HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Fatespinner
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2015-06-16
Location : Troy, NY

PostSubject: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   Sat Jun 27 2015, 06:06

If I understand the rules for 'Look Out Sir!' correctly, the LOS roll may be made either before or after a wound is allocated to a model. If it is made after the wound is allocated (and thus saves have been failed), then the new 'target' does not get a save.

If that is correct, and ICs pass a LOS on 2+, then does that mean that an Archon w/Shadow Field in a squad of Kabalites can roll his 2++ and then make a 2+ LOS roll for any failed saves in order to allocate the unsaved wounds to his squad, thus preserving the Shadow Field for future use? Or does failing the initial save count as an "unsaved wound allocated to the model" and LOS just lets another model take the hit instead?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7189
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   Sat Jun 27 2015, 07:26

@Fatespinner wrote:
If I understand the rules for 'Look Out Sir!' correctly, the LOS roll may be made either before or after a wound is allocated to a model.

It is only made after a wound is allocated, not before. So it's always before any saves are rolled.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Fatespinner
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2015-06-16
Location : Troy, NY

PostSubject: Re: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   Sat Jun 27 2015, 07:28

Ah, so you can't fail the 2++ and THEN make the LOS? You have to take the 2+ LOS first and then the intervening minion can use his saves (if any)?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7189
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   Sat Jun 27 2015, 07:29

Correct.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Fatespinner
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2015-06-16
Location : Troy, NY

PostSubject: Re: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   Sat Jun 27 2015, 07:54

Thanks for the clarification. Looks like my group has been doing LOS wrong this whole time.
Back to top Go down
clever handle
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 122
Join date : 2013-07-10
Location : Right behind you

PostSubject: Re: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   Wed Jul 08 2015, 17:36

when the saves are the same - I.e a marine character w/ 3+ in a unit of 3+ saves, many groups will simply roll all the saves and once you start having to allocate unsaved wounds to the character, simply start rolling look out sirs. This is technically not correct as you know the outcome of how many unsaved wounds are in the pool (and thus if the character will survive or not) prior to making the choice, but many groups allow this style of play as it can speed up the game.

A more correct (though still technically incorrect) method of applying this technique would be to, prior to rolling, declare that you intend to use the LOS mechanic for any unsaved wounds allocated to the character, then rolling the group of saves, then using LOS to attempt to bounce as many as you can... Again this is still technically incorrect per the written rules, but ultimately achieving consensus on how you want the game mechanics to work with your opponent is more important than blindly following the words on a page.
Back to top Go down
Phayze
Slave
avatar

Posts : 8
Join date : 2014-07-04

PostSubject: Re: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   Mon Jul 20 2015, 00:17

Yeah ^this^ is wrong. You don't roll a pool of wounds and LOS at the same time, you declare to look out sir, roll to see if it's successful, then if it is that model keeps making saves until it dies, then the character gets to choose to make another LOS to another model and repeat the process.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   Mon Jul 20 2015, 00:32

No, that's incorrect.  You need to roll LOS! for each wound. You can't roll once and then keep rolling saves on the second model until it dies.
Back to top Go down
clever handle
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 122
Join date : 2013-07-10
Location : Right behind you

PostSubject: Re: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   Tue Jul 21 2015, 17:26

@Phayze wrote:
Yeah ^this^ is wrong. You don't roll a pool of wounds and LOS at the same time, you declare to look out sir, roll to see if it's successful, then if it is that model keeps making saves until it dies, then the character gets to choose to make another LOS to another model and repeat the process.

from my post.... "this is technically not correct..." and "again thi sis still technically incorrect per the written rules"

I put a fair many disclaimers in place that this application wasn't correct. However if you have permission of your opponent anything goes really. Remember the rules are a guideline unless you're at an actual "competitive event" ...
Back to top Go down
lipigash
Slave


Posts : 4
Join date : 2014-04-25

PostSubject: Re: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   Thu Oct 15 2015, 14:09

so, i think i misunderstanding the rule, you have to roll the LOS to reallocate the wound, and then the model who receive it now can roll the save??

example, a wound from shooting comes to my archon, then to avoid use the shadow field i attempt to LOS on one of the incubi on the squad, if a i succed the wound is allocated to the incubi and then he roll its save?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7189
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   Thu Oct 15 2015, 14:19

@lipigash wrote:
example, a wound from shooting comes to my archon, then to avoid use the shadow field i attempt to LOS on one of the incubi on the squad, if a i succed the wound is allocated to the incubi and then he roll its save?

Correct.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!   

Back to top Go down
 
Keeping the Shadow Field Alive!
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: