HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AuthorMessage
hydranixx
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 479
Join date : 2013-11-26

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 02:09

@BetrayTheWorld wrote:
The new formation, on the other hand, could be pretty interesting with PE.

If only Preferred Enemy let the Reavers reroll those d6 rolls on 1 for Cluster Caltrops that I get every time... haha. At least it helps when they (try) wound with their single mighty S6 hit.

Now that I think about it, Reavers seem like they benefit a lot. The big focus is all about Trueborn, which is fair enough, everyone wants them to actually be worth a damn, but Reavers... I mean they were already good choices.

Reavers get re rolls of 1 to wound on all their HoW attacks, which has some really nice micro synergy with the inbuilt rending on said HoW attacks. You can fish for those 6's with more success than ever before, which is pretty good when you're only S4.

I have quite forgotten the exact wording on PE, but it seems like Heat Lances would benefit from it quite dramatically too. They may re roll their regular to hit roll, so they're slightly more accurate. More importantly, they may re roll up to 2 of the 2d6 to penetrate if there's any 1's, so there's more chance of converting a hit to a penetrating result. More importantly still, they can re roll their damage result if they get a 1 on the results table, and because they're one of our only sources of AP1 in the entire codex this is actually a much bigger deal than it sounds.

9 Reavers with 3 Heat Lances & 0-3 Cluster Caltrops (points dependent) seems like a really good unit for this formation?

_________________
"Of course you should fight fire with fire! You should fight everything with fire."
Back to top Go down
Creeping Darkness
Wych
avatar

Posts : 548
Join date : 2012-11-21

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 02:26

So since there's no mention of the shadowfield in this FAQ edition, we can hope that it will be left out of the final FAQ - leaving us to conform to the main FAQ where saving something with FnP counts as saved, and we get to keep the field.

Nice rulings on Courts and Trueborn. Pity about the Freakish Spectacle.

Does the errata on the Archangel of Pain change anything?
Back to top Go down
http://thecreepingdarkness.blogspot.com
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 03:46

Only clarifies that the wound pool empties. (I can see the argument now: some beardy mcbeardyton argued that without saying excess wounds are lost, the wounds stay in the wound pool until the wound pool IS being applied to a unit they can go to.)
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 04:30

I need to dig out my Iyanden book - from memory though I thought the spirit seers made wraiths troops - not the books rules itself?

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3089
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 04:54

PE enemy with Blaster Smile

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Unorthodoxy
Beating A Different Drummer
avatar

Posts : 837
Join date : 2014-03-25
Location : Western Washington

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 05:34

How did they miss the Crucible in this FAQ. Was their not enough acrimony over it and its equally ridiculous rules??

_________________
Hold out bait to entice the enemy. Feign disorder, and then crush him.
-Sun Tzu, the Art of War
Back to top Go down
http://www.40kunorthodoxy.blogspot.com/
Painjunky
Wych
avatar

Posts : 866
Join date : 2011-08-08
Location : Sunshine Coast

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 09:13

I don't see how trueborn makes this new formation playable.

Still have to "point" at start of turn...

Still cannot "point" from within a vehicle... Rolling Eyes
Back to top Go down
Ultimatejet
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2016-05-05
Location : Kabal of the Black Ark

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 11:41

They have not answered about Drazhar Warlord Trait also
Back to top Go down
RedRegicide
Wych
avatar

Posts : 655
Join date : 2016-05-20

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 13:22

Webway in with blaster born, blow up important veichle, then flat out raider between the blaster born and the whatever unit will likely charge them. That's what I would do. Or use raider's dissy to kill a few annoying marines

_________________
“No. Stop. Don’t go in there. You’ll all be killed,’ Motley murmured sardonically”
Back to top Go down
Devilogical
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 437
Join date : 2013-09-25
Location : Russia!!!

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 19:47

Lol!
orbs ARE str 1 and cost 25pts Very Happy

_________________
`We faced a Dysjunction... we were betrayed, destroyed, ashamed, hunted... Now look who is been risen from the ashes...`

Succubus Ariel the Vengefull of the Wych cult Blade Denied to her sister, archon Elieae after the conquering Low Commoragh Dark spire.
Back to top Go down
Cavash
Lord of the Chat
avatar

Posts : 3197
Join date : 2012-04-15
Location : Stuck in an air vent spying on plotters

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 20:06

@Devilogical wrote:
Lol!
orbs ARE str 1 and cost 25pts Very Happy

The DE feather-duster.

_________________

Back to top Go down
doriii
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 251
Join date : 2013-04-19
Location : durr

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Thu Jul 07 2016, 22:07

@hydranixx wrote:


I have quite forgotten the exact wording on PE, but it seems like Heat Lances would benefit from it quite dramatically too. They may re roll their regular to hit roll, so they're slightly more accurate. More importantly, they may re roll up to 2 of the 2d6 to penetrate if there's any 1's, so there's more chance of converting a hit to a penetrating result. More importantly still, they can re roll their damage result if they get a 1 on the results table, and because they're one of our only sources of AP1 in the entire codex this is actually a much bigger deal than it sounds.

PE does not allow reroll to armor penetration rolls of 1 only to wound rolls of 1
Back to top Go down
Rewind
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 218
Join date : 2016-05-12
Location : Surrey

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Fri Jul 08 2016, 00:05

@Skulnbonz wrote:

Trueborn ARE warriors after all...


So, we can run Trueborn anytime a Formation specifies Warriors ie KRP, PC

But, not in say a CAD or RSR:

Lhamaen
5 x Trueborn
5 x Trueborn
+ 1 FA for RSR

Because they change battlefield roles still?
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1302
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Fri Jul 08 2016, 00:15

Even if it did, it wouldn't apply to melta weapons in melta range because it is impossible to roll a to pen of 1, 2 ones is not 2 ones: it's 2. Just like how rending on top of melta/armourbane is decidedly mediocre: the text is very clear the roll must be exactly that number (in rendings case 6) with no specifications for alterations to be made due to multiple die roles.

Rewind: Exactly. As I have said from day 1.
Back to top Go down
Imateria
Wych
avatar

Posts : 510
Join date : 2016-02-06
Location : Birmingham

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Fri Jul 08 2016, 00:19

@Rewind wrote:
@Skulnbonz wrote:

Trueborn ARE warriors after all...


So, we can run Trueborn anytime a Formation specifies Warriors ie KRP, PC

But, not in say a CAD or RSR:

Lhamaen
5 x Trueborn
5 x Trueborn
+ 1 FA for RSR

Because they change battlefield roles still?
Yep, upgrading to Trueborn/Bloodbrides specifically says it changes their battlefield role from Troops to Elites, which matters when using a Force Org but but makes no difference to a formation.
Back to top Go down
fisheyes
Wych
avatar

Posts : 851
Join date : 2016-02-18

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Fri Jul 08 2016, 15:24

The ruling clearly allows us to stack freakish specticle with DA and grotesquery. Maybe trueborn will make a comeback, but 15 pt blasters are still pricy as feth. Dual SC sitting in ruins?

Funny they didnt mention shadowfield...

Venom ruling was out of left field, who asked this in the first place?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7197
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Fri Jul 08 2016, 15:28

@fisheyes wrote:
Venom ruling was out of left field, who asked this in the first place?

Someone who is now wishing they hadn't!

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Ultra Magnus
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 41
Join date : 2015-06-28

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Fri Jul 08 2016, 22:41

I really was surprised by the Court of the Archon ruling.

I know that the "Archon haters" among us have been playing it that way all along but I really thought it was a case of sloppy editing on GW's part. From a fluff perspective, I really didn't think they intended to have a Kabal raiding party being lead by a hooker with a switchblade, or a reptilian club bouncer and have that be a legitimate HQ option. Is a space marines strike force led by a servitor drone or an apothecary?

The one other thing I was surprised that didn't get covered was the crucible of malediction and whether it was intentional that it hit a random model in the unit and not the psyker in the unit. A similar piece of wargear from the Inquisition Codex was FAQ'ed to target the psyker so I was hoping that ours would be clarified as well. Too bad...
Back to top Go down
Kantalla
Wych
avatar

Posts : 840
Join date : 2015-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Sat Jul 09 2016, 01:19

In terms of the Freakish Spectacle Errata, the words are now meant to say:
'Freakish Spectacle: Enemy units within 12" of one or more models from any Covenite Coterie Detachments suffer a -1 penalty to their Leadership value.'

So, are the Formations in the Haemonculus Covens supplement considered Covenite Coterie Detachments?

If yes, then Freakish Spectacle doesn't stack, and if no, then it doesn't apply at all.

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Drukhari damage output analysis
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Sat Jul 09 2016, 02:37

@Kantalla wrote:

If yes, then Freakish Spectacle doesn't stack, and if no, then it doesn't apply at all.

Nice catch. Someone probably ought to comment on the facebook page and let them know so we don't get screwed again.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Sat Jul 09 2016, 04:13

In my codex, each Formation's Freakish Spectacle rule clearly states 'this detachment,' and is unaffected by the change to Covenite Coteries.
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1302
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Sat Jul 09 2016, 04:15

So everybody better keep their mouths shut so we don't repeat the venom snafu.
Back to top Go down
Kantalla
Wych
avatar

Posts : 840
Join date : 2015-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Sat Jul 09 2016, 04:30

@Jimsolo wrote:
In my codex, each Formation's Freakish Spectacle rule clearly states 'this detachment,' and is unaffected by the change to Covenite Coteries.
That's interesting, mine just lists Freakish Spectacle under each of the formation special rules, so you have to refer back to the Covenite Coterie Detachment to get the actual words.

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Drukhari damage output analysis
Back to top Go down
Marrath
Wych
avatar

Posts : 686
Join date : 2014-01-01
Location : A very spiky Webway-Hulk

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Sat Jul 09 2016, 05:16

@BetrayTheWorld wrote:
Nice catch. Someone probably ought to comment on the facebook page and let them know so we don't get not screwed again.
Fixed for you Razz

_________________
Archon of the Kabal of the Burning Misery
Thanks for making the Djinn Blade great for once Smile
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   Sat Jul 09 2016, 08:03

@BetrayTheWorld wrote:

Iyanden supplement is still official and allowed to be used with Eldar: Craftworlds. (And I confirmed that this was written in the supplement on page 78: Wraithguard and Wraithblades as troops are back!) This is an important development since wraithguard have access to D-weapons.

Just to update this - no, WGuard are not troops even with the Iyanden supplement. That function was one from the old Spirit seer entry and nothing in the supplement allows it. Also - there is no page 78 in the book?

Just an FYI before DE players went mad for allies...

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up   

Back to top Go down
 
Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequins FAQs are up
Back to top 
Page 2 of 4Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: