HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 3D6 and Ordnance

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Hellstrom
Wych
avatar

Posts : 515
Join date : 2014-11-24
Location : South Central England

PostSubject: 3D6 and Ordnance   Thu Oct 29 2015, 15:33

Assuming the following link is correct (not really relevant), how does the Ordnance rule effect the rolls for the Sonic Lance?

https://i.servimg.com/u/f21/19/34/28/41/12143110.jpg

Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
avatar

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

PostSubject: Re: 3D6 and Ordnance   Thu Oct 29 2015, 15:46

As far as I can see it would have no effect - super heavies ignore all aspects of Ordinance limitations, and its 3d6 rule at least appears to override the normal armor penetration rules.

My vague guess would be they did it with the concept that one day they might wish to put that weapon on a non-super heavy?

I dunno.

_________________


The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Hellstrom
Wych
avatar

Posts : 515
Join date : 2014-11-24
Location : South Central England

PostSubject: Re: 3D6 and Ordnance   Thu Oct 29 2015, 18:01

They are changing it from "Primary Weapon 1" to "Ordnance 1". Neither iteration are really very obvious what you are actually supposed to do with the rule.
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1937
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: 3D6 and Ordnance   Fri Oct 30 2015, 10:19

I can see why they've done it.
Ordnance is usually 2d6 armour penetration, whilst Primary is +1 die, pick then highest. The rules for Primary even make it clear that if you usually roll 2d6 for armour penetration (for Armourbane for eample) then you are rolling 3d6.
The rules for the Sonic Lance stat you hit Vehilces at Str1, with 3d6. If it was a Primary Weapon on top of that, you'd actually be rolling 4d6.

On the Pulsar its pretty irrelevant as you're not using standard armour penetration, so like Thor I guess its in case they put the weapon on something else.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Hellstrom
Wych
avatar

Posts : 515
Join date : 2014-11-24
Location : South Central England

PostSubject: Re: 3D6 and Ordnance   Sat Oct 31 2015, 10:16

Primary Weapon, doesn't say "add 1 dice" though.  It gives specific examples of if you have 1d6, roll 2d6 and if you have 2d6, roll 3d6.  I doesn't mention adding 1 dice ever.  The same issue occurs with Ordnance.

Does the Destroyer Weapon Attack Table not count as rolling for Armour Penetration as far as the Pulsars are concerned ??
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: 3D6 and Ordnance   

Back to top Go down
 
3D6 and Ordnance
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: