HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri

Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2423
Join date : 2014-10-03
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:20 am


_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6914
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:26 am

Some highlights:

They've changed the SfD rule so that you can now Soulburst charge if you wipe out your opponent in assault and clarified how that works.

Both factions must match when determining if you can start the game embarked on a transport (so no Wraithguard in Raiders etc).

You can Soulburst if your transport is wrecked but not if it explodes.

You can't Soulburst from inside a vehicle.

You can't use Soulburst to do something that you would not be allowed to do normally.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2423
Join date : 2014-10-03
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:35 am

Im literally running on 2hrs of sleep today and 3 yesterday (we had 2 tornado's)

Im having har dtime reading, please ELI5 how they clarified you can charge after you whipe a combat.

We are fine, yes it was close (a football field away) just had to do a lot of work, cleaning, generators, hours of driving (sense 90% the roads were closed had to take the extremely long back ways) to get supplies to fix things. It missed 90% the houses around and basically jumped a lot and hit many small structures/roads, mostly insane amount of tree debirs

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points


Last edited by amishprn86 on Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:41 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6914
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:38 am

ERRATA
Page 124 – Strength from Death
Change the second sentence of the first paragraph to read:
‘You cannot pick a unit that has one or more models in base contact with an enemy model, that is Falling Back or that has Gone to Ground.’

This has been changed from "a unit that is locked in combat"

Q: Can a unit that destroys another unit in the Fight sub-phase benefit from Strength from Death?
A: Yes, unless the unit has one or more models in base contact with an enemy unit.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?


Last edited by Count Adhemar on Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:39 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2423
Join date : 2014-10-03
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:39 am

@Count Adhemar wrote:
ERRATA
Page 124 – Strength from Death
Change the second sentence of the first paragraph to read:
‘You cannot pick a unit that has one or more models in base contact with an enemy model, that is Falling Back or that has Gone to Ground.’

Q: Can a unit that destroys another unit in the Fight sub-phase benefit from Strength from Death?
A: Yes, unless the unit has one or more models in base contact with an enemy unit.

Oh ok, yeah I over looked that 2nd part completely lol.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 115
Join date : 2016-12-27

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:19 pm

Good job GW! That is what I call customer service with a smile.

The rulings are all reasonable and pretty much what I expected. They really cleared a lot up. They made the army a bit finicky to play but that's a good thing in my opinion; you don't want every other player bringing the same army. It looks like you can't bring Skathatch WK in Yannari.

The charge and charge again thing is actually pretty good. It really benefits DE lack of grenades (and probably why they didn't give them to the triumvirate) as you can charge something in the open and then charge something in cover and get all your attacks (except HoW). This seems to be most useful to charge a deathstar with a small unit (wyches?) and then when they die on the opponents turn, charge them with another unit. Since it's already past their initiative, they can't hit back and they are locked in combat for their next turn. I LOVE that. Outside of that, it's pretty situational.

A little confused on one ruling: why does it trigger a soulburst for an embarked unit if it is wrecked but not if it explodes? I'm sure there's a rules answer why, I just don't see it.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6914
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:22 pm

@mattblowers wrote:
A little confused on one ruling: why does it trigger a soulburst for an embarked unit if it is wrecked but not if it explodes? I'm sure there's a rules answer why, I just don't see it.

It's basically because the rules say that a vehicle only becomes wrecked after the passengers are disembarked. So they're on the table when the vehicle they were riding in is destroyed and can therefore benefit from a Soulburst action.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
mika
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 36
Join date : 2014-10-05

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:23 pm

Because vehicle turns to a wreck after the unit disembarks. When a transport explodes, the unit is placed where the vehicle used to be.
Back to top Go down
WildCandy
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 152
Join date : 2016-11-06

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:37 pm

Nothing about the spells and mirrorgaze interactions with them.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2423
Join date : 2014-10-03
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:47 pm

@Count Adhemar wrote:
@mattblowers wrote:
A little confused on one ruling: why does it trigger a soulburst for an embarked unit if it is wrecked but not if it explodes? I'm sure there's a rules answer why, I just don't see it.

It's basically because the rules say that a vehicle only becomes wrecked after the passengers are disembarked. So they're on the table when the vehicle they were riding in is destroyed and can therefore benefit from a Soulburst action.

I like to think about it like this

"Im in a tank, OH CRAP I GOT SHOT, hmmm this tank isnt really working well lets get out"
*Gets out of tank
"Oh look at that they tank fell apart"

#everyfunnycartoonmoment

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Ynneadwraith
Twisted
avatar

Posts : 1236
Join date : 2016-09-21

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 1:00 pm

@Count Adhemar wrote:
Both factions must match when determining if you can start the game embarked on a transport (so no Wraithguard in Raiders etc).

Aww man. No exodite Raiders for my counts-as Guardians then Sad

I suppose it's for the best. Eldar are nasty enough as it is without Wraithguard Raiders, although Banshees are still a decent unit in dire need of an assault transport...

_________________
Check out may pan-Eldar projects Smile Exodites, Corsairs, Craftworld, True Kin, Croneworld (soon) and one Shadowseer!: http://www.thedarkcity.net/t14405-corsairs-exodites-craftworlders-and-hopefully-kabalites-soon
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 115
Join date : 2016-12-27

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 1:04 pm

@Count Adhemar wrote:
@mattblowers wrote:
A little confused on one ruling: why does it trigger a soulburst for an embarked unit if it is wrecked but not if it explodes? I'm sure there's a rules answer why, I just don't see it.

It's basically because the rules say that a vehicle only becomes wrecked after the passengers are disembarked. So they're on the table when the vehicle they were riding in is destroyed and can therefore benefit from a Soulburst action.

That clears it up. Thanks.
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 115
Join date : 2016-12-27

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 1:08 pm

@amishprn86 wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
@mattblowers wrote:
A little confused on one ruling: why does it trigger a soulburst for an embarked unit if it is wrecked but not if it explodes? I'm sure there's a rules answer why, I just don't see it.

It's basically because the rules say that a vehicle only becomes wrecked after the passengers are disembarked. So they're on the table when the vehicle they were riding in is destroyed and can therefore benefit from a Soulburst action.

I like to think about it like this

"Im in a tank, OH CRAP I GOT SHOT, hmmm this tank isnt really working well lets get out"
*Gets out of tank
"Oh look at that they tank fell apart"

#everyfunnycartoonmoment

That visual helps. Since even exploded wrecks stay on the table, I guess I missed the exact order of operations difference.
Back to top Go down
dumpeal
Wych
avatar

Posts : 712
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:50 pm

We can't use soulburst to charge on a deepstrike, but if the soulburst happens on the opponent turn, are our units still unable to charge?
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2423
Join date : 2014-10-03
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:05 pm

@dumpeal wrote:
We can't use soulburst to charge on a deepstrike, but if the soulburst happens on the opponent turn, are our units still unable to charge?

"in that turns assault phase units cannot charge"

page 17 it says "Whenever a rule refers to "a turn" it always means "players turn' unless it specifically refers to 'a game turn'.

So I would say yes they can charge via soulburst in your opponents turn

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Marrath
Wych
avatar

Posts : 631
Join date : 2014-01-01
Location : A very spiky Webway-Hulk

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:22 pm

Q: Can a unit embarked on a transport use a Soulburst action?

A: No

still no love for our open topped transports Sad

_________________
Archon of the Kabal of the Burning Misery
Make the Djinn Blade great for once!
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:30 pm

Nope. The FAQ hedges us in a little bit, but I think that just gives us greater focus: the Ynnari rules are a huge boon to footslogging lists.
Back to top Go down
dumpeal
Wych
avatar

Posts : 712
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:37 pm

@amishprn86 wrote:
@dumpeal wrote:
We can't use soulburst to charge on a deepstrike, but if the soulburst happens on the opponent turn, are our units still unable to charge?

"in that turns assault phase units cannot charge"

page 17 it says "Whenever a rule refers to "a turn" it always means "players turn' unless it specifically refers to 'a game turn'.

So I would say yes they can charge via soulburst in your opponents turn

That's what I supposed too.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:55 pm

@Jimsolo wrote:
Nope.  The FAQ hedges us in a little bit, but I think that just gives us greater focus: the Ynnari rules are a huge boon to footslogging lists.

Yup, definitely this. I was surprised to see them rule the hardline battle brothers thing on transports, demanding that ALL factions must match, or they can't start embarked. I do like that whoever wrote the FAQ had the forethought to give yvraine and the visarch an exclusion to this FAQ ruling, which would have otherwise barred them from ever being in a vehicle, haha. Seems like they're learning or something. Very Happy

Other than that, the rulings were pretty even-handed, reasonable, and as one would have expected.

_________________
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1163
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:46 pm

Quick question. Does this clarify how soulburst works with SH's ?? Is it just like a marine squad with a flamer and melta, resolve flamer, resolve melta, resolve bolters, possibly soul bursting in between?

My friend insists that that can't be right because it can mean his SH doesn't get to shoot and I'm cheese mongering if I insist on that.

So a clear rule explanation would be helpful.

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
dumpeal
Wych
avatar

Posts : 712
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:01 pm

What does SH stand for?
Back to top Go down
Srota
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 134
Join date : 2017-02-23
Location : Willow Grove, PA

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:04 pm

Super Heavies, iirc.
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1163
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:40 pm

Correct.

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2264
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:44 pm

A SH is essentially a single model that fires like a unit - so you declare all the targets for its weapons, then select one, resolve it and then potentially resolve soulburst before moving on to the next weapon. Continue until all weapons are resolved

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1163
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri   Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:20 pm

That's what I thought. Is there any page number I could get to show him that?

I know this is a little off topic but I figured since the faq clarified so much.

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
 
Offical GW FAQ for Ynarri
Back to top 
Page 1 of 3Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: