HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
flakmonkey
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 333
Join date : 2013-03-05

PostSubject: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Tue May 24 2016, 07:17

Question is pretty much in the title.

I was playing today, and my Cloud Dancers got charged. I fired overwatch, then moved. My opponent then moved his termies forward whatever he rolled for charge range.

I wasn't overly concerned, but I found I couldn't really argue the point very well.

So do they still move? Or does it count as a failed charge so zero movement?

Cheers

_________________
"Whereas the duty of the Imperial Commander is either to seize or defend territory, the Dark Eldar make war only to steal. If, as a by-product of this, the are able to indulge their vile passion for murder, torture and other decadent acts, then they will joyfully do so, but this is not their primary goal"
Back to top Go down
MarcoAvrelis
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 180
Join date : 2014-02-23

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Tue May 24 2016, 13:47

Charges and overwatch work like this.

Aggressor declares that unit A charges unit B.

Unit B may fire Overwatch, measuring distances from unit B to unit A. For instance, If the distance is 7" or more, your characters Fusion Pistols can't fire, because they're range 6".

As Corsairs have access to Eldar Shenanigans, they move back 6" (+d6" if JP/EJB).

Then, Unit A rolls their charge distance. (Charge distance is rolled after overwatch.)

If the charge distance is far enough for unit A to reach unit B, They may move that distance, if it's not (I.E: They rolled too low, to many died due to overwatch*, Eldar shenanigans like Reckless Abandon), They fail to charge and do not move at all.

(*Fun fact; ALL harlequins have LoS, and on 2+, due to holosuits. This means that the guy in the front doesn't always have to die, and are thus less likely to not reach combat due to overwatch casualties.)
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7132
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Tue May 24 2016, 14:15

@MarcoAvrelis wrote:
(*Fun fact; ALL harlequins have LoS, and on 2+, due to holosuits. This means that the guy in the front doesn't always have to die, and are thus less likely to not reach combat due to overwatch casualties.)

Not true, sadly. The relevant item of wargear is actually the flip belt and all it does is let characters pass Lo,S! rolls on a 2+ rather than their normal 4+. This has no effect on Players, who are not characters, or on Shadowseers or Death Jesters, who are Independent Characters and therefore pass on a 2+ anyway. The only models effected are Troupe Masters and Solitaires.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Tue May 24 2016, 18:15

Marco was right about the overwatch part though. Order of Operations:

He declares charge.
You overwatch, immediately moving back when you shoot.
He rolls charge distance, and likely fails since you're out of range, therefore he does not move, as per failing a charge.

_________________
Back to top Go down
flakmonkey
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 333
Join date : 2013-03-05

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Tue May 24 2016, 20:50

Thanks for the replies.
I assumed the same thing, seems a a bit too good, but then I just figured it was Eldar Trickery.

My opponent sighted the case of charging a Falling Back unit that fails its Regroup, yet you still move.
However upon reading, that only seems to be the case if multiple assaults are declared.

_________________
"Whereas the duty of the Imperial Commander is either to seize or defend territory, the Dark Eldar make war only to steal. If, as a by-product of this, the are able to indulge their vile passion for murder, torture and other decadent acts, then they will joyfully do so, but this is not their primary goal"
Back to top Go down
MarcoAvrelis
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 180
Join date : 2014-02-23

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Wed May 25 2016, 09:56

But reckless abandon isn't falling back.
Back to top Go down
flakmonkey
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 333
Join date : 2013-03-05

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Wed May 25 2016, 13:22

Yeah, I know that.
I think he was more using it as an example of a chargimg unit still moving even when it can't actually get into base to base.

_________________
"Whereas the duty of the Imperial Commander is either to seize or defend territory, the Dark Eldar make war only to steal. If, as a by-product of this, the are able to indulge their vile passion for murder, torture and other decadent acts, then they will joyfully do so, but this is not their primary goal"
Back to top Go down
Anggul
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 320
Join date : 2011-06-22
Location : Southampton, England

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Sun Jun 05 2016, 22:24

@flakmonkey wrote:
Yeah, I know that.
I think he was more using it as an example of a chargimg unit still moving even when it can't actually get into base to base.


That isn't what happens when you fail a charge though, that's clearly laid out in the charging section of the rules.



Reckless abandon is a cool rule, but it's pretty ridiculous that it works for overwatching cloud dancers.

_________________
"Oh how awful, did he at least die painlessly? To shreds you say? Well, how's his Dracon holding up? To shreds you say? Very well then... Sad, sad, terrible gruesome news about my colleague Archon Mhu'bhutu." - 'The Feather', Dracon of the Bladed Lotus
Back to top Go down
Deathwasp11
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 42
Join date : 2016-02-09

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Sun Jun 05 2016, 23:53

I think the ITC ruled that it didn't work for overwatch. Did that change or are you not play ITC?
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Mon Jun 06 2016, 00:17

The ITC ruled that you could only do it ONCE per player turn for overwatch. It still works. But based on the book you could do it an unlimited number of times. They changed that part.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Mon Jun 06 2016, 05:35

@flakmonkey wrote:
Thanks for the replies.
I assumed the same thing, seems a a bit too good, but then I just figured it was Eldar Trickery.

My opponent sighted the case of charging a Falling Back unit that fails its Regroup, yet you still move.
However upon reading, that only seems to be the case if multiple assaults are declared.

Charging a unit falling back follows the same process...

Declare charge
Overwatch - which is not allowed when falling back
roll charge range - if you make base contact the enemy rolls LD and if failed is destroyed. If passed, the unit regroups and the combat ensues. If you don't make contact the charge fails and you don't move

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
MarcoAvrelis
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 180
Join date : 2014-02-23

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Mon Jun 06 2016, 21:30

@BetrayTheWorld wrote:
The ITC ruled that you could only do it ONCE per player turn for overwatch. It still works. But based on the book you could do it an unlimited number of times. They changed that part.

Wait, What?

You can overwatch only once per turn anyway, so, what's the deal with the ITC ruling?
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Tue Jun 07 2016, 02:12

I may have answered to quickly and mis-spoke. Could be wrong. I encourage someone to double-check the ITC ruling. I may do it myself when I have more time than I do at this very moment.

_________________
Back to top Go down
CurstAlchemist
Wych
avatar

Posts : 867
Join date : 2015-05-01
Location : Las Vegas

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Tue Jun 07 2016, 02:39

ITC FAQ on reckless abandon:
"Eldar Corsair Jetbikes may not use their Reckless Abandon special rule as a part of Overwatch."

https://docs.google.com/document/d/16nmBS2KZglu9JaGttpX_9lOYhYO2PQM47N8HvrsAA60/edit
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Tue Jun 07 2016, 04:31

Thats because it essentially becomes impossible to assault them

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Tue Jun 07 2016, 08:05

I stand corrected! Thanks for taking the time to look it up! Wink

_________________
Back to top Go down
MarcoAvrelis
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 180
Join date : 2014-02-23

PostSubject: Re: Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?   Tue Jun 07 2016, 12:13

@CurstAlchemist wrote:
ITC FAQ on reckless abandon:
"Eldar Corsair Jetbikes may not use their Reckless Abandon special rule as a part of Overwatch."

https://docs.google.com/document/d/16nmBS2KZglu9JaGttpX_9lOYhYO2PQM47N8HvrsAA60/edit

That's just mean.
Back to top Go down
 
Reckless Abandon-Does the enemy unit still move?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

AELDARI ALLIES

 :: Craftworld Eldar, Ynnari, Harlequins & Corsairs
-
Jump to: