HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Grotesques/grotesqurie question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Xm0shcryptX
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 227
Join date : 2014-05-29
Location : spokane

PostSubject: Grotesques/grotesqurie question   Fri May 27 2016, 17:15

So I've been reading the last big assault troop analysis page. I keep seeing that grotesques re roll to wound vs T4 or less. Am I missing something? I'm not complaining it would be awesome I'm just confused on how. If someone could explain I'd really appreciate it thanks!
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Grotesques/grotesqurie question   Fri May 27 2016, 17:17

They have poison weapons. The poison special rule says that if you would wound on a better number than your poison, poison instead let's you reroll to wound. So, since S5 grotesques would normally wound T4 on a 3+ instead of a 4+, they wound T4 on a 3+ with a reroll to wound. Wink

_________________
Back to top Go down
Xm0shcryptX
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 227
Join date : 2014-05-29
Location : spokane

PostSubject: Re: Grotesques/grotesqurie question   Fri May 27 2016, 17:43

Oh thanks man! That's pretty darn good !
Back to top Go down
Kantalla
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 369
Join date : 2015-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Grotesques/grotesqurie question   Fri May 27 2016, 18:25

Technically the trigger to re-roll is Strength > Toughness, rather than a lower roll being needed, but in effect BetrayTheWorld is right for Grotesques.

If Grotesques were to get a 2+ poison weapon in a future upgrade, they would still get rerolls vs Marines, which would be amusing.

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Back to top Go down
Marrath
Wych
avatar

Posts : 536
Join date : 2014-01-01
Location : A very pointy Webway Hulk

PostSubject: Re: Grotesques/grotesqurie question   Fri May 27 2016, 20:36

This makes me wonder: If i roll Shred on the Latest Experiments, can i re-roll to wound twice?
Once for Poisoned and once for Shred? Or does "No single dice can be re-rolled more than once" still count, even though it's 2 different special rules?

Edit: Would make shred rather useless when there are only enemies with toughness below 5 on the table.
Back to top Go down
MarcoAvrelis
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 180
Join date : 2014-02-23

PostSubject: Re: Grotesques/grotesqurie question   Fri May 27 2016, 21:27

It makes shred rather useless, since you may only re-roll a dice once.
Back to top Go down
Xm0shcryptX
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 227
Join date : 2014-05-29
Location : spokane

PostSubject: Re: Grotesques/grotesqurie question   Fri May 27 2016, 21:43

Shred wouldn't be useless against T5 and higher though
Back to top Go down
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1222
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: Grotesques/grotesqurie question   Fri May 27 2016, 22:27

And given the prevalence of bikespam, It's likely you won't be getting rerolls against marine armies unless your experiment is +1 to str or shred.
Back to top Go down
 
Grotesques/grotesqurie question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Dark Eldar Tactics
-
Jump to: