HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
AuthorMessage
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Tue Feb 14 2017, 16:37

@mattblowers wrote:
Well, a simple reading, I thought it was just a list qualifier. If your list has 7 units when you made it, it has this ability. You don't lose obsec when your HQ dies and your list is no longer a CAD. Why would this be different?

I agree but others seem to think it's when the event occurs.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Ynneadwraith
Twisted
avatar

Posts : 1236
Join date : 2016-09-21

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Tue Feb 14 2017, 16:56

@mattblowers wrote:
Well, a simple reading, I thought it was just a list qualifier. If your list has 7 units when you made it, it has this ability. You don't lose obsec when your HQ dies and your list is no longer a CAD. Why would this be different?

Agreed, but these are the people who decided that a successful FnP save doesn't prevent a Shadowfield from disappearing...so Lord knows.

_________________
Check out may pan-Eldar projects Smile Exodites, Corsairs, Craftworld, True Kin, Croneworld (soon) and one Shadowseer!: http://www.thedarkcity.net/t14405-corsairs-exodites-craftworlders-and-hopefully-kabalites-soon
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Tue Feb 14 2017, 16:56

Two issues: 1. GW wrote the rules, 2. 40K players try to split every rule to something complicated. The simplest reading usually is the correct one but reference issue number 1, ie. Imperial Knights and gun arcs and Tyranocytes having hull mounted weapons despite being on an MC.
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1305
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 03:39

Since Units and Formations taken as part of a Reborn Warhost Detachment Are both Ynnari and their original faction are substitutions like Inriams spectre in a Cast of Players, or A Hero's Path as part of the detachment permissable?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 05:25

Yes. A Heroes Path formation chosen as part of a Reborn Warhost meets all the requirements for a substitution for Inriam's Spectre. (It is both a formation calling for a Death Jester and has the Harlequins faction.) Also having the Ynnari faction doesn't invalidate that.

The only time we can't make the substitution is when the formation doesn't meet one of the requirements. The reason we can't substitute in the Ynnari specific formations is that they don't have the Harlequins faction.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 13:00

@mattblowers wrote:
Since the BRB specifically gives Malefic to ALL Daemons, can Yncarne still generate them? Nothing reverses the explicit permission to do so.

Just coming back on this point. The BRB says:

Quote :
Unless otherwise stated, all Psykers, other than those belonging to the Tyranids Faction, can generate powers from the Daemonology discipline.

The Yncarne does indeed generate powers from the Daemonology discipline, but is limited to Sanctic powers, as per her datasheet entry. These powers would not otherwise be available to a Daemon but Codex>Rulebook.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Draco
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 211
Join date : 2016-02-01
Location : Chicago

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 14:35

So with the rules stating your units maintain their original faction in addition to the Ynnari faction, You can purchase Raiders in the FA slot and have a Troupe loaded on it at the beginning of the game correct?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 14:36

Aye

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Draco
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 211
Join date : 2016-02-01
Location : Chicago

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 14:41

Alright, and have we clarified if a formation option is taken within a Reborn Warhost Detachment, that the formations unit types (Cast of Players being 1 troop, 2 elites) counts against the min/max unit choices in the overall detachment, or does it's unit choices exist beside the detachment.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 14:43

I've not seen that question raised before but I can't imagine that individual units inside formations also count against the limits of units not in formations. The book says you can take any number of formations in addition to the other units.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Draco
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 211
Join date : 2016-02-01
Location : Chicago

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 14:44

That was my thought too.
Back to top Go down
Draco
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 211
Join date : 2016-02-01
Location : Chicago

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 14:47

Warhost of Ynnead states if the detachment has 7+ units you get to make an additional soulburst when triggered. if you have two WHD, would this trigger twice, one for each detachment if the unit destroyed was within 7" of both?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 15:05

Seems that way.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 15:07

Yeah my reading is that you would only get one initial souburst action but each Reborn Warhost would allow you to take one additional action, for three in total.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Draco
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 211
Join date : 2016-02-01
Location : Chicago

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 15:08

@Count Adhemar wrote:
Yeah my reading is that you would only get one initial souburst action but each Reborn Warhost would allow you to take one additional action, for three in total.

Sounds pretty scary.
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 634
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 15:40

@Draco wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
Yeah my reading is that you would only get one initial souburst action but each Reborn Warhost would allow you to take one additional action, for three in total.

Sounds pretty scary.

Sounds like something that is very likely to get errata'd to prevent an army from triggering that more than once at a time.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 15:44

I've updated the first post in this thread with a consolidated list of questions - Count Adhemar

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 15:54

@Count Adhemar wrote:
Yeah my reading is that you would only get one initial souburst action but each Reborn Warhost would allow you to take one additional action, for three in total.

Hmm. I read it as another UNIT may take a soulburst action. I hadn't thought of this. So the formation that allows all the units to trigger when one triggers could put out a ton of firepower.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 15:58

@mattblowers wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
Yeah my reading is that you would only get one initial souburst action but each Reborn Warhost would allow you to take one additional action, for three in total.

Hmm. I read it as another UNIT may take a soulburst action. I hadn't thought of this. So the formation that allows all the units to trigger when one triggers could put out a ton of firepower.

Yes, I think that's what we're saying. You don't get to take more than one Soulburst action with the same unit but you can choose two additional units to take Soulburst actions when one triggers.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 16:03

Exactly. You'd still be limited to one Soulburst per unit per turn.
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 16:03

I thought you were saying the special rule for 7+ units allows you to make an additional soulburst b/c of the formation special rules. It doesn't say the other unit you pick has to be in 7/14 inch bands either.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 16:15

7 Unit Warhost can be had for only 370 points with DE. Not a bad one, either.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 16:40

@Jimsolo wrote:
7 Unit Warhost can be had for only 370 points with DE. Not a bad one, either.

I can go cheaper - 130 points (but I'm not claiming it's any good) Very Happy

2 x Lhamaean, 2 x Kabalites, 3 x Khymerae

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1305
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 18:09

Does the limitation on meta-detachments rules only and specifically effecting the units that make it up apply to game state changes? Meaning that if I field multiple Reborn Warhost detachments and I trigger a soulburst do I get a free soulburst for each detachment or just for the one the original soulburst was propagated from? What if the original soulburst came from a different source, such as the Visarch or Yvraine taken as a member of a masque, covenite cotorie, or realspace raider detachment?

Can a member of the Triumvirate be taken as part of a Craftworld Warhost Detachment per their special rules or are they disallowed due to lacking a slot? (this is a sneaky way to ask the grotesquerie question)
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
In Exile


Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Feb 15 2017, 19:27

It says any detachment. The craftworld warhost detachment doesn't have slots, since it's made up of formations, so you can take one regardless of slots.

Which, again, supports your earlier assertion that they can be taken in formations, because formations don't have slots, and all formations are detachments, and we've been given permission to take them in any aeldari detachment.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   

Back to top Go down
 
]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ
Back to top 
Page 2 of 5Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: