HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
RCZ
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 119
Join date : 2015-08-04
Location : ITALY, no ireland, WTF.

PostSubject: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Thu Aug 06 2015, 07:26

See title, not much more. One month ago, we cannot manage to decide (we had not the rulebook with us)
Back to top Go down
flakmonkey
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 333
Join date : 2013-03-05

PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Thu Aug 06 2015, 08:32

Gargantuan creatures are fearless...

_________________
"Whereas the duty of the Imperial Commander is either to seize or defend territory, the Dark Eldar make war only to steal. If, as a by-product of this, the are able to indulge their vile passion for murder, torture and other decadent acts, then they will joyfully do so, but this is not their primary goal"
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2936
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Thu Aug 06 2015, 08:33

No. Because those gigantic creatures are fearless. So Phantasm launcher won't work. But you can still decrease their leadership to use psychic shriek or stuff like that
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Thu Aug 06 2015, 09:50

@CptMetal wrote:
No. Because those gigantic creatures are fearless. So Phantasm launcher won't work. But you can still decrease their leadership to use psychic shriek or stuff like that

Which is actually a very effective way of dealing with them as it bypasses their Toughness and armour save and many do not have an invulnerable. They still get FNP though Sad

Casting Mirror of Minds with -5LD on a Wraithknight is about as amusing as 40k gets.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
flakmonkey
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 333
Join date : 2013-03-05

PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Thu Aug 06 2015, 10:05

@Count Adhemar wrote:
Casting Mirror of Minds with -5LD on a Wraithknight is about as amusing as 40k gets.

I read about this somewhere (either here or 1d4chan)

Has anyone ever actually pulled this hilarity off?
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2936
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Thu Aug 06 2015, 11:08

Psychic shriek would be enough. But I once read that someone here did this. I just can't recall who. He /she said it has basically been an instant death.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Thu Aug 06 2015, 11:20

@CptMetal wrote:
Psychic shriek would be enough. But I once read that someone here did this. I just can't recall who. He /she said it has basically been an instant death.

Psychic Shriek there is always a possibility of rolling well enough to survive, or even take no damage. With Mirror of Minds, once you reach that -5 LD it's automatic death if the power works.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Thu Aug 06 2015, 11:20

At -5, any model with wounds and LD in the game is dead when mirror of minds is successful as the power is rolled again and again until the target beats the shadowseer and D6+10 vs (max) D6+5 means the target can never win and thus will always die.

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3071
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Thu Aug 06 2015, 13:08

I haven't used a -5 Mirror of Minds on a WK, but I have done it on a freshly summoned Bloodthirster. Side note of caution: I thought for a brief second my opponent was going to deck me when this happened.
Back to top Go down
mrmagoo
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 325
Join date : 2014-12-02

PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Thu Aug 06 2015, 14:22

I have done a Laugh Of Sorrows on a WK with a -4 that killed it. It had the dual Wraith Cannons so no invulnerable save and He rolled an 11 on the test to roll below his leadership so he takes 5 wounds, Fails 4 of his FNP and it already had 2 wounds on him.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3071
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Thu Aug 06 2015, 18:49

Ld shenanigans are my favorite way of handling gargs and LOW characters.
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   Fri Aug 07 2015, 01:01

I shrieked logan grimnar to death the other day. It was debatable as he was in his chariot. Decided that you can allocate the "hit" from psychic shriek to the chariot but the hit doesn't do anything and since it has a ld value we figured it could be shrieked.

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?   

Back to top Go down
 
Do PGL or others Ld shenigans work on a gargantua elder?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: