HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
WildCandy
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 152
Join date : 2016-11-06

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sat Mar 04 2017, 04:31

I wonder if swooping Hawks can do their skyleap instead of moving ability as a soulburst move.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sat Mar 04 2017, 04:34

I think they'd need explicit permission to do that. I don't think you can do 'instead of' actions with Soulburst.
Back to top Go down
BizarreShowbiz
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2014-11-16

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sat Mar 04 2017, 11:01

Im getting giddy over Harlequin Troupes on board Starweavers turboboosting, getting wrecked and assaulting after disembarking with a soulburst.


TORA TORA TORA!

_________________
Engalie 40k - Your daily fix of spanish Dark Eldar tactica, now with 100% more Ynnari and Harlequins.
Back to top Go down
http://engalie40k.blogspot.com.es/
Vlad
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 111
Join date : 2017-02-06
Location : Coventry, England

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sat Mar 04 2017, 11:11

@BizarreShowbiz I know this is insane! I'm playing a game tomorrow and am running 4 x 6 man Troupes in star weavers just so I can give that a go!
Back to top Go down
BizarreShowbiz
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2014-11-16

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sat Mar 04 2017, 11:21

@Vlad wrote:
@BizarreShowbiz I know this is insane! I'm playing a game tomorrow and am running 4 x 6 man Troupes in star weavers just so I can give that a go!

Great minds think alike it seems Smile

_________________
Engalie 40k - Your daily fix of spanish Dark Eldar tactica, now with 100% more Ynnari and Harlequins.
Back to top Go down
http://engalie40k.blogspot.com.es/
WildCandy
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 152
Join date : 2016-11-06

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sat Mar 04 2017, 11:43

Don't let them explode! Do tell how it went!
Back to top Go down
Mononcule
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 165
Join date : 2014-03-01

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sat Mar 04 2017, 12:26

A little question about charging in the fight phase: does it means that if a Ynnari unit without grenades destroy a first unit at his initiative step, then charge a unit in cover, you attack again at Initiative 1?
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sat Mar 04 2017, 12:34

.... well.... yes?

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sat Mar 04 2017, 14:53

Just be careful you don't get your vehicle so close to the enemy that you lose the unit to seatbelt deaths.

Surrounding a vehicle so that there's no legal way to place the unit inside is kind of a d-bag move in some peoples' eyes, but it's still a danger to be aware of.
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 616
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sat Mar 04 2017, 23:19

@Mononcule wrote:
A little question about charging in the fight phase: does it means that if a Ynnari unit without grenades destroy a first unit at his initiative step, then charge a unit in cover, you attack again at Initiative 1?

I don't think so. When you charge into cover, you don't get additional attacks at initiative step 1 - the attacks you already have get put at initiative step 1. If you've already used your attacks for that fight subphase, there is no indication that you get them back to use again from a soulburst action.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sun Mar 05 2017, 19:47

@Jimsolo wrote:
I think they'd need explicit permission to do that.  I don't think you can do 'instead of' actions with Soulburst.  

Really? I thought that it expressly gave us permission to do so. I could be wrong, but I'm fairly certain it said something about allowing you to perform "instead of" actions, and specifically gave examples of "turbo-boosting, running, etc", and if it DID, the "etcetera" would cover and allow the ability to skyleap.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sun Mar 05 2017, 21:34

If it does give permission for 'insteads,' then you're right.
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1303
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sun Mar 05 2017, 21:40

I'd say that it doesn't and that since the only insteads mentioned are to run or to turboboost Literally: "...immediately shoot (or run, or turboboost)..." that therefore instead actions from either the movement phase or assault phase may not be undertaken, only specifically Run and Turboboost.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sun Mar 05 2017, 21:49

There we go. That was my initial reading as well. It would be a good question to ask on the off chance that we ever get another FAQ for this book.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sun Mar 05 2017, 22:16

Is the word "etc" there after turbo-boost? Because that drastically alters the meaning.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sun Mar 05 2017, 22:20

It is not, unfortunately. The wording is specific and not open ended.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sun Mar 05 2017, 22:22

Yeah, just checked myself too, so that's a no on skyleap and any similar abilities that aren't a run or turbo-boost.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Vlad
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 111
Join date : 2017-02-06
Location : Coventry, England

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sun Mar 05 2017, 23:13

So I tried the whole "units in starweavers zooming up the board so they are in your face" thing. It worked quite well to be fair! The two times my opponent managed to kill the star weavers they both were wrecked by bolter fire, the units inside hopped out and immediately charged the units that killed their transports and wiped them (with some great rolls)!
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Mon Mar 06 2017, 01:28

It's a good thing your opponent didn't think to surround the vehicles before popping them. Then the unit inside would have died automatically.
Back to top Go down
WildCandy
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 152
Join date : 2016-11-06

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Mon Mar 06 2017, 04:44

Swooping hawks come from reserves, drop grenade pack, arrange soul burst on the turn they arrive so they can redeploy/intercept flyers or just shoot twice. Opponents turn hope they live. Second turn if one has word of phoenix cast that, shoot or intercept and on normal move skyleap.
Soul bursting can get much more mileage from hawks still.
Back to top Go down
StackedDeck
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 33
Join date : 2017-01-30

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Mon Mar 06 2017, 15:08

@Mononcule.
Never mind. I need to read the rules/FAQ before replying. Please ignore this post.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Mon Mar 06 2017, 16:46

@WildCandy wrote:
Swooping hawks come from reserves, drop grenade pack, arrange soul burst on the turn they arrive so they can redeploy/intercept flyers or just shoot twice. Opponents turn hope they live. Second turn if one has word of phoenix cast that, shoot or intercept and on normal move skyleap.
Soul bursting can get much more mileage from hawks still.

I agree. Hawks have so many things going on that they highly benefit from soulburst even if they can't use the soulburst move to skyleap.

_________________
Back to top Go down
killedbydeath
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 94
Join date : 2014-10-20

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sun Mar 12 2017, 17:03

I am not a 100% sure but doesn't the faq allow:
A unit to assault again after it has destroyed a unit in close combat.

Assault into a on going close combat at the initiative step. Only seeing this happening after a independent character is killed.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3117
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sun Mar 12 2017, 19:59

@killedbydeath wrote:
I am not a 100% sure but doesn't the faq allow:
A unit to assault again after it has destroyed a unit in close combat.

Assault into a on going close combat at the initiative step. Only seeing this happening after a independent character is killed.

Yes you can assault if you havent soulburst that player turn

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1303
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Sun Mar 12 2017, 20:01

But that unit only gets to interact positively with the assault at lower initiative steps than the one they charged at.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   

Back to top Go down
 
Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri
Back to top 
Page 2 of 3Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: