HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Fortress of Redemption

Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Fortress of Redemption   Fri Jul 31 2015, 01:23

So...I have one, as a prize from a campaign years ago.

Is there any viable way to use the damn thing with Dark Eldar, you think?
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2914
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Fri Jul 31 2015, 04:29

Like fluff or tactic?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Fri Jul 31 2015, 05:03

Tactics. I play Prophets of Flesh; we stole a flipping planet, so a building doesn't require that much song and dance.

Unfortunately, even in last edition I had to struggle to make it not suck.
Back to top Go down
lelith
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 334
Join date : 2014-05-27
Location : FAR EAST

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Fri Jul 31 2015, 05:45

I tried it once (using the one in my local club) and its Krakstorm missile was impressive (battle cannon with Barrage). I also love a large BLOS from its long wall. These days, though, I use either (Looted) Imperial Bunker or Plasma Obliterator.

Also our RRD has no fortification slot, so that will be another problem (I prefer to use CAD anyway)

_________________
Eldar Alliance: Kabal of the Wraithkind / Craftworld Iyanden / Masque of the Veiled Path / Ynnari Aetheriders (Log)
Slaanesh Force: Chaos Daemons / Emperor's Children (both 30k & 40k) / Heretek Metalica
Back to top Go down
Vasara
Incognito assault marine
avatar

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Vantaa

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Fri Jul 31 2015, 07:23

Use WWP Archon to Deep strike it-> look your opponents face Very Happy

It makes a good terrain piece as it blocks LOS quite good.

_________________
New Dark Eldar in Tournaments: Wins: 17 Draws: 2 Losses: 8
ETC 2013 DE/Eldar player (4th)
ETC 2014 Coach (16th)
ETC 2015 Captain, Eldar/DE (10th)
Painting blog
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2914
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Fri Jul 31 2015, 10:05

That's a hilarious idea! But you should convert it, to make it more dark Eldar style. Could it be the core for a foot slogging army?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Fri Jul 31 2015, 13:02

@Vasara wrote:
Use WWP Archon to Deep strike it-> look your opponents face Very Happy

That's...so evil! I'm doing this.
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Fri Jul 31 2015, 13:42

Fairly sure you can't do that...

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
dumpeal
Wych
avatar

Posts : 845
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Fri Jul 31 2015, 14:55

*marines arrive to the planet. Got blasted by the Fortress*

"Lieutenant! Bring me the scout. He failed to inform us about that fortress"
*later*
"...But, sir!! There was no Fortress, I swear by the Emperor..."
*Bolter shot*


WWP Fortress of Redemption: Because Dais of Destruction is too common
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 531
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Fri Jul 31 2015, 18:16

@Massaen wrote:
Fairly sure you can't do that...

_________________
20,000 Dark Eldar
25,000 Eldar
7,000 Mechanicum
3,500 Harlequin
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 00:12

@Massaen wrote:
Fairly sure you can't do that...

You absolutely can.

Archon joins building in Reserve, granting it the Deep Strike rule. (Since all special rules interact with building as though they were vehicles.)

This is happening. Only thing left to do is figure out what I'm putting in it.
Back to top Go down
lelith
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 334
Join date : 2014-05-27
Location : FAR EAST

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 00:22

That seems odd...(fluffwise, at least)

Anyway if it's possible, I'd rather deep strike Imperial Bunker like DE ver. Drop Pod! AV14/wide firepoint/assault vehicle/precision DS? YES bounce

_________________
Eldar Alliance: Kabal of the Wraithkind / Craftworld Iyanden / Masque of the Veiled Path / Ynnari Aetheriders (Log)
Slaanesh Force: Chaos Daemons / Emperor's Children (both 30k & 40k) / Heretek Metalica
Back to top Go down
CurstAlchemist
Wych
avatar

Posts : 867
Join date : 2015-05-01
Location : Las Vegas

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 01:00

@Jimsolo wrote:
@Massaen wrote:
Fairly sure you can't do that...

You absolutely can.

Archon joins building in Reserve, granting it the Deep Strike rule.  (Since all special rules interact with building as though they were vehicles.)

This is happening.  Only thing left to do is figure out what I'm putting in it.

While I like the idea, I just have to ask, can you place a building in reserve?

Rulebook says:
Quote :
Buildings of all types use aspects of the Transport vehicle rules. The main difference between buildings and actual vehicles is that they can’t move, they can be controlled by either side and units from either side can embark upon them.

The exemptions do not say that it can't be placed in reserve. Only that they can't move. So in theory you can deepstrike it, if you consider deepstriking not moving.

But as it is a building, can you still say it is a unit, the rule book states units placed in reserve:
Quote :
When deploying their armies, players can choose not to deploy some of their units, keeping them as Reserves to arrive later.

I think I would have to side with anyone arguing against you being able to do this (though it is very amusing and clever) do to it being a building and not a unit.


Last edited by CurstAlchemist on Sat Aug 01 2015, 01:02; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 01:01

@lelith wrote:
That seems odd...(fluffwise, at least)

Anyway if it's possible, I'd rather deep strike Imperial Bunker like DE ver. Drop Pod! AV14/wide firepoint/assault vehicle/precision DS? YES bounce

Well, YEAH! But the whole point is that I already have the Fortress; I'm just trying to figure out how to make it worth taking! Very Happy

EDIT: edited for clarity.


Last edited by Jimsolo on Sat Aug 01 2015, 01:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
CurstAlchemist
Wych
avatar

Posts : 867
Join date : 2015-05-01
Location : Las Vegas

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 01:03

Oh I understand, I was just checking the rules to see if it was justifiable to deepstrike it, it was a fun thought.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 01:04

Sorry, was responding to the one above you.

@CurstAlchemist wrote:
@Jimsolo wrote:
@Massaen wrote:
Fairly sure you can't do that...

You absolutely can.

Archon joins building in Reserve, granting it the Deep Strike rule.  (Since all special rules interact with building as though they were vehicles.)

This is happening.  Only thing left to do is figure out what I'm putting in it.

While I like the idea, I just have to ask, can you place a building in reserve?

Rulebook says:
Quote :
Buildings of all types use aspects of the Transport vehicle rules. The main difference between buildings and actual vehicles is that they can’t move, they can be controlled by either side and units from either side can embark upon them.

The exemptions do not say that it can't be placed in reserve. Only that they can't move. So in theory you can deepstrike it, if you consider deepstriking not moving.

But as it is a building, can you still say it is a unit, the rule book states units placed in reserve:
Quote :
When deploying their armies, players can choose not to deploy some of their units,
keeping them as Reserves to arrive later.

I think I would have to side with anyone arguing against you being able to do this (though it is very amusing and clever) do to it being a building and not a unit.


Under 'attacking a building' in the building rules, it also tells us that buildings are affected by all special rules as though they were vehicles. Which means they can go into Reserves and Deep Strike so long as they have the DS rule (which WWP gives them, courtesy of the archon).
Back to top Go down
Demantiae
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 261
Join date : 2015-01-07

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 02:19

This is so funny! Are there any hard rules about the sizes and shapes of buildings? Can you WWP in a Great Wall of China and just pen the other guy in his deployment zone with impassible terrain? Only put doors on one side so he can't enter from his side. Be funny to pull that off against a really obnoxious player.

_________________
------------------------------
The Bone Flower
------------------------------
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 04:49

I'm not aware of any buildings that long, lol, but I fully plan on dropping the FOR on top of an objective.
Back to top Go down
FuelDrop
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1392
Join date : 2015-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 06:23

Deep strike in Macro-Cannon Aquila Strongpoint with full loadout of blasterborn and other shooty units. Add Void Shields and other fun upgrades to the AV 15 large/medium multiple part building with with Mighty Bulwark.

Fire 2 Strength D AP 1 Large Blasts at Archon's BS 7. (alternative fire 10/7/5 ap 1/4/6 apocalyptic mega-blast that hits everything in a line, including flyers!)

Fire 4 heavy bolters.

Fire Blasterborn through fire points.

Unload remaining troops up to battlements.

Drink opponents tears.
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2914
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 09:34

I'd convert something to make it look dark Eldar ish. The opponent is much more likely to allow it that way. And why dropping something from lesser species?
Back to top Go down
FuelDrop
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1392
Join date : 2015-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 09:42

@CptMetal wrote:
I'd convert something to make it look dark Eldar ish. The opponent is much more likely to allow it that way. And why dropping something from lesser species?

Irony?

Beyond that I got nothing. Lack of non-imperial fortification options is annoying.
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2914
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 10:30

Scratch built it then. No irony. I'm German.
Back to top Go down
Demantiae
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 261
Join date : 2015-01-07

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 11:47

Scratch build one that looks beefy and practice your best persuasion skills to have your opponent let you use it. Then surprise him by unfolding the thing ("all those thick tightly packed walls were hinged. you didn't see that?") into a long piece of "YOU SHALL NOT PASS!" terrain. Still all those shields and guns on it and save it for when you face some chump with an Imperial Knight list. "Oh sure take those Knights, just let me take this fortification so I stand a chance". BAM you just DS and surrounded his Knights by forcefield protected walls. "Objectives you say? Good luck with that!".

I see your cheese ball and raise you a cheese cannon!

_________________
------------------------------
The Bone Flower
------------------------------
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 13:57

You can't do it. Deep strike counts as moving at combat speed - something the fortification can't do

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
CurstAlchemist
Wych
avatar

Posts : 867
Join date : 2015-05-01
Location : Las Vegas

PostSubject: Re: Fortress of Redemption   Sat Aug 01 2015, 15:42

The Deep Strike rules states:

Quote :
In that turn’s Shooting phase, these units can fire (or Run, Turbo-boost or move Flat Out) as normal, and count as having moved in the previous Movement phase. Vehicles, except for Walkers, count as having moved at Combat Speed (even Immobilised vehicles). This can affect the number of weapons they can fire with their full Ballistic Skill.

It says counts as not that it actually moved. As it doesn't state that it actually moved, only that it counts as having moved for what can be done on the turn it arrived, I can see it being argued that it is doable (Note you better be very persuasive and/or have an opponent that is willing to reward your creativity by allowing you to do this; in the case of the above mentioned Knight cheese I doubt that knight player will allow you as most who do that kind of game care only about winning, at least around here that is the case). From a Lore perspective however I don't agree as everything I've read and seen about webway portals says that the units/vehicles/ect. are moving through the portal to the other side and thus have to beable to move. They aren't warping them in like Warp Spiders and Terminators.

As for not converting, the Dark Eldar are Pirates, I doubt they would care about using an asset like that to strike the enemy, they would see it as more disposible I would think. No need to recover it unless you are going for the ultimate mindfuck. Now you see, now it smashes your face, now it is gone when relief forces arrive.

It is an interesting idea for the ultimate flank denial tool, if you have an opponent that will allow you to do it.
Back to top Go down
 
Fortress of Redemption
Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: