HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Grotesquerie & additional rules questions

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Mercurius
Slave
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2015-05-29
Location : Pomerania District

PostSubject: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Wed Aug 05 2015, 23:58

1. The formation consists of 2 units of grots with a leader. If the leader is using a wwp he can only deepstrike with one of the units right? The other unit will need another haemy with a wwp to do the same?

2. If a raider jinks do the units inside shoot with full bs?

3. I am planning to use the Dark Artisan formation along with De CAD. How does zero ... (forgot the word) work? If I roll and win the initiative and start the 1st turn I just pass it and move straight to the opponents turn right. Then I roll for reserves and whatever gets in, gets in correct?
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 01:57

1. Yes you will need another HQ with a WWP
2. Jink does not affect passengers
3. I think you are referring to null deployment? In this instance, if you ever end a game turn with no models on the table then the game ends immediately and you opponent wins.

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 03:25

1. Yes, you need another HQ. (The Haemmy from the Scarlet Epicurean formation, or the HQ from an allied DE CAD, are good picks.)

2. Jink indeed doesn't affect passengers.

3. Null deployment is the word you're looking for, I think. For pure DE to do it, you need a Scalpel Squadron.
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2914
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 06:42

The other grotesques can deep Strike if they are in a Raider. But they will have to roll for scatter.
Back to top Go down
Mercurius
Slave
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2015-05-29
Location : Pomerania District

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 07:33

null deployment IS the phrase I was after... Very Happy

sooo... what is the point of that then? or how can this be used to our advantage?
Back to top Go down
flakmonkey
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 333
Join date : 2013-03-05

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 07:57

Prevents opponents from targeting your units.
Wastes their first turn.
Allows you to make decisions based upon their deployment.

But requires a heavy reliance on your reserve rolls.

_________________
"Whereas the duty of the Imperial Commander is either to seize or defend territory, the Dark Eldar make war only to steal. If, as a by-product of this, the are able to indulge their vile passion for murder, torture and other decadent acts, then they will joyfully do so, but this is not their primary goal"
Back to top Go down
lelith
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 334
Join date : 2014-05-27
Location : FAR EAST

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 08:11

If you are the second to go, Scalpel Squadron formation presents you the perfect null deployment (the formation deep strikes in Turn 1 thus there will be no model in the top of first turn).

I'm also planning to use my AV14 building (Looted Imperial Bunker & Plasma Obliterator) as the only model in my first turn - should avoid the melta drop though. The bunker also confers the reserve reliability by Comms Relay with effectively low points of 75 pts.

_________________
Eldar Alliance: Kabal of the Wraithkind / Craftworld Iyanden / Masque of the Veiled Path / Ynnari Aetheriders (Log)
Slaanesh Force: Chaos Daemons / Emperor's Children (both 30k & 40k) / Heretek Metalica
Back to top Go down
Mercurius
Slave
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2015-05-29
Location : Pomerania District

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 08:25

Ok, can we analyse a scenario where this would work?

to pull it off I would need to roll who starts and give initiative away to my opponent had I wont it right?

or the opponent would have to steal the initiative from me.

and when do I announce my null deployment?
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2914
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 09:18

You don't announce it. When it's your turn to deploy you simply put nothing on the board.

Whose turn has to end with me having nothing on the board to loose automatically?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7132
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 09:53

@CptMetal wrote:
You don't announce it. When it's your turn to deploy you simply put nothing on the board.

Whose turn has to end with me having nothing on the board to loose automatically?

The game turn. So if you go first then at the end of your opponents first turn you lose if you have no models on the table. If you go second, it's the end of your own first turn. That's why Null Deployment is risky if you're going first and probably should be avoided unless you've got some very good LOS blocking terrain on the table to hide stuff behind and guarantee they can't be destroyed turn 1.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2914
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 11:05

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 13:05

@Count Adhemar wrote:
@CptMetal wrote:
You don't announce it. When it's your turn to deploy you simply put nothing on the board.

Whose turn has to end with me having nothing on the board to loose automatically?

The game turn. So if you go first then at the end of your opponents first turn you lose if you have no models on the table. If you go second, it's the end of your own first turn. That's why Null Deployment is risky if you're going first and probably should be avoided unless you've got some very good LOS blocking terrain on the table to hide stuff behind and guarantee they can't be destroyed turn 1.

If you go first, you can always put more stuff on the table. (Going first gives you the ability to shoot without being shot at, or close with the enemy, which is the point of Null Deployment anyway.) Null Deployment isn't something you HAVE to do, but it's a nice option to have to keep from getting shot off the table before even rolling a die. (And might give you a chance to do the same in reverse.)
Back to top Go down
Mercurius
Slave
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2015-05-29
Location : Pomerania District

PostSubject: Re: Grotesquerie & additional rules questions   Thu Aug 06 2015, 13:45

Oviously it is not something I have to do but I want to understand the mechanics before I go play a game and lose on turn one Very Happy thx for the clarifications
Back to top Go down
 
Grotesquerie & additional rules questions
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: