HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

Share
 

 Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Mr_Pink
Kabalite Warrior
Mr_Pink

Posts : 145
Join date : 2012-04-21
Location : Canada

Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? Empty
PostSubject: Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms?   Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 12 2015, 22:59

Howdy fellow fleshcrafters.

In my ongoing quest to covenify each DE unit, I got hit with some inspiration for Coven Reavers.

I was messing around with reaver and hellion bits, and I realized that, should you place a keyboard on top of a reaver canopy, the two go together like they were built for it, and you wind up with a kind of neat looking miniature razorwing:

Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? Img_2011

So I used a couple of these as basis for my Coven Reavers since they're still clearly reaver canopies, but they look a little different.

Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? 2015-110

Beneath each canopy, I sculpted in a wrack who has been fused into the mechanics of the reaver as its pilot for the rest of his days.

Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? Img_2012

This one is meant to be the arena champion, so he's been given a power sword.

Now, the question I had: do you folks think these pilots need arms? Or are just their hideous torsoes sufficient to give the impression of Coven Reavers?

Here's an example where one has arms and one doesn't:
Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? 2015-111

What do you think?

_________________
Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? YModern Synthesist - See all of my nightmare creations
Haemonculus Coven - See my Coven units
Tyranids - See my Niddy conversions
Back to top Go down
http://modernsynthesist.blogspot.ca/
Thor665
Archon
Thor665

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms?   Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? I_icon_minitimeTue Oct 13 2015, 00:32

I'd say no arms, looks more alien and insane, also cuts down on wind resistance Wink

_________________
Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? K93hWhs
Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? L1RsnGX
The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Klaivex
Squidmaster

Posts : 2044
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms?   Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? I_icon_minitimeTue Oct 13 2015, 10:11

Hideous torsos!
I say go without arms. If you have weapons can easily be crafted into the torsos.
Looking good!
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Mr_Pink
Kabalite Warrior
Mr_Pink

Posts : 145
Join date : 2012-04-21
Location : Canada

Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms?   Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? I_icon_minitimeWed Oct 14 2015, 23:50

Thanks for the feedback, folks. You in particular, Thor, since these reavers are being put together thanks in large part to your generous Hellion gift in the secret santa space raid last year!

Squidmaster, what did you mean by the weapons being crafted into the torsoes? Did you mean I should try building in splinter rifles / close combat weapons / power swords into the torso without using arms? have you ever done something like that? How did you manage it, and how did it look?

I tend to agree that fewer arms mean more horror and less wind resistance. Thus, going forward I'll not be putting arms on anyone but the arena champions (which is another good way to tell them apart, I guess).

However, since these dudes are already assembled, the other random rider will get to keep his arms.

Here are some quick, rough photos of the squad so far.
Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? IMG_20151014_174417%25257E2
Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? IMG_20151014_174427%25257E2
Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? IMG_20151014_174443%25257E2

_________________
Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? YModern Synthesist - See all of my nightmare creations
Haemonculus Coven - See my Coven units
Tyranids - See my Niddy conversions
Back to top Go down
http://modernsynthesist.blogspot.ca/
flakmonkey
Sybarite
flakmonkey

Posts : 333
Join date : 2013-03-05

Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms?   Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 15 2015, 03:48

I'll jump onto the armless bandwagon (a bit late)

It's always great to see your twisted menagerie Mr Pink, you're a true Flesh-Crafter

PS Whats the big dude in the Background?
Back to top Go down
nexs
Wych
nexs

Posts : 766
Join date : 2014-12-28

Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms?   Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 15 2015, 03:57

I am a bit late, but i'd say arms.
How are you going to tell your opponent that these guys are entitled to 3 attacks on the charge when they have no arms?

In other news, they look like what we all did as kids when pretending to be an aeroplane.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms?   Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms? I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Fleshcrafter opinion needed: arms or no arms?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

LOW COMMORRAGH - THE WORKSHOPS

 :: Painting & Modelling Discussion
-
Jump to: