HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Disembarking and assaulting

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Nariaklizhar
Sybarite


Posts : 366
Join date : 2012-04-08
Location : California

PostSubject: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 15 2015, 07:00

From a Raider, I'm pretty sure that you can move 6, disembark 6, and assault 2-12. I played a guy the other day that swore raiders could move 12 in the movement phase and still assault because its an assault vehicle. Assault vehicle just means you can assault after moving, moving 6. He wasn't able to prove this in the rule book. I'm the dark eldar player in this game BTW, so it doesn't benifit him at all arguing this. I think he must be thinking previous editions. If someone could just point me in the right direction with a page number, that would be helpful. Thank you

Also, which one of our units could potentially have the longest assault threat range? Transports like raiders,, skyboards, or reavers? My understanding is that they would all be the same
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2871
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 15 2015, 08:16

I can't point you to the pages because I own the German one but it is indeed 6 inches not 12 as far as I know.
Back to top Go down
Vasara
Incognito assault marine
avatar

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Vantaa

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 15 2015, 08:24

Raider: Turn 3" move 6"
Troops: Disembark 6" Assault 2-12, remember fleet if you have.

-> T1 assault.

_________________
New Dark Eldar in Tournaments: Wins: 17 Draws: 2 Losses: 8
ETC 2013 DE/Eldar player (4th)
ETC 2014 Coach (16th)
ETC 2015 Captain, Eldar/DE (10th)
Painting blog
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2267
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 15 2015, 11:30

I thought the turn to gain distance was gone from 7th

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7070
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 15 2015, 11:36

@Massaen wrote:
I thought the turn to gain distance was gone from 7th

Not really. It just says you always pivot from the centre of the model "to prevent it from accidentally moving further than intended or allowed".

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2267
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 15 2015, 14:08

Yeah - I took that to be movement is now displacement so no part of the model could end more then the distance desired from the closest point of the model prior to moving

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7070
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 15 2015, 14:14

@Massaen wrote:
Yeah - I took that to be movement is now displacement so no part of the model could end more then the distance desired from the closest point of the model prior to moving

That way lies The Age of Sigmar madness!

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
mrmagoo
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 325
Join date : 2014-12-02

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 15 2015, 15:36

@Nariaklizhar wrote:


Also, which one of our units could potentially have the longest assault threat range? Transports like raiders,, skyboards, or reavers? My understanding is that they would all be the same

This is strictly talking charge range and not effectiveness once in combat.

They are roughly all going to be about the same.  Raiders having a slight bonus over the others mainly due to the turn they can make to sneak in the extra few inches.   Not sure if you can get a full 3' unless you are actually installing and counting the PROW.  Which I don't, I count that as a decoration and say that before every game.

Order of potential.
Raiders 3' Turn, 6' move, 6' Disembark, 12' Charge. (total 27')
Hellions/Skyboard 12' Move, 12' Charge (Total 24')
Reavers 12' Move, 12' Charge (Total 24')

Raiders and Hellions also have the benefit of fleet while reavers don't.  This gives a big advantage to them over reavers when calculating Charge distance.  

Now if you want to talk effectiveness.  I would put Reavers over Hellions every time and it really depends on what you put in the raider.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 15 2015, 22:56

I'd put everything in the codex ahead of hellions...
Back to top Go down
Vasara
Incognito assault marine
avatar

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Vantaa

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Thu Jul 16 2015, 08:24

Reavers are not slowed by terrain. Everything from raider is. So are Hellions after 12" move.

Exceptions from Warlord traits and similar...

_________________
New Dark Eldar in Tournaments: Wins: 17 Draws: 2 Losses: 8
ETC 2013 DE/Eldar player (4th)
ETC 2014 Coach (16th)
ETC 2015 Captain, Eldar/DE (10th)
Painting blog
Back to top Go down
Talos
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 161
Join date : 2011-09-15
Location : Malmö

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Thu Jul 16 2015, 10:52

Howling Banshees in raider
Raiders 3 Turn, 6' move, 6 Disembark, 15 Charge. (total 30)
Back to top Go down
http://www.olasart.se
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7070
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Thu Jul 16 2015, 11:41

Harlequins with Rising Crescendo:
Raiders 3" Turn, 6" move, 6" Disembark, D6" (rerollable) Run, 2D6" (rerollable) Charge - Total 18-33" charge

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2267
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Thu Jul 16 2015, 12:39

But only from turn 2 onwards count!

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Phayze
Slave
avatar

Posts : 8
Join date : 2014-07-04

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Sun Jul 19 2015, 19:38

Yeah it's in the transport vehicles section of the brb. You can't legally disembark without a wonky special rule unless the vehicle moved 6"or less. I WISH we could move 12" and jump out. Just like I wish we had Arial Assault back.
Back to top Go down
thenick18
Hellion


Posts : 76
Join date : 2014-02-01

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Sun Jul 19 2015, 20:54

I don't see how you get an extra 3" from turning the raider. When moving you use the some point of the model to measure the distance traveled. If you measure from the center of the model, then you measure 6" and place the center of the model there. If you measure from the front or back of the model same thing, you place the front or back of the model 6" from its former position. No part of the model should travel further than 6" or whatever distance you are moving.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Sun Jul 19 2015, 22:13

You measure from the center of the model, move 6 inches, and then pivot, which the rules allow. (Or pivot then move, it's up to you.)
Back to top Go down
Phayze
Slave
avatar

Posts : 8
Join date : 2014-07-04

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Mon Jul 20 2015, 00:14

You DO use the same point when traveling, but you don't measure from that point when disembarking. After you pivot, your hull is 3" closer that when you moved before. Same thing applies to shooting. You might not be in range with your weapon at one angle, but can reach it with the 3 extra inches pivoting provides.
Back to top Go down
Vasara
Incognito assault marine
avatar

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Vantaa

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Mon Jul 20 2015, 06:59

Lets borrow this topic to a situation we had a week ago:

Ork Mega nobs were flatout'ing with one hulpoint Battle Wagon in to ruins. The battlewagon was immobilized by the ruins and therefore wrecked. Do the Meganobs get to charge in assault phase since the wagon is open topped? We decided not to allow charge although we didn't find anything in the rulebook that disallowed it.

_________________
New Dark Eldar in Tournaments: Wins: 17 Draws: 2 Losses: 8
ETC 2013 DE/Eldar player (4th)
ETC 2014 Coach (16th)
ETC 2015 Captain, Eldar/DE (10th)
Painting blog
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7070
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Mon Jul 20 2015, 07:14

I can't see anything to disallow a charge and, probably more importantly, you are specifically allowed to assault from a destroyed assault vehicle if it's destroyed in the enemy turn so why wouldn't you be allowed to do so in your own turn?

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Mon Jul 20 2015, 13:01

They should absolutely be allowed to charge.

Funny thing about the assault vehicle rule. RAW it lets you charge in your OPPONENT's assault phase if it gets shot open from hull point loss.
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 522
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Tue Jul 28 2015, 23:31

Page 157, "Assault Vehicle" states you can charge after being wrecked.

Page 88, "...Open-topped Transports have the Assault Vehicle special rule."
Back to top Go down
JackKnife01
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 358
Join date : 2013-11-16
Location : Planning my next attack.

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 29 2015, 03:32

Interesting I was told you cannot even disembark once a vehicles has moved
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 522
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 29 2015, 05:06

I'll even add that pivoting does not count as moving either. So pivot, move, profit.

_________________
20,000 Dark Eldar
25,000 Eldar
7,000 Mechanicum
3,500 Harlequin
4000 Grey Knights
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2871
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking and assaulting   Wed Jul 29 2015, 09:35

With a Raider you have a 14-24 thread range to get into close combat. Even without pivoting shenanigans.
Back to top Go down
 
Disembarking and assaulting
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: