HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Outside Forces

Go down 
AuthorMessage
shadowseercB
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 414
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Outside Forces   Fri Apr 10 2015, 23:30

my succubus, archon, and 2 grotesque charge a inquisitor and his scions.  The succubus accepted the challenge and removed 2 hp from the inquisitor.  The archon on his initiative step killed the 3 scions and one wound spilled into the Inquisitor But he made the save.  

Do my grotesque attack next at the initiative step? I thought they just sit there and  I didn't think they should because it says wounds spill into challenges but doesn't state that attacks do and All the scions are dead.
Back to top Go down
SCP Yeeman
Sybarite


Posts : 266
Join date : 2013-04-17

PostSubject: Re: Outside Forces   Sat Apr 11 2015, 01:56

They get to strike against the Inquisitor as long as they are eligible to hit him; they are in range.
Back to top Go down
Unholyllama
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 267
Join date : 2013-08-27

PostSubject: Re: Outside Forces   Mon Apr 13 2015, 15:39

I've ran into this situation a lot myself and concluded it needs FAQ.

Nothing in the challenge rules states the outside forces cannot swing if they are within range with an enemy model; even the challenger. Likewise, while wounds can spill out of a challenge, there is nothing stating the wound pool from outside forces are allocated in any way beyond normal combat (which would allow them to spill into the next closest model).

I need to reread the rules around this again (since they are so poorly worded I'm already second guessing myself); however, I'm 99% sure that's what you end up with when you look at the restrictions the challenge produces along with normal assault phase permissions.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6914
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Outside Forces   Mon Apr 13 2015, 16:06

@shadowseercB wrote:
my succubus, archon, and 2 grotesque charge a inquisitor and his scions.  The succubus accepted the challenge and removed 2 hp from the inquisitor.  The archon on his initiative step killed the 3 scions and one wound spilled into the Inquisitor But he made the save.  

Do my grotesque attack next at the initiative step?  I thought they just sit there and  I didn't think they should because it says wounds spill into challenges but doesn't state that attacks do and All the scions are dead.

Attacks don't need to 'spill over', they are applied to the unit, not individual models. Any wounds that result from the attacks of the unit are then allocated to the defending unit in the normal way but cannot be allocated to a model in a challenge unless there are no other enemy models left alive in that combat.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
 
Outside Forces
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: