HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 objective secured outside of a transport?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Aroban
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 113
Join date : 2014-03-03

PostSubject: objective secured outside of a transport?   Fri Mar 13 2015, 11:53

If I run the CAD and a troop unit embarks on a transport vehicle which was selected as a transport for an elites squad, and these troops inside their elites transport boost onto an objective, will the objective secured rule be applied from the troops inside the transport?

And does it work the other way around? Elites infantry embarking on troops selected transport that is within an objective? Will the objective be held by the transport, thus objective secured?

_________________
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: objective secured outside of a transport?   Fri Mar 13 2015, 12:01

IIRC you have to specify which unit is holding the objective, so you could declare it to be the obsec unit.

I'll defer to the Count though, who will no doubt be able to tell us!

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1878
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: objective secured outside of a transport?   Fri Mar 13 2015, 12:42

I've had a glance through the rules, and they don't prohibit units inside transports from counting as scoring units (unless its a Zooming Flyer they're embarked upon).
As such they can hold the objective, contest the Objective, and count as using the Objectvie Secured special rule.

Further, the rules say that "You control an Objective Marke rif there is at least one model from one of your scoring units blah blah blah within 3" of it."
It doesn't preclude an Objective being held by multiple units.
What itdoes preclude is one unit holding more than one Objective Marker, in which case you must declare which marker the unit is holding.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7192
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: objective secured outside of a transport?   Fri Mar 13 2015, 12:45

If your ObjSec unit is within range to control the objective (measuring from the hull of the transport) then it doesn't matter if they're embarked on a non-ObjSec transport, they can still control the objective.

Similarly, if an ObjSec transport is within range of an objective then it doesn't matter that a non-ObjSec unit is embarked on it. The transport will still control the objective.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Aroban
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 113
Join date : 2014-03-03

PostSubject: Re: objective secured outside of a transport?   Fri Mar 13 2015, 20:58

Thanks count, that was also my interpretation and I am glad that you confirm as you are obviously the rules guru here Very Happy

That actually has an important implication to my army: I will swap troop transports with elites/hq transports during the game in order to have one additional unit gaining obsec (court getting in originally by kabalite warriors selected raider + kabalite warriors getting in originally by court selected raider)

_________________
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: objective secured outside of a transport?   

Back to top Go down
 
objective secured outside of a transport?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: