HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 How to use the Visarch

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AuthorMessage
Mononcule
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 154
Join date : 2014-03-01

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:30 pm

I agree, in fact with or without the Visarch I want to try to field more Courts as they dont lose anything by being Ynnari. Also soulburst seems to benefits more to short range shooty units tough enough to be close of the action without being in a transport... We dont have a lot of those, but the Sslyths fit. Also now we can more easily put a shadowseer in the unit: for a cheap 65pts you gain a lot (fear, Ld10, haywire, fleshbane, hit&run, pinning, psychic support).

A few notes:
- as someone pointed out in another thread the Visarch can be taken as a HQ in a coven detachment, thus giving him freakish spectacle without losing SfD (because he has the rule in his profile). He can still choose his warlord trait in the Ynnari chart
- if I understand well the leader of the reborn rule, a Visarch in the Reborn Warhost Detachment can reroll his warlord trait even if he is not the warlord? That would be awesome to get the walker of many path trait.
Back to top Go down
Painjunky
Wych
avatar

Posts : 803
Join date : 2011-08-08
Location : Sunshine Coast

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:33 am

Id run him with sslyth too.

The snakemen are back baby! cheers
Back to top Go down
Alvaneron
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 64
Join date : 2016-05-08

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:33 pm

The Visarch can´t have 10 Attacks, his max is 7.
With combat and rampage the max would be 11.
Which is enough XD

Back to top Go down
Mononcule
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 154
Join date : 2014-03-01

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:12 am

@Alvaneron wrote:
The Visarch can´t have 10 Attacks, his max is 7.
With combat and rampage the max would be 11.
Which is enough XD


Damn I just saw you are right: they put a cap at 7 in the rule.

I'll buy the model because he looks fantastic and I dont own an Archon yet. I will try him in a few different units, he can be an alternative to a succubus in coven or harlequin lists.
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1217
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:13 am

He can be an alternative to one of the haemonculus in a covenite cotorie or the HQ for a Harlequin CAD or Allied Detachment.
Back to top Go down
Alvaneron
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 64
Join date : 2016-05-08

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:34 am

@amorrowlyday wrote:
He can be an alternative to one of the haemonculus in a covenite cotorie or the HQ for a Harlequin CAD or Allied Detachment.

no he can´t because the Haemy is a mandatory part of the formation. The Visarch could be an addition to one of the Grotesque Units Wink

With 2 Raiders that funpack will cost you 550+ pts... uff
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1217
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:38 am

Read better, and perhaps think before you wink, because now you look silly. The covenite coterie is the detachment for the supplement. It is 2 hq and 2 elites with 6 of each max and some amount of heavy supports. It is not the grotesquerie. There are no specific unit requirements in the covenite coterie as it is not a formation. You can legally field a covenite coterie without haemonculi now.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2716
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Sat Feb 18, 2017 2:08 pm

I don't know about looking silly, it's pretty easy to mistake detachments in a little-used supplement. Smile

But yes, the Visarch can absolutely ride along in a Coterie.
Back to top Go down
Grimbli
Slave
avatar

Posts : 3
Join date : 2017-02-20

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:01 am

I think the way to get the most out of him is running with Yvraine. Her auto LoS is a fantastic power! I plan to run them in a Seer Council with her out front tanking shots. When she takes a single wound just LoS to Visarch until he takes a wound, then LoS to Warlocks until one dies. Hopefully you'll regen a wound and start all over. I tend to run Eldrad on Sanctic for a 66% chance of Sanctuary to give a 3++ to Warlocks, Farseer, and Yvraine. I'll probably throw Jain Zar in for the mandatory HQ of Warhost.

It's a ton of points, but I doubt there's a single unit in the game that can beat them in CC.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:12 pm

@Mononcule wrote:
@Alvaneron wrote:
The Visarch can´t have 10 Attacks, his max is 7.
With combat and rampage the max would be 11.
Which is enough XD


Damn I just saw you are right: they put a cap at 7 in the rule.

There is a bit of a question in their wording about this, whether the rule caps his total attacks at 7, or caps the total he may GAIN to 7. The latter interpretation would allow him to get far more attacks.

_________________
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1217
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:13 pm

I read it as +7 max.
Back to top Go down
Grimbli
Slave
avatar

Posts : 3
Join date : 2017-02-20

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:18 pm

I'd agree with a max of +7 since the "Attacks Characteristic" is the subject of the sentence.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2716
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:24 pm

I think +7 is excessive. I think his characteristic maxes out at 7 (so a total of +3). Then you can get charge and Rampage on top of that.
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1217
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:26 pm

I think that in a 3 set expansion cycle bookended with Celestine and Cawl on one end, and Guilleman on the other suggesting anything short of auto win as excessive is hyperbolic.
Back to top Go down
Grimbli
Slave
avatar

Posts : 3
Join date : 2017-02-20

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:34 pm

Sorry, meant max of 7, not +7.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:14 pm

I also read it as +7 on top of his native statistic when I originally read it. This also is in keeping with generally limiting stat gain to max out at 10. Capping his stat gain at 7 total seems like an arbitrary number when the catalyst for that event is a character death, which isn't exactly common.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2716
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:24 pm

7 is the recurring number of Ynnead, present in a lot of rules. I assume that's where it comes from.
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1217
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:27 pm

It both is and isn't a random number. In terms of mechanics it's totally random, or at least might as well be.

Tin foil hat time: We've all been wrong about Ynnead and I underestimated the degree of relevance to the path I suggested. Ynnead isn't going to simply save Isha, together as the embodiments of life and death they are going to overthrow Nurgle and this is foreshadowing that by ceding his chaos number to us. Year of Nurgle IS next right?
Back to top Go down
Ynneadwraith
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1155
Join date : 2016-09-21

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 8:02 pm

@amorrowlyday wrote:
It both is and isn't a random number. In terms of mechanics it's totally random, or at least might as well be.

Tin foil hat time: We've all been wrong about Ynnead and I underestimated the degree of relevance to the path I suggested. Ynnead isn't going to simply save Isha, together as the embodiments of life and death they are going to overthrow Nurgle and this is foreshadowing that by ceding his chaos number to us. Year of Nurgle IS next right?

Your tinfoil hat's been speaking to my tinfoil hat...

Was thinking just the same thing, although I do think it's Year of Slaanesh next (wasn't Nurgle the whole Blightkings/Season of Conflict in AoS?)

_________________
Check out may pan-Eldar projects Smile Exodites, Corsairs, Craftworld, True Kin, Croneworld (soon) and one Shadowseer!: http://www.thedarkcity.net/t14405-corsairs-exodites-craftworlders-and-hopefully-kabalites-soon
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1217
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 8:04 pm

THAT is what I thought, but look at a map of the lands of chaos and you'll instantly be reminded that the rotation with their affiliations is Khorne Tzeentch Nurgle Slaanesh.

The blight kings stuff is a red herring we want to believe.
Back to top Go down
Ynneadwraith
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1155
Join date : 2016-09-21

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 20, 2017 8:36 pm

Iiinteresting...

There's also that rumour going around of a plastic Mortarion...

_________________
Check out may pan-Eldar projects Smile Exodites, Corsairs, Craftworld, True Kin, Croneworld (soon) and one Shadowseer!: http://www.thedarkcity.net/t14405-corsairs-exodites-craftworlders-and-hopefully-kabalites-soon
Back to top Go down
Mathai
Slave
avatar

Posts : 5
Join date : 2017-02-25

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Sat Feb 25, 2017 6:44 am

In my first few games, I've ran Visarch and Yvraine with a squad of Striking Scorpions to some good success. I'm not sure if they can infiltrate still with the IC's, and they do lose Shrouded. But Move Through Cover and Stealth worked nicely for the duo. With a little luck, Ancestor's Grace can give the Exarch two additional attacks if you use him for the challenge.

And if you really miss that Shrouded, there is always a Spiritseer.
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1217
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Sat Feb 25, 2017 6:39 pm

They can't even begin the game attached. Technically you cheated. Why would anything lose shrouded if it already had it? Or is that a striking scorpions thing?
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:54 pm

@amorrowlyday wrote:
They can't even begin the game attached. Technically you cheated. Why would anything lose shrouded if it already had it? Or is that a striking scorpions thing?

The FAQ made using the infiltrate special rule optional for units that have it. Does that fix ICs being able to join them without having the infiltrate special rule, or is that still broken post-FAQ? I don't recall the wording of the rule.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Mathai
Slave
avatar

Posts : 5
Join date : 2017-02-25

PostSubject: Re: How to use the Visarch   Mon Feb 27, 2017 6:28 am

Its a Striking Scorpion thing. If everyone in the squad has a certain special ability (Cant recall the name off hand) Then they get shrouded on top of stealth until they make an attack basically.
Back to top Go down
 
How to use the Visarch
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 4Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Dark Eldar Tactics
-
Jump to: