HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Ramming / Tank Shock Question

Go down 
AuthorMessage
TheGreatVoid
Slave
avatar

Posts : 6
Join date : 2015-08-10

PostSubject: Ramming / Tank Shock Question   Mon Aug 10 2015, 17:47

I just started building a Dark Eldar army (after years of black templars and grey knights). I haven't played since the 4th edition so I'm getting used to the new rules.

This is purely hypothetical but are you allowed to use ramming / tank shock to destroy your own vehicle and thus disembark troops even when moving 12"?

For example, you have a raider with a shock prow and 10 wyches embarked. The raider has been lit up by heavy bolters in the previous turn and has only 1 HP left. There happens to be a landraider 12 inches away and you ram it. By the roll of the die, the landraider is left unharmed but the raider has wrecked itself, forcing the wyches to disembark within 3 inches.

** Can the wyches now charge any enemy units within range? **

This would seem to allow you to move 12" (ram) + 3" (disembark) + 2D6 (assault).
I suppose it is not much of a difference from simply moving the raider 6" and disembarking the wyches an additional 6" from the hull.

Thanks

Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1784
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: Ramming / Tank Shock Question   Mon Aug 10 2015, 18:33

When a vehicle is destroyed and a unitn has to get out as a result, this is called Emergency Disembarkation.

The rules for Emergency Dismbarkation clearly say: "The unit cannot then perform any voluntary actions for the rest f the turn."
So the Wych unit would be unable to shoot, run or assault.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
TheGreatVoid
Slave
avatar

Posts : 6
Join date : 2015-08-10

PostSubject: Re: Ramming / Tank Shock Question   Mon Aug 10 2015, 18:42

I don't agree that you must emergency disembark when the vehicle is wrecked. On page 82 it states under the Wrecked bullet that "the passengers must immediately disembark in the usual manner, save that they must end their move wholly within 3" of the vehicle rather than 6"." It seems emergency disembarks only apply if they cannot disembark because of nearby enemies or terrain.
The same seems to apply for exploded vehicles except that they take hits and cannot move the extra 3".
Back to top Go down
Myrvn
Sybarite


Posts : 353
Join date : 2012-08-05

PostSubject: Re: Ramming / Tank Shock Question   Mon Aug 10 2015, 21:34

I'm with Void. Trying to surround hatches is a favorite tactic for me. Unfortunately, the Emergency Disembark comes up a bunch because of it. If there wasn't a difference between usig a door and not using a door, why would they differentiate in the Rules?
Back to top Go down
kourac31
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 116
Join date : 2013-03-29
Location : satellite realm

PostSubject: Re: Ramming / Tank Shock Question   Mon Aug 10 2015, 21:38

Anyway why do you want to wreck the raider to allow unit to charge? All our vehicles are open top so they are assault vehicles and allow to charge after disembarking.
Back to top Go down
TheGreatVoid
Slave
avatar

Posts : 6
Join date : 2015-08-10

PostSubject: Re: Ramming / Tank Shock Question   Mon Aug 10 2015, 21:58

Kourac: It was a bit of an absurd question and not necessarily a good idea. Although in rare situations it seems that you can squeeze out an extra 3 inches of movement this way.
Back to top Go down
 
Ramming / Tank Shock Question
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: