HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2120
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Fri Apr 17 2015, 20:00

So... The more and more I look at the Tantalus the more I like it... For a Pure DE army (With NEW Eldar coming out and LOOKING AMAZING for allies, a Detachment of 2 Farseers and 1 Warlock it can give us amazing Psychic support along with the new bikes and Wraithknight turning into a Gargantuan MC). SO I cant Decided to Get it or wait for Eldar Allies?

Im using currently 3-4 Ravages per game.

When I compare the to together:

2x Ravager: 220pts
6 HP's
AV 11/11/10
18 shots
2 Targets

Tantalus: 215pts
5 HP's
AV 12/12/10
Flicker Field
Aether Sails
12 Shots
Scythevans (Its old Reavers Bladevans but d6 hits at S7 ap2 Armorbane)
16 Capacity Transport


Pros/Cons
5 HP's vs 4 Hps
1 Target vs 2 Targets
18 shots Vs 12 shots
5++ vs No 5++ (Both can get NS and jink)
Transport vs No Transport (most likely never use)
AV 11 vs AV 12
* THE BIG ONE - 1 Spot in FoC vs 2 In FoC

So the BIGGEST question... Is 1 more Armor and a 5++ for 5pts less and 1 slot taken worth Losing 2 Targets to shoot and 6 Shots?

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points


Last edited by amishprn86 on Sat Apr 18 2015, 08:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Fri Apr 17 2015, 23:12

If you're comparing it just to two Ravagers, the Tantalus is the hands-down-no-thought-required winner in my book.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2120
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Sat Apr 18 2015, 01:58

@Jimsolo wrote:
If you're comparing it just to two Ravagers, the Tantalus is the hands-down-no-thought-required winner in my book.

For me the only reason for it is to replace Dis Cannon Ravagers.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Sat Apr 18 2015, 02:44

Then I would come up with what unit you'd transport, and factor that into your considerations.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2120
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Sat Apr 18 2015, 04:36

@Jimsolo wrote:
Then I would come up with what unit you'd transport, and factor that into your considerations.

? Ravagers dont transport Im using it as a Ravager type... I dont want to transport with it lol.. It will 100% always be Empty for me.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Sat Apr 18 2015, 05:31

Then Ravagers.  If you pay points for a transport you don't put guys in, you're wasting points.  That's just my take on it.

Edit: The biggest benefit of the Tantalus, in my opinion, is its status as the largest and most durable transport in our army.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2120
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Sat Apr 18 2015, 08:34

@Jimsolo wrote:
Then Ravagers.  If you pay points for a transport you don't put guys in, you're wasting points.  That's just my take on it.

Edit: The biggest benefit of the Tantalus, in my opinion, is its status as the largest and most durable transport in our army.  

I dont feel its a waste at all.

You even said it
@Jimsolo wrote:
If you're comparing it just to two Ravagers, the Tantalus is the hands-down-no-thought-required winner in my book.

I dont need to transport something in it to make it worth its points.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Sat Apr 18 2015, 15:28

Sorry for the misunderstanding: when I made the winner comment, I was assuming you'd be putting something in it. Very Happy If you're planning on running it empty, I reverse my recommendation. In a gunboat, having your firepower split across two vessels will be a decided advantage.
Back to top Go down
Calyptra
Wych
avatar

Posts : 710
Join date : 2013-03-25
Location : Boston

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Sat Apr 18 2015, 16:00

Where are the rules for the Tantalus? How "legal" is it? I'm very confused by the Forge World stuff.

_________________
Dark Eldar plog: Drug-Crazed Space Elves
Vampire Counts plog: Bat Country
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Sat Apr 18 2015, 18:16

One of the Apocalypse books, I believe. However, it is completely legal for normal 40k play.
Back to top Go down
Tittliewinks22
Hellion


Posts : 89
Join date : 2014-02-11
Location : Florida

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Tue Apr 21 2015, 15:06

A couple things you got wrong.
Scythevanes are d6 s7 ap2 vs models with a toughness. Against vehicles its a single s7 ap2 armorbane.
Also tantalus can use no go slot if taken as a DT for a court of archon. So basically a 10point tax to use no FOC slot.

If you are taking it empty its worse than two ravagers.
I've never fielded my tantalus empty. A deticated CC unit with a WWP makes for some nasty pinpoint board presence. If you don't have one already, the dimensions is about 11" x 7". I've also used this huge base size for some nasty LD bubble range.

Useful bubble tactics:
Leadership:
Armor of Misery -2 LD
Harlequins Mask of Secrets-2 LD
Haemonculus from coven sup. -1 LD

Adamantium Will:
Laughing Gods Eye
Helm of Spite

Zealot:
Cast of Players formation

Urien - pain chart +1.

I view it as a capital ship in our fleet. Use it for its transport and large size. Its guns don't have as many shots per point as our dedicated gunboats.
Back to top Go down
Archon Rievect
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 132
Join date : 2014-08-03
Location : The WWP behind you!

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Tue Apr 21 2015, 19:34

I like using it and it can surprise opponents when you blits a termie squad with the 12 dissie shots from 36" away. I run a venom in front as a shield sometimes and transport a court of 4 medusae5 sslyth and 7 lhamies,love those ladies,well worth the 10 points..they are what wyches should be for 10pts each.
My only issue I am having is this
-take as dc for court and then can I add a succubus or do I need to take as a heavy THEN add the court and a joined archon or succubus since it is not being fielded as a dc for anyone..just a Hs with transport ability... Anyone clarify for me? I am dying to try to wwp it with a succubus or archon with the big court behind the lines a go after something juicy...like some douche tau unit that just hides shoits hides or some other unit to toss the other play off balance.
Maybe I wiil try 2 at some point,wwp both,1 shooty,1 cc and mess with their minds...que evil laugh...
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2261
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not   Wed Apr 22 2015, 09:45

Taking it as a DC means only the unit that purchased it plus any IC may begin embarked on it. Otherwise it's identical.

The only benefit of the HS variant is that you can start any unit embarked on it

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
 
This is Brought up alot... to Tantalus or to not
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DARK ELDAR DISCUSSION

 :: Dark Eldar Discussion
-
Jump to: