HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Can I take a comes relay by its self?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 538
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Can I take a comes relay by its self?   Mon Mar 16 2015, 05:24

Can I take a Comms relay without a fortification?

In the book Stronghold Assault on pg. 19 under Battlefield Debris states that, "The following list summarizes the rules for battlefield debris that can be purchased as and upgrade to a fortification, or as fortifications in their own right."  Then it goes through the items that can be purchased.  

The points cost is on Fortifications and Upgrades which is on page 18 under Battlements and Battlefield.
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Can I take a comes relay by its self?   Mon Mar 16 2015, 10:07

The main rulebook updates the building rules from Stronghold Assault, with only the stats and points values etc from Stronghold Assault still being relevant. I'd advise checking there.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1937
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: Can I take a comes relay by its self?   Mon Mar 16 2015, 12:03

The main rulebook doesn;t say no, it just says that each of the Battlefield Debris items listed there may have additional rules on their datasheet, which presumably means in Stronghold Assault.
And Stronghold Assault does indeed say that they can be taken on their own, so there seems to be no reason whcy a Comms Relay can't be taken solo.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Can I take a comes relay by its self?   Mon Mar 16 2015, 12:41

I think I'm going to disagree on this, although it's certainly open to debate. None of the upgrades, including the comms relay, have an army list entry or datasheet. The only place they appear is on other datasheets, in the form of upgrades. So where do you buy them from?

The Battlefield Debris section of Stronghold Assault does indeed say they can be bought as fortifications in their own right, that section of the book appears to have been replaced by the corresponding section in the main rulebook, which makes no such claim.

To be honest, the entire terrain/fortification system is a mess as GW clearly didn't want to piss people off by replacing Stronghold Assault so quickly but didn't just say 'refer to Stronghold Assault' in the rulebook, instead creating this confusing hybrid where no-one really knows what rules to use.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 538
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: Can I take a comes relay by its self?   Mon Mar 16 2015, 15:51

From my position it seems to be up in the air a bit. I can see why you or someone would disagree bit I can can also see why one can use it. I'll just kindly let my opponent know that stronghold Assault states "..." and be sure to take the book with me if I were to use it in a game.

Thanks

_________________
20,000 Dark Eldar
25,000 Eldar
7,000 Mechanicum
3,500 Harlequin
Back to top Go down
Sigmaril
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 341
Join date : 2014-11-28

PostSubject: Re: Can I take a comes relay by its self?   Mon Mar 16 2015, 15:57

I poste the topic a while back when I stumbled upon the same sentance: http://www.thedarkcity.net/t11111-want-a-cheap-quadgun-or-comms-relay

This is what convinced me that it isn't so:

Quote :
Looking over the book in front of me....

My interpretation is that the items listed under the Battlefield Debris section are ALL special rules associated with upgrades or pieces of fortifications.

Ammo Dump, Barricades/Walls, Gun Emplacements, Tanglewire, Tank Traps, and Comms Relays are upgrades (as defined on the previous page under the Obstacles and Battlements & Battlefield upgrade subsections).

The Defense Line, Imperial Statuary, and Wreckage/Rubble are all part of 2 different fortification entries - the Aegis Defense Line and the Honoured Imperium (which consists of an Imperial Statuary and 2 pieces of of Rubble).

So the summary of the Battlefield Debris is accurate in that some elements listed in this section ARE upgrades while others are directly part of a fortification.

It's not saying you can take upgrades as fortification in and of themselves, it's saying some of the things listed in the section are upgrades and some are actual pieces of fortification datasheets found later in the book.
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 538
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: Can I take a comes relay by its self?   Mon Mar 16 2015, 16:35

Okay thank you.  Makes sense from that view point. Sad  The rule is poorly written.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Can I take a comes relay by its self?   

Back to top Go down
 
Can I take a comes relay by its self?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: