HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Artefacts of cruelty

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Cybrid
Slave
avatar

Posts : 5
Join date : 2015-01-18

PostSubject: Artefacts of cruelty   Sat Mar 28 2015, 17:05

Hey all

  I'm having a bit of a conundrum making lists with battle scribe.  Battle scribe wont let me equip my archon with the Archangel of Pain and Armour of Misery.  I'm trying to pull off some leadership shenanigans with the new harlies.  Anyways I've been doing a bit of research on this fine site and it seems most people think that the archon can only have one artifact at a time.  

I've looked through the codex and I can't find anything to confirm this.  So far I've found on p70

"May take items from the melee weapons, arcane wargear and/or artifacts of cruelty lists"

This states that he should be able to take more than one artifact

Them on p109 at the top of the page

" Artefacts  of cruelty are items of horrendous power, which the Dark Eldar value for their ability to inflict torments of rare quality on their unfortunate victims. Only one of each of the following relics may be chosen per army."

Other than them misspelling artifact (Dang brits tongue) I don't see anything here that stops the archon from taking both the armor and archangel as well just one of each in the army.  Is there something I'm missing here If someone could point me in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it.
Back to top Go down
SCP Yeeman
Sybarite


Posts : 266
Join date : 2013-04-17

PostSubject: Re: Artefacts of cruelty   Sat Mar 28 2015, 17:25

You can only have one Artefact of Cruelty equipped to a character at a time. On pg. 69 under the bolded Artefacts of Cruelty it states: "Only one of each Artefact of Cruelty may be taken per army. A model may take one of the following:"

The last part is the key for you. It is a bummer, but that is the way it is.
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1825
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: Artefacts of cruelty   Sat Mar 28 2015, 17:27

I suspect the fault here lies with Battlescirbe.


Also, its our language. By all means invent your own if you're unhappy. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Artefacts of cruelty   Sat Mar 28 2015, 22:24

To be fair, the Covens artifacts ARE allowed more than one to a character, and Battlescribe won't let you do that either.
Back to top Go down
Cybrid
Slave
avatar

Posts : 5
Join date : 2015-01-18

PostSubject: Re: Artefacts of cruelty   Sun Mar 29 2015, 05:18

Thanks for the replies! Still seems a little lame that this is the only codex as far as I know that is limiting in this fashion. Hopefully its a typo and gets fixed!

@Squidmaster wrote:
Also, its our language. By all means invent your own if you're unhappy. Very Happy

That sounds like to much work I'll stick to butchering everyone elses!
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Artefacts of cruelty   Sun Mar 29 2015, 08:16

To my knowledge, EVERY other codex is written that way. As far as I know, covens are the only exception.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7146
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Artefacts of cruelty   Sun Mar 29 2015, 08:48

@Jimsolo wrote:
To my knowledge, EVERY other codex is written that way.  As far as I know, covens are the only exception.

They're all over the place on artefacts really. So many different wordings. How hard can it be to just find one simple, unambiguous wording and stick to it? Too hard for GW, that's for sure!

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Calyptra
Wych
avatar

Posts : 796
Join date : 2013-03-25
Location : Boston

PostSubject: Re: Artefacts of cruelty   Sun Mar 29 2015, 08:52

They're kind of all over the place.
Space Marines and Eldar: "A model may replace one weapon with one of the following." Some people think that means you can take more than one, as long as you're swapping one weapon for each, others disagree.
Tyranids: "A model may replace any pair of scything talons with one of the following."
Astra Militarum: no limit stated.
Necrons, Orks and Harlequins: "A model may take one of the following."

_________________
Dark Eldar plog: Drug-Crazed Space Elves
Stupid humans plog: Calyptra's Stupid Humans
Vampire Counts plog: Bat Country
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7146
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Artefacts of cruelty   Sun Mar 29 2015, 11:41

@Calyptra wrote:
They're kind of all over the place.
Space Marines and Eldar: "A model may replace one weapon with one of the following." Some people think that means you can take more than one, as long as you're swapping one weapon for each, others disagree.

Yeah, next time I see a Chapter Master with more than one relic I'm going to fire on him with my 10 man Scout squad, all armed with Heavy Bolters or Missile Lauchers. Laughing

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
 
Artefacts of cruelty
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: