HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Multiple Detachments and new FAQ

Go down 
AuthorMessage
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Multiple Detachments and new FAQ   Wed May 11 2016, 13:47

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark on each other's Transports during deployment?
A: No.

Would this apply to units from different Dark Eldar detachments?

e.g. Could a succubus in a CAD start the game embarked on a Raider from a different CAD?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7188
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Detachments and new FAQ   Wed May 11 2016, 14:07

Levels of alliance are determined by Faction, not detachment. As long as your models are all from the same faction then it should be fine.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Detachments and new FAQ   Wed May 11 2016, 15:06

@Count Adhemar wrote:
Levels of alliance are determined by Faction, not detachment. As long as your models are all from the same faction then it should be fine.

I thought it was just that detachments of the same faction were always Battle Brothers?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7188
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Detachments and new FAQ   Wed May 11 2016, 15:26

@The Shredder wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
Levels of alliance are determined by Faction, not detachment. As long as your models are all from the same faction then it should be fine.

I thought it was just that detachments of the same faction were always Battle Brothers?

Not as far as I can see.

Quote :
The Allies Matrix below shows the levels of alliance between units that have different Factions in the same army

So if you have units in the same army that are the same faction the alliance matrix doesn't apply. It's only if you have units from different factions that are Battle Brothers. At least I'm 99% certain that's the intent of this FAQ ruling.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Detachments and new FAQ   Wed May 11 2016, 15:31

Ah, okay. Cheers.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Detachments and new FAQ   Wed May 11 2016, 16:37

@Count Adhemar wrote:
@The Shredder wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
Levels of alliance are determined by Faction, not detachment. As long as your models are all from the same faction then it should be fine.

I thought it was just that detachments of the same faction were always Battle Brothers?

Not as far as I can see.

Quote :
The Allies Matrix below shows the levels of alliance between units that have different Factions in the same army

So if you have units in the same army that are the same faction the alliance matrix doesn't apply. It's only if you have units from different factions that are Battle Brothers. At least I'm 99% certain that's the intent of this FAQ ruling.

I see your interpretation, and even agree with it. However, if you then look at the matrix itself, it combines all space marines, inquisition, sisters, imperial guard, etc into one "faction" listed as armies of the imperium. I can see people making the argument that all such armies could then use each other's transports, if you don't consider separate detachments of the same faction battle brothers.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7188
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Detachments and new FAQ   Wed May 11 2016, 16:44

@BetrayTheWorld wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
@The Shredder wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
Levels of alliance are determined by Faction, not detachment. As long as your models are all from the same faction then it should be fine.

I thought it was just that detachments of the same faction were always Battle Brothers?

Not as far as I can see.

Quote :
The Allies Matrix below shows the levels of alliance between units that have different Factions in the same army

So if you have units in the same army that are the same faction the alliance matrix doesn't apply. It's only if you have units from different factions that are Battle Brothers. At least I'm 99% certain that's the intent of this FAQ ruling.

I see your interpretation, and even agree with it. However, if you then look at the matrix itself, it combines all space marines, inquisition, sisters, imperial guard, etc into one "faction" listed as armies of the imperium. I can see people making the argument that all such armies could then use each other's transports, if you don't consider separate detachments of the same faction battle brothers.

Directly under the allies matrix it says:

Quote :
Units that have the following Factions are considered to be Armies of the Imperium:
• Adepta Sororitas
• Astra Militarum
• Blood Angels
• Dark Angels
• Grey Knights
• Imperial Knights
• Inquisition
• Space Marines
• Space Wolves

Armies of the Imperium is simply a grouping of different factions rather than a faction in itself. This seems to be reinforced by the addition of further factions since the 7e rulebook. For example:

Quote :
All units in Codex: Cult Mechanicus have the Cult Mechanicus Faction. The Cult Mechanicus are part of the Armies of the Imperium and ally as such, as described in the Allies section of Warhammer 40,000: The Rules.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Detachments and new FAQ   Wed May 11 2016, 19:20

As I said before, I agree with your interpretation of the rule. But nothing in the rulebook explicitly states that "armies of the imperium" isn't a faction insofar as the allies matrix is concerned, and it's on the matrix right next to 8 other names that are undeniably factions.

Again, I fully agree with your interpretation. But I also fully expect a bunch of space marine/imperial players to make absurd arguments saying your interpretation is wrong. We should be prepared for that.

_________________
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Multiple Detachments and new FAQ   Wed May 11 2016, 19:22

@BetrayTheWorld wrote:
But I also fully expect a bunch of space marine/imperial players to make absurd arguments

What's new? Wink
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Multiple Detachments and new FAQ   

Back to top Go down
 
Multiple Detachments and new FAQ
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: