Eldar Tactics
-
Jump to: