HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
AuthorMessage
mrmagoo
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 325
Join date : 2014-12-02

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Mar 01 2017, 14:50

My Opinions.

1. Yes, A unit died you get to soulburst. If you want to move away go for it.
2. Yes, Because they were on the board and then removed. The falling off the board they were never there to begin with.
3. That was is still in debate, Really needs an FAQ. I think that is stretching things. It just says at the end of combat. The first part actually says you are locked in combat till the end of the Phase. The second one doesn't allow you out of combat early. It just says at the end of combat. I still say you cant Win CC and then charge another unit.

My opinion of course.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7192
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Mar 01 2017, 14:56

@mattblowers wrote:
A couple more problems I ran into with Soulburst that I don't see addressed/discussed:

1. If you kill a unit on overwatch can you soulburst away before resolving the charge if you kill something (ie. character)?

I don't see why not. Soulburst happens whenever a unit is completely destroyed. If you kill an IC in a unit with overwatch you have completely destroyed a unit so you're entitled to a Soulburst action when that happens, which is before the charge is made.

Quote :
2. Does a stomp roll of a 6 trigger soulburst? It's removed as a casualty, does it still trigger. I'm not sure since the consensus is that models falling off the table don't count either and they are removed as a casualty as well.

Models that are removed as casualties are removed from the table and placed to one side. When all of the models in a unit are removed as casualties, the unit is said to have been ‘completely destroyed’. That would trigger a Soulburst action.

Quote :
3. To the point about being locked in combat until the end of the PHASE, the BRB is actually conflicted on this. It does say until the end of the PHASE under the LOCKED IN COMBAT section, however things get really sticky under consolidation.

Quote: "At the end of a COMBAT [note it says COMBAT not COMBAT PHASE], if a unit's opponents are all either destroyed or Falling Back, or the end of combat Pile In was insufficient so that it is NO LONGER LOCKED IN COMBAT that unit may Consolidate..."

If Soulburst cannot trigger a unit that just wiped another one in combat because it is "locked in combat" then units may never consolidate either since it happens before the end of the fight sub-phase. It's the last action that you do in a combat, but further combats could still happen. I'm not arguing that it should trigger, I honestly don't know, but even RAW the issue is not as clear cut as some seem to think it is.

I'm really not sure why you felt the need to raise this issue yet again. It's been discussed many times already and it's in the FAQ questions. Let's just wait for an answer or you can always agree a houserule with your own group.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Mar 01 2017, 17:48

@Count Adhemar wrote:
@mattblowers wrote:
A couple more problems I ran into with Soulburst that I don't see addressed/discussed:
1. If you kill a unit on overwatch can you soulburst away before resolving the charge if you kill something (ie. character)?
I don't see why not. Soulburst happens whenever a unit is completely destroyed. If you kill an IC in a unit with overwatch you have completely destroyed a unit so you're entitled to a Soulburst action when that happens, which is before the charge is made.
That’s what I argued as well. Since the SB action happens immediately, I took that it couldn’t be read any other way. The TO made is dice roll-off, I HATE those. Be an adult and make a decision.
Quote :
2. Does a stomp roll of a 6 trigger soulburst? It's removed as a casualty, does it still trigger. I'm not sure since the consensus is that models falling off the table don't count either and they are removed as a casualty as well.
Models that are removed as casualties are removed from the table and placed to one side. When all of the models in a unit are removed as casualties, the unit is said to have been ‘completely destroyed’. That would trigger a Soulburst action.
The argument was that it could not trigger since they are completely destroyed when they fall off the table edge which can’t be measured with the 7” rule. I thought it lame, but I guess I can see the point.

Quote :
I'm really not sure why you felt the need to raise this issue yet again. It's been discussed many times already and it's in the FAQ questions. Let's just wait for an answer or you can always agree a houserule with your own group.
I haven’t once heard anyone discuss this section of the rules. Since this is a DE forum I assumed (incorrectly it seems) that it would be an appropriate place to bring it up. We certainly do need a ruling. Listened to 3 prominent podcasts in the last few days that have major event TOs that expressed wildly different views on how they think soulburst works and they all highlighted different sections of the rules to back up their assertions. Until we get a ruling it’s a shot in the dark for how any given TO will rule it.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Wed Mar 01 2017, 18:52

I don't know that I agree with the "consensus" regarding models that retreat off of a table edge since we have clearly defined rules about interaction with table edges and the fact that they're destroyed if they leave the table in such a way.

When a model's base is even a tiny bit off of the table edge and they were falling back, they're removed as a casualty because models aren't allowed to have their base even partially off of the table. That means that when they're removed from the table, they're removed as a casualty at the precise point where their base reached the table edge.

That's my take on it, anyhow.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7192
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   Fri Mar 03 2017, 14:21

Official FAQ is up


_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: ]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ   

Back to top Go down
 
]Fracture of Biel-Tan FAQ
Back to top 
Page 5 of 5Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: