HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Complaints

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
AuthorMessage
CurstAlchemist
Wych
avatar

Posts : 867
Join date : 2015-05-01
Location : Las Vegas

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 03:41

The Dark Eldar also fought the Tyranids alongside of the CWE in Valedor
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 04:35

I think that's what actually led to the abduction of Lethidia.
Back to top Go down
Painjunky
Wych
avatar

Posts : 866
Join date : 2011-08-08
Location : Sunshine Coast

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 05:21

@Sulmo wrote:
The Dark Alliance

Dark Eldar RSR

Archon (+ Shadow Field, + Agoniser, + Haywire Grenades, + WWP): 165 points
Court (+ Medusa (x3), + Venom (+ Splinter Cannon)): 140 points
3 Mandrakes: 36 points
5 Warriors (+ Venom (+ Splinter Cannon), + Blaster): 120 points
5 Warriors (+ Venom (+ Splinter Cannon), + Blaster): 120 points
Razorwing (+ Dark Lances (x2)): 140 points
Venom (+ Splinter Cannon): 65 points
Raider (+ Dark Lance): 60 points
2 Talos (+ Haywire Blasters (x2), + Ichor Injector (x1)): 270 points

Eldar Allies

Farseer (+ Singing Spear): 105 points
5 Fire Dragons: 110 points
3 Windrider Jetbikes (+ Scatter Lasers (x3)): 81 points
Hemlock: 185 points

Cast of Players

Shadowseer (+ Mask of Secrets): 75 points
Death Jester: 60 points
5 Harlequins (+ Master (+ Fusion Pistol, + Caress)): 118 points


Cool list. How'd you kill 3 knights on the drop? One fall over and nuke the other 2?
Back to top Go down
Kinjallo
Slave


Posts : 14
Join date : 2015-08-25

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 05:45

The list also relies heavily on the reserve rolls... and our awesome codex has no way of manipulating them without including comm relays and autarchs. In fact, that's probably the biggest weakness of the list - unless you can roll 3+ like a god, there going to be a lot of awkward situations.
Back to top Go down
nexs
Wych
avatar

Posts : 766
Join date : 2014-12-28

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 05:49

@Painjunky wrote:



Cool list. How'd you kill 3 knights on the drop? One fall over and nuke the other 2?
lol!
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2936
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 05:50

Here we go again.

http://giphy.com/gifs/screen-N2rLxtwaU9rBC

edit - To be fair, your constant "the sky is falling" doesn't count as a response in a discussion, too. Don't you think?

Please do not double post. Instead use the edit function. - Baron T
Back to top Go down
dumpeal
Wych
avatar

Posts : 900
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 14:57

Concerning tyranids, the dark edars fought them to help the Tau, during a "cultural exchange". We were betrayed by the Tau, who tried to attack our fleet, resulting in the slaughter of their planet.

Rolling Eyes I don't think the fact we changed all their ambassadors into grotesques is relevant... Rolling Eyes
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 15:07

@dumpeal wrote:

Rolling Eyes I don't think the fact we changed all their ambassadors into grotesques is relevant... Rolling Eyes

Let's file that one under 'cultural differences'. Wink
Back to top Go down
iknowinewb
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 40
Join date : 2015-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 15:13

@dumpeal wrote:
Concerning tyranids, the dark edars fought them to help the Tau, during a "cultural exchange". We were betrayed by the Tau, who tried to attack our fleet, resulting in the slaughter of their planet.

Rolling Eyes I don't think the fact we changed all their ambassadors into grotesques is relevant... Rolling Eyes

Well we were just trying to give them "Greater Goods", they arent known for having very impressive "Goods".
At least our lore gives us some enjoyable victories, as old as they might be.
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2936
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 18:29

Oh. Thanks for that valuable information. I'd never have anticipated this reaction.

I actually think Tau might be fun to play against. Just Raider gun boats are a waste. So get me more Venom squads and an Archangel and soulfright weaponry with coven formations.
Back to top Go down
Brom
Wych


Posts : 755
Join date : 2013-03-28

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 18:37

Thats funny I destroy tau more often than not. Farshiit bombs can be an auto lose out the gate at times though I'll admit.
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 19:11

@CptMetal wrote:
Oh. Thanks for that valuable information. I'd never have anticipated this reaction.

You know, for as much as you malign about complaints about the DE book being old hat, responses like this aren't exactly furthering the discussion. Neutral

But then I got us sidetracked into DE vs 'nids, so hello Kettle it's me - Pot. Razz
Back to top Go down
Kinjallo
Slave


Posts : 14
Join date : 2015-08-25

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 19:22

Beast packs were a reasonable choice against Tau. 4++ on Khymerae made them not reliant on cover, Razorwings (who were literally ran into the ground) posed a considerable threats to even heaviest infantry and assault-tides.

Now it's mostly down to a shootout. Although, Tau are nowhere near as powerful as they were, since silly loopholes like joining Commander/Farseer to a single riptide are gone, and their army is very vulnerable to Telepathy, the most common psychic school in this meta. I'm pretty sure harlequins can devastate Tau now, just by throwing veils of tears and shrikes.
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 19:30

That does require allies though.

What do you guys use to take out those Crisis Suits?
Back to top Go down
Kinjallo
Slave


Posts : 14
Join date : 2015-08-25

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 19:31

It does not require allies, I'm pretty certain that pure Harlequin army, while being not competitive, will beat the crap out of most tau lists, perhaps even without charging, just by magic.
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 19:57

@Kinjallo wrote:
It does not require allies, I'm pretty certain that pure Harlequin army, while being not competitive, will beat the crap out of most tau lists, perhaps even without charging, just by magic.

Well, I imagine Necrons, Eldar, SMs etc. can also beat up Tau - it doesn't help us. tongue
Back to top Go down
Sulmo
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 75
Join date : 2015-03-03

PostSubject: Re: Complaints   Wed Aug 26 2015, 21:02

Nah. So rolled Labrynthine Cunning. He advanced midboard. Rolled about average for DS. Placed the Raider between the side and rear arc, shot fusion, haywire, lance and spear into unshielded rear facing and pulled the same trick with a DS Blaster warrior squad (1), 18" range on the Blaster meant no need for dismbark and the hull of the Venom scattered along the rear/side arc. Dragons disembarked after DS and battle focused into the unshielded rear arc of the second (2). D-Scythes, Razorwing, H.B. Talos and second warrior squad, using the same tactic but having to disembark this time to get in the side/front arc, finished off the third (3). Rolls for this game were very average, not an unexpected result, maybe lucky on one or two of the vehicle damage results and DS, but eventually a 6 (or a 5 for melta) is to be expected. The Knights were an Adamantine Lance. Even if I had been unluckier and not killed that many, or had less units on the drop, there were too many threats in the list to be chased down.

Another similar type of army, which relies on a DS drop (several netlists come to mind) have too much points concentrated in the drop squads (which is basically two uber-squads) which will ususally be annihilated by counter-fire/assault. In terms of reserves this list can benefit from an Autarch in place of the Farseer. But I prefer the strategic aspect of planning around what is available as opposed to what you need at the time. In most cases, not getting certain units in, such as the warriors, can be of benefit. So I don't feel that reserves is a problem for a list like this and there is enough redundancy, in terms of firepower, that several units can perform the same tasks. The army does well if it goes first, RSR gives me a free turn of jinking on a 4+, or lets me put down the Mandrakes who can gtg in the open for a 2+ or infiltrate out of LOS, enabling null deploy if I go second. All in all, unless you play the same Knight player in >80% of games you will do well.

Comparing that to an Eldar anti-Knight list, I find that you can kill a Knight once per turn, maybe more if your lucky on 6's, but that whole time your army is being shot. With the null deploy option you prevent that. Next installment: the Daemon game.


edit -
So my opponent's list was an uber seer council with Eldrad and a Screamerstar and Fateweaver. He went first, managed to get a null deploy with the drakes. He tried to Gate to the other side of the board for a first turn tabling but scattered out of psy shooting range. Reg shooting didnt do enough to kill the Drakes, even if he had been luckier on DS he wouldn't have been able to see the last Drake for psy death.

He gated over to the other side in the next turn, with the council having Fortune and a 3++ tank in Eldrad. So my drop comes in and I force enough casualties on the Council to make them run, which on account of Mask they did. Had I placed the Hemlock on that side of the table instead of pursuing some minor summoned heralds (Fate had flown off), they would not have regrouped next turn and would have run off the table, killing half his power dice and nullifying the psy shooting from the Screamerstar. Second mistake, I forgot to use Runes on my own casting of Fortune, which was to give the Chon a 2++ rr. Predictably he denied. Next turn my army was getting slowly eaten by Screamers, who I would have charged with Chon and tied up. Third mistake, I didnt move my Talos much, back on the other side of the board. I managed to kill all the Council with shooting except one Farseer, who had now Gated back to my side of the board (with the Talos).

I grounded Fatweaver and left him open to a charge by Talos but rolled a 1,1. Had I moved them a little farther in the last turn (2") they would have got it and he would have died, but I hadn't expected them to be a factor in the game. I let my bikes get assaulted by Daemonttes and lost them, who could probably have killed the lone Farseer, who Gated (again) and used Cleansing Flame a few times to kill my transports over the next two turn. Had I not made these mistakes, the Council would have been gone (if not on turn 2, then turn 3), without Fate the Grimoire, which he activated each turn, would have possibly failed on the Screamers, who would have been tied up by the Archon, allowing me a massive counter-assault and resultant failed instability. Even if the Grimoire hadn't failed they would have still be tied up with the Archon and more than half his army would be dead with mine left unscathed.

Double post merged. - Baron T
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Complaints   

Back to top Go down
 
Complaints
Back to top 
Page 5 of 5Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: