HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
AuthorMessage
Draco
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 211
Join date : 2016-02-01
Location : Chicago

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 19:48

Does this book count as a supplement? If so, does that mean a kill team can benefit from PFD?
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1305
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 19:51

What's your justification and why does being a supplement matter? The book is rather clear on that, the ONLY way to field ynnari units besides the triumvirate is via the formations or via the Reborn Warhost.
Back to top Go down
Draco
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 211
Join date : 2016-02-01
Location : Chicago

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 19:54

@amorrowlyday wrote:
What's your justification and why does being a supplement matter?  The book is rather clear on that, the ONLY way to field ynnari units besides the triumvirate is via the formations or via the Reborn Warhost.

You are correct, I'm looking at too many codices at once and mixing terms.
Back to top Go down
Torapu
Slave
avatar

Posts : 4
Join date : 2017-02-16

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Thu Feb 16 2017, 08:26

How does Ynncarne's teleporting work. Can he do it from combat? In my yesterdays game he killed HQ in combat on his ini. HQ is unit so he could theoretically teleport to his location 1 from enemy models. What would that do to the combat would he leave it? Or would his opponent's just pile in on his new location? Is he able to do it at all?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Thu Feb 16 2017, 08:37

It doesn't say that you can't do it whilst in combat. Another for the FAQ!

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Thu Feb 16 2017, 13:46

@Count Adhemar wrote:
It doesn't say that you can't do it whilst in combat. Another for the FAQ!

That's crazy! The layers of ineptitude in these rules is outstanding. Since you are locked in combat until the end of the phase wouldn't they just be able to consolidate into you if you simply redeployed outside an inch of the unit you were just fighting?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Thu Feb 16 2017, 15:20

You can't consolidate into another unit (not since 3rd or 4th edition anyway)

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Thu Feb 16 2017, 15:35

I get that. Since the question was if the Ynncarne killed something could he redeploy outside of an inch so that he was unengaged at the end of the combat phase I was wondering if (assuming your take on it that you are still locked in combat until the end of the phase) couldn't they simply consolidate back into the Ynncarne thereby counteracting the attempt to get out of combat? You aren't consolidating into another combat as you are still technically locked with it and getting BTB keeps it locked in combat at the end of the phase.
Back to top Go down
Torapu
Slave
avatar

Posts : 4
Join date : 2017-02-16

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Thu Feb 16 2017, 15:49

The first question is if he can teleport when locked in combat. I think he can based on wording: "even in reserves". Second is if him killing IC and teleporting can push him out of combat. To this i would say no since the unit can pile into him on their Ini still, but it reduces amount of guys hitting him. It just needs clarification. But still the funny thing is if he can teleport when locked in combat if you chose the right sequencing you can pull him out of combat from something that can kill him and heal him up again.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Mon Feb 20 2017, 12:02

@mattblowers wrote:
I get that. Since the question was if the Ynncarne killed something could he redeploy outside of an inch so that he was unengaged at the end of the combat phase I was wondering if (assuming your take on it that you are still locked in combat until the end of the phase) couldn't they simply consolidate back into the Ynncarne thereby counteracting the attempt to get out of combat? You aren't consolidating into another combat as you are still technically locked with it and getting BTB keeps it locked in combat at the end of the phase.

I've added the first question (can it teleport whilst locked in combat) to the FAQ in the first post. I'm not entirely clear what you're saying in the second part though. Assuming you can indeed teleport whilst locked in combat, if you use that ability to get out of combat but position yourself within pile-in range of the unit that you were in combat with then, yes, they could pile straight back in as they are still locked in combat with The Yncarne until the end of the phase. They could not however consolidate into The Yncarne, or any other unit as "A Consolidation move cannot be used to move into base contact with any enemy models".

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Mon Feb 20 2017, 12:51

The book has been out for a week or so now and I've compiled all the questions in the first post. I suggest copying the questions and sending them to GW for answers. The e-mail address is: gamefaqs@gwplc.com

Count Adhemar

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Mon Feb 20 2017, 13:12

Done.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Tue Feb 21 2017, 15:47

Added a couple more questions in a separate e-mail to GW:

Warhost of Ynnead
This rule says "select one additional unit to make a Soulburst action each time a unit is destroyed". This doesn't mention the 7" distance restriction of the "Strength from Death" rule. Can I pick any unit on the table to make a Soulburst action or does that unit also have to be within 7" of the destroyed unit that triggered Strength from Death?

Mirrorgaze (Artefacts of the Ynnari)
This gives the wearer the Blind special rule, which says "Any unit hit by one or more models or weapons with this special rule must take an Initiative test at the end of the current phase". As the model has the special rule, does this apply to any attacks made by the model, including melee, psychic and shooting?

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
mrmagoo
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 325
Join date : 2014-12-02

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Tue Feb 21 2017, 18:26

@Count Adhemar wrote:
The book has been out for a week or so now and I've compiled all the questions in the first post. I suggest copying the questions and sending them to GW for answers. The e-mail address is: gamefaqs@gwplc.com

Count Adhemar

So you say all of us, Send those questions?
Back to top Go down
WildCandy
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 152
Join date : 2016-11-06

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Tue Feb 21 2017, 19:36

Question: if unit is enabled to soulburst in psychic phase and charges enemy unit; wouldd the close combat iniate then or in combat phase?
Back to top Go down
mrmagoo
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 325
Join date : 2014-12-02

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Tue Feb 21 2017, 19:52

It would wait till the Combat phase. Soulburst just lets you perform the charge move.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 22 2017, 11:45

@mrmagoo wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
The book has been out for a week or so now and I've compiled all the questions in the first post. I suggest copying the questions and sending them to GW for answers. The e-mail address is: gamefaqs@gwplc.com

Count Adhemar

So you say all of us, Send those questions?

That's the idea. I've updated the first post with a few more questions that have cropped up. The more of us that ask the questions, the more likely we are to get answers.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
sparkemus
Slave
avatar

Posts : 5
Join date : 2017-02-22

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 22 2017, 13:18

Maybe a silly question but I am not fully sure how the 7" range works for Soulburst.
For example there are two jetbikes that start the orks shooting phase within 7" from each other.
A unit of boyz kills all but one bike in a unit with its shootas and the two jetbike units are now over 7" apart. The same unit of boyz now shoots with their big shoota to kill the last jetbike. Do the remaining jetbike unit get to soulburst or are they counted as being over 7" away?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 22 2017, 13:30

It's not clear from the rules but I assume you deal with each weapon type sequentially as per the shooting rules. So if you're more than 7" away when the big shoota kills the last model in the unit then you don't get to Soulburst.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
sparkemus
Slave
avatar

Posts : 5
Join date : 2017-02-22

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 22 2017, 13:37

Thats my reading into it too. Sound.
Back to top Go down
mrmagoo
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 325
Join date : 2014-12-02

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 22 2017, 15:14

Just sent them in. Thanks Count.
Back to top Go down
mrmagoo
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 325
Join date : 2014-12-02

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 22 2017, 15:20

Ok I have another question that came up last night. Actually played another Ynarri player and while we had debates they were amicable.

The first was do Independent characters who die trigger Soulburst. My believe is they do, his believe is we don't. We didn't allow it because I didn't want to argue and knew both sides to this argument.

The real question that came up that we disagree on was the HEALING abilities of the Great 3. So a squad of Scat bikes fired into the Visarch and 4-5 Dire Avengers. He would roll on the Visarch until he failed, then look out sir till he failed and then heal the Visarch. I disagree with this. The Same gun type all fire at the same time. So he would be able to heal till the end of that Gun Type. So we would resolve all of that gun type and then if any died he would be able to heal for any that died.

Am I wrong here?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 22 2017, 15:33

The first question is in the FAQ. I believe that they should count as separate units, as they do for kill points etc, but it could do with a definitive answer from GW.

Look out, Sir is done on a wound by wound basis so your opponent was correct. You can choose to Lo,S one wound and not the next. The only restriction is that you have to Lo,S to the same model (the closest) until that model dies.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
mrmagoo
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 325
Join date : 2014-12-02

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 22 2017, 15:42

All right, Thanks for that. You explained it better the he did. That makes sense.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
In Exile


Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 22 2017, 20:54

I agree with the count in both cases, and would like to stress the first one, where ICs basically count as their own units for all other rules and killpoint purposes, so it wouldn't make sense for them not to count for soulburst, and would be quite unfair if they didn't.

ie, your opponent gets a victory point for killing a unit, but it doesn't count as a unit death for your army rule? Nah, bro. Wink
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   

Back to top Go down
 
]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ
Back to top 
Page 3 of 5Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: