HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
AuthorMessage
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6629
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 11:58

SfD specifically says that if you use a Soulburst action to charge then the enemy gets to overwatch "as if it were your charge sub-phase".

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Wych
avatar

Posts : 545
Join date : 2017-01-26

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 12:12

But would that mean just for that unit or for the complete army?
And is it a new assault phase or the same one, so can everyone over watch always or not if they already had over watch earlier that turn?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6629
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 12:20

SfD says 'enemy units' (plural) and taking a quick look at the Supporting Fire rule it applies to friendly units with a model within 6" of the target of the charge so my advice would be not to use this to charge Tau unless you have an isolated Tau unit away from its buddies. They are still limited to one overwatch per phase though.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Wych
avatar

Posts : 545
Join date : 2017-01-26

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 12:51

jeah but each soulburst charge becomes a new phase...
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6629
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 12:54

|Meavar wrote:
jeah but each soulburst charge becomes a new phase...

I'm not sure that's true. The action takes place in the existing phase but you are allowed to carry it out as if it were your movement/shooting/assault phase. I don't see that as creating a new phase but it could really do with clarification.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1507
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Fracture of Beil Tan rules leak   Thu Feb 09 2017, 13:12

http://natfka.blogspot.co.uk/2017/02/images-from-inside-fracture-of-biel-tan.html

Detachments and Formations from Fracture.

Interesting that the large combined forces Detachment obviously has no Coven, but also no Incubi or Drazhar!


Also the Visarch is a tad, underwhelming.

Merged with existing thread - Count Adhemar

_________________
Kabal of the Eternal NightModelling Blog
The Squidmaster DistractathonNotes on being an RPG Gamesmaster
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6629
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 13:36

Incubi are there but not Drazhar. Personally I like The Visarch and at 150 points I think he's pretty decent.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3028
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 14:21

Ynneadwraith wrote:
Creeping Darkness wrote:
So my biggest question is, does a destroyed transport potentially allow the former passengers a Soulburst action?

Vehicles appear to count for Soulburst in general, so I guess it just comes down to the timing of the removal vs the action - if so, boosting a Raider full of Incubi (or whatever) next to some opponent, then using Soulburst to immediately charge if the boat is shot down seems pretty solid?


The general consensus is no. In order to use the Soulburst Action the unit must be within 7" of the unit that just died when it died. When a unit's in a transport, it basically counts as being off the table entirely unless specifically stated otherwise (like vs Flamers). So, Venom dies, Kabalites pop out, but because the Venom's already dead by the time they pop out, they weren't within 7".

Slightly nonsensical in realism terms, but such is the rules of 40k.

Except that you need to finish resolving the vehicle casualty before beginning the bonus action. That includes placing the models on the table, which means they would be eligible.
Back to top Go down
Ynneadwraith
Twisted
avatar

Posts : 1207
Join date : 2016-09-21

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 14:36

So, the right question to ask would be 'at which point does the ability to use a Soulburst Action trigger?'

Is it before or after the Kabalites magically appear on the table from whichever dimension GW thinks they're in while they're supposed to be inside their transport?

_________________
Check out may pan-Eldar projects Smile Exodites, Corsairs, Craftworld, True Kin, Croneworld (soon) and one Shadowseer!: http://www.thedarkcity.net/t14405-corsairs-exodites-craftworlders-and-hopefully-kabalites-soon
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3028
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 14:51

It would have to be. (If it doesn't happen after the casualty is completely resolved, then Ynnari units killed by the death throes of exploding vehicles, Ctan, or super heavies will still get their SfD action before being killed.)
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6629
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 15:16

More rules leaks/confirmations here

In particular, confirmation that the triumvirate can be included in any craftworld, DE or Harlequin detachment.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Logan Frost
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 369
Join date : 2016-01-25

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 15:27

Anybody with knowledge of CWE or a codex available, knows if and how black guardians differ from normal units?
Back to top Go down
jjw771
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 32
Join date : 2016-05-26
Location : St. Louis, USA

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 15:31

From my understanding, the Ulthwe Black units all have the ability to deepstrike without scatter.  Also I believe the Black Guardians have different weapons options.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6629
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 15:38

They all have the Webway Assault rule, which means units comprised entirely of models with this rule can deep strike, do not scatter but cannot be deployed within 9” of enemy models.

Strangely, they all have battle focus, which they are supposed to lose in an Ynnari list.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 107
Join date : 2016-12-27

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 15:40

Anyone seen leaks on unit cost? I haven't seen that yet.
Back to top Go down
Logan Frost
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 369
Join date : 2016-01-25

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 15:42

Basically paint them black, gain deepstrike.
That's it?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6629
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 15:51

They cost more. Guardians are 11 pts each, windriders are 20, vypers 45, war walkers 75

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Ynneadwraith
Twisted
avatar

Posts : 1207
Join date : 2016-09-21

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 15:52

Count Adhemar wrote:
They all have the Webway Assault rule, which means units comprised entirely of models with this rule can deep strike, do not scatter but cannot be deployed within 9” of enemy models.

Strangely, they all have battle focus, which they are supposed to lose in an Ynnari list.

Is that so they're usable in Craftworld armies and still keep Battle Focus, but are stripped of it when included in Ynnari formations?

If so, that would be a welcome piece of sense allowing Ulthwe armies to take Black Guardians...

_________________
Check out may pan-Eldar projects Smile Exodites, Corsairs, Craftworld, True Kin, Croneworld (soon) and one Shadowseer!: http://www.thedarkcity.net/t14405-corsairs-exodites-craftworlders-and-hopefully-kabalites-soon
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6629
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 15:53

Yeah, that must be it.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
TeenageAngst
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1325
Join date : 2016-08-29

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 16:23

Wait, Dark Eldar can bring a PSYKERS HQ?!



OVER THE LINE, SMOKEY
Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi


Posts : 1532
Join date : 2013-04-23

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 16:31

Okay... so, you know... you have Black Guardians... with either Fusion Guns or Flamers... which have range 8'' for Flamer and 9'' melta range, but you cannot no-scatter-DS closer than 9''... WTF? So even if two DSing meltas and some choppa for 130 pts is not so bad, that Webway Assault rule makes them either scatter or arrive outside their effective range. Hmmm... I sense a disturbance in the Force...
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6629
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 16:35

aurynn wrote:
Okay... so, you know... you have Black Guardians... with either Fusion Guns or Flamers... which have range 8'' for Flamer and 9'' melta range, but you cannot no-scatter-DS closer than 9''... WTF? So even if two DSing meltas and some choppa for 130 pts is not so bad, that Webway Assault rule makes them either scatter or arrive outside their effective range. Hmmm... I sense a disturbance in the Force...

On the other hand you can drop 80 Guardians 12" away and see 160 shots vapourise anything not inside a sturdy metal box.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi


Posts : 1532
Join date : 2013-04-23

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 17:03

Count Adhemar wrote:
aurynn wrote:
Okay... so, you know... you have Black Guardians... with either Fusion Guns or Flamers... which have range 8'' for Flamer and 9'' melta range, but you cannot no-scatter-DS closer than 9''... WTF? So even if two DSing meltas and some choppa for 130 pts is not so bad, that Webway Assault rule makes them either scatter or arrive outside their effective range. Hmmm... I sense a disturbance in the Force...

On the other hand you can drop 80 Guardians 12" away and see 160 shots vapourise anything not inside a sturdy metal box.
You cant fit 80 Guardians between 9'' and 12''... :-D
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3028
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 17:34

Drop eighty guardians in 9" away and enough will be in range to handle pretty much anything.
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1249
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"   Thu Feb 09 2017, 17:40

Who cares that DE can bring a Psyker HQ:

HARLIES CAN BE FIELDED IN AN ALLIED DETACHMENT.
Back to top Go down
 
Ynnari Special Rules "Leak"
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 6 of 13Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 11, 12, 13  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DARK ELDAR DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: