HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 1000 pts vs Grey Knights - surprise ending

Go down 
AuthorMessage
tegs
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 133
Join date : 2016-07-13

PostSubject: 1000 pts vs Grey Knights - surprise ending   Sat Sep 17 2016, 06:22

I played a 1k point game against a GK army today. It was... interesting.

This was my first time playing a Maelstrom mission.

My army consisted of:

CAD
Haemie w. hexrifle, crucible, in one of the raiders
2 units of warriors w blaster, raider with dissie, nightshield
2 ravagers with triple dissies, nightshield

AD
Corsair Prince with Helm of Spite, jetbike, MC void saber, shadow field, in one of the jetbike units
2 units of 3 jetbikes each, all with shuriken cannons

His army was:
Nemesis formation
1 GK librarian
1 GK captain
1 five man strike squad
2 dreadknights, one with sword and PF, the other with gatling psilencer and heavy incinerator
1 Vindicare assassin

I knew he was going to bring two Dreadknights, but the assassin was a surprise.

Long story short, he wiped everything I had off the table twice. I made a few serious tactical mistakes like shooting with the jetbikes when I should have turbo-boosted across the board to safety, and choosing the side of the table with an objective two victory points rather than the one that let me spread my units out in cover. This allowed him to DS his infantry unit in and flamer down a warrior squad and two jetbikes in one go. I put my two ravagers too close together, and that allowed him to make a disordered charge with a DK that exploded both of them. I did manage to kill the Vindicare and about half of his infantry unit in turn 2, but I didn't have enough firepower left to take down the DKs. His turn three, they wiped everything I had off the table, with two units left in reserve: the Haemi/warrior unit in a raider, and an empty raider.

In my turn 3, the Haemi and warriors came out of reserve, but the empty raider stayed in. I managed to shoot the rest of his infantry unit but the GK captain, netting two VPs for killing a character and killing a psyker. In his turn 4, the captain and shooty DK shot down the Haemi and warriors, then the captain charged and wrecked the raider, leaving me with nothing on the table again. I discarded an objective requiring me to kill a DK, since that obviously wasn't possible, and drew killing a psyker alongside killing a character which I already had. Turn 4, the empty raider arrived on table, worth 7% of my total points. I took the last wound off the captain with the raider's dissie, getting two VPs for killing a character and psyker for the second turn in a row.

It was very obvious that my raider was doomed if there was a turn 5, so I was very fortunate the game ended after turn 4.

Since he had massacred me, I congratulated my opponent on his victory, and counted up my points. Turned out that I had eight VPs, while he had seven.

That I kept getting duplicate objectives, like secure #5 twice, or kill a character and kill a psyker, meant that I was getting VPs two at a time, while he was getting points more often but only getting one each time. What a Face

I won a game with 93% of my army dead and a 70 point raider as the only survivor to tell the tale. lol!



We also played a kill team game, his GKs against my orks. My 14 shootas and 3 killa kans killed his 5 man GK squad and took a whopping 3 casualties. Overwhelming volume of fire and horde of bodies FTW!

_________________
Worry not about Chaos; it is the used 40k market that shall be thy temptation.
Back to top Go down
The goat
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 57
Join date : 2016-06-01

PostSubject: Re: 1000 pts vs Grey Knights - surprise ending   Sat Sep 17 2016, 09:17

He should have won. Should you have no models on the table you automatically lose.
Back to top Go down
tegs
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 133
Join date : 2016-07-13

PostSubject: Re: 1000 pts vs Grey Knights - surprise ending   Sat Sep 17 2016, 16:46

Only at the end of your turn.  I had a single unit arrive from reserve both times he wiped the table clean.

Otherwise, doing null deployment and letting your opponent go first would be an auto-lose.

_________________
Worry not about Chaos; it is the used 40k market that shall be thy temptation.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
In Exile


Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: 1000 pts vs Grey Knights - surprise ending   Sat Sep 17 2016, 17:47

@tegs wrote:
Only at the end of your turn.

This isn't 100% accurate. If you have no units on the table at the end of a GAME turn, you lose. The end of your turn is only the end of a game turn if you went second. If you went first, the end of a game turn is the end of your opponent's turn.

So you only get a turn to try to get something on the table from reserves after you've been tabled in games in which you went second. Hope that helps!
Back to top Go down
tegs
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 133
Join date : 2016-07-13

PostSubject: Re: 1000 pts vs Grey Knights - surprise ending   Sat Sep 17 2016, 18:53

I double checked in the rules, and BTW is right. It's at the end of a game turn, and a game turn consists of both player turns.

_________________
Worry not about Chaos; it is the used 40k market that shall be thy temptation.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: 1000 pts vs Grey Knights - surprise ending   

Back to top Go down
 
1000 pts vs Grey Knights - surprise ending
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Realspace Raids
-
Jump to: