HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Mandrakes

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
Dyemor
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 42
Join date : 2015-03-31

PostSubject: Re: Mandrakes   Mon Jun 01 2015, 15:46

@The Shredder wrote:

2) Perhaps more importantly, they don't fit the core concept of most of my DE armies - i.e. mobility and, to a lesser degree, range. For such a fragile army, I find the ability to redeploy at a moment's notice invaluable.

At the moment, my DE army is based around Coven formations, the core of which is a Corpsethief Claw and a Dark Artisan which takes up nearly 1000pts on their own. Giving my opponent additional targets that they have to target instead of them on Turn 1 will I think be useful, even if they get wiped out.

They'll have to either use their ignore cover weapons on them as well or if I get to place them in cover, they'll end up with a 2+ cover save thanks to their Stealth+Shrouded Smile
Back to top Go down
http://www.rebellion.co.uk
aurynn
Incubi


Posts : 1626
Join date : 2013-04-23

PostSubject: Re: Mandrakes   Tue Jun 02 2015, 06:43

Range of the drakes is not an issue. You WANT them to be close enough to shoot, but far enough to assault. You WANT them to get shot at. :-)
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2934
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Mandrakes   Tue Jun 02 2015, 11:26

They can move through cover workout penalties. They are fast enough.
Back to top Go down
Psylynt
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 41
Join date : 2015-02-04
Location : York Pa

PostSubject: Re: Mandrakes   Wed Jun 10 2015, 19:29

I have been know to put 4 in with my archon and deep strike WWP with them for some shinanigams, disembarking in backfield cover or objective makes them a small, but cheap unit that has decent firepower with soul fire that's almost always going to have a 2+ cover save
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Mandrakes   Wed Jun 10 2015, 19:37

I thought our characters couldn't join Mandrakes before deployment - since they don't have infiltrate?
Back to top Go down
Psylynt
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 41
Join date : 2015-02-04
Location : York Pa

PostSubject: Re: Mandrakes   Thu Jun 11 2015, 03:14

They just cannot infiltrate with them. Just because it can infiltrate, doesn't mean it has too.
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Mandrakes   Thu Jun 11 2015, 10:14

"An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of
Infiltrators during deployment."
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Mandrakes   Thu Jun 11 2015, 10:54

@The Shredder wrote:
"An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of
Infiltrators during deployment."

That seems to generally be interpreted as cannot join an unit with the infiltrate special rule that is infiltrating.

There may be a point about timing too, during deployment being the physical act of infiltrating them onto the battlefield, as opposed to joining the unit before deployment and it being held in reserve

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7207
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Mandrakes   Thu Jun 11 2015, 11:04

@The_Burning_Eye wrote:
@The Shredder wrote:
"An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of
Infiltrators during deployment."

That seems to generally be interpreted as cannot join an unit with the infiltrate special rule that is infiltrating.

There may be a point about timing too, during deployment being the physical act of infiltrating them onto the battlefield, as opposed to joining the unit before deployment and it being held in reserve

The BRB FAQ has added the words "and vice versa" to the end of the sentence quoted above and I think that makes it pretty clear that you cannot put an IC with your Mandrakes prior to the start of the game unless it also has the Infiltrate rule.

Note also that Infiltrators always deploy last, even if they're not using their Infiltrate ability.

Quote :
Units that contain at least one model with this special rule are deployed last, after all other units (friend and foe) have been deployed.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Mandrakes   

Back to top Go down
 
Mandrakes
Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: