HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 MC cover in ruins

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Bibitybopitybacon
Wych
avatar

Posts : 592
Join date : 2012-07-01

PostSubject: MC cover in ruins   27th May 2015, 22:08

Hello! Title says it all! Does a MC get cover from being in ruins, or does it need 25% cover?
Ty!
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7069
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: MC cover in ruins   27th May 2015, 23:06

Off the top of my head, only vehicles require 25% cover. Anything else gets it simply by being in the ruins.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Bibitybopitybacon
Wych
avatar

Posts : 592
Join date : 2012-07-01

PostSubject: Re: MC cover in ruins   27th May 2015, 23:16

@Count Adhemar wrote:
Off the top of my head, only vehicles require 25% cover. Anything else gets it simply by being in the ruins.
Awesome! Ty!
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 521
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: MC cover in ruins   3rd June 2015, 03:47

This is true

_________________
20,000 Dark Eldar
25,000 Eldar
7,000 Mechanicum
3,500 Harlequin
4000 Grey Knights
Back to top Go down
Scrz
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 342
Join date : 2015-01-23

PostSubject: Re: MC cover in ruins   3rd June 2015, 08:35

A model gets the cover save if it is either obscured 25% behind the terrain or if it is in the terrain. For instance standing on a level of a ruin or on the base if it has one.
Pro tip: Model your ruins without bases ( at least on the outside ) to prevent, let's say, a wraithknight from  exploiting that "toe i cover" load of grox dung that is still happening for some reason.
Back to top Go down
Psylynt
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 41
Join date : 2015-02-04
Location : York Pa

PostSubject: Re: MC cover in ruins   4th June 2015, 02:36

Yes, but even infantry need to be 25% obscured to gain a cover save. Just being in a cover is not good enough. Ruins state you do not need to be 25% obscured, Craters are the same, same with Rubble.

But things like walls and even a defense line you need to be 25% obscured to get the save.
Back to top Go down
Klaivex Charondyr
Wych
avatar

Posts : 918
Join date : 2014-09-08

PostSubject: Re: MC cover in ruins   4th June 2015, 08:10

Quote :
Pro tip: Model your ruins without bases ( at least on the outside ) to prevent, let's say, a wraithknight from exploiting that "toe i cover" load of grox dung that is still happening for some reason.

Which also prevents other units from claiming the cover save.
Also the WK can move up to 12" and has move through cover, so he can easily reach the top anyways.
And if you build it so that it is impossibe to stand on top you also deny cover to your MCs and possibly even cause your flyers to crash.
Back to top Go down
Scrz
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 342
Join date : 2015-01-23

PostSubject: Re: MC cover in ruins   4th June 2015, 11:49

@Klaivex Charondyr wrote:
Which also prevents other units from claiming the cover save.
Indeed. I see that as an added benefit. No one should be able to claim cover saves from hanging out in front of a structure.
@Klaivex Charondyr wrote:
Also the WK can move up to 12" and has move through cover, so he can easily reach the top anyways.
If he can fit on the level, then that is fair. It depends on the actual ruin if he can or not, and when he is there, he is occupying it and will most likely not leave room for another unit.
@Klaivex Charondyr wrote:
And if you build it so that it is impossibe to stand on top you also deny cover to your MCs and possibly even cause your flyers to crash.
My MCs should follow the same rule as my opponents MC. Of course the base size of our MCs are not as big as a knights, and neither are the actual models. Modeling your ruins to make it impossible to place a model on top of it is not part of my pro tip however.

@Psylynt wrote:
Yes, but even infantry need to be 25% obscured to gain a cover save. Just being in a cover is not good enough. Ruins state you do not need to be 25% obscured, Craters are the same, same with Rubble.

But things like walls and even a defense line you need to be 25% obscured to get the save.  
This seems to be leftover thinking from 6th ed when there was area terrain? Now we have 'terrain types' with specific rules pr type. Your models also relate to the terrain as being 'in' or 'in cover behind'. What save you get from being 'in' ( if any ), or 'in cover behind' depends on the rules for that specific terrain type. You can't be 'in' a wall of a defense line, ( unless you had a teleport mishap tongue ), since it has no base or levels. So you would need to be 'in cover behind' A.K.A. 25% obscured.
Or at least that is how I read the rules... I could be wrong?
Back to top Go down
Myrvn
Sybarite


Posts : 353
Join date : 2012-08-05

PostSubject: Re: MC cover in ruins   4th June 2015, 16:58

Doesn't the rulebook describe what "in and behind" means? Should have a minimum 25% obscurement. If i recall, only ruins ignore this as per the main book rules. There are data latest in the back that provide other alternate rules.

Our club has a standing house rule that forests are all Copse data slate and then operate just like the 3-6th ed forests...

And I thought gargantuan creatures were not impacted by the ruin/copse ignoring the 25% obscurement. I'll have to look at that as my WK may have been cheating himself for several games...
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 521
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: MC cover in ruins   4th June 2015, 18:11

forests and craters also ignore 25 percent. You just need to be in it unless its a vehicle.

_________________
20,000 Dark Eldar
25,000 Eldar
7,000 Mechanicum
3,500 Harlequin
4000 Grey Knights
Back to top Go down
 
MC cover in ruins
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: