HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Dark Artisan Rules Questions

Go down 
AuthorMessage
organicpesticide
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 45
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : SoCal

PostSubject: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Mon Feb 23 2015, 19:35

Can the Dark Artisan formation be joined by a squad of 5 kabalite warriors? It only states it can't be joined by independent characters.

If so, will the units majority save be 5+? Therefore grav guns would wound the combined unit on a 5?

Also if the Haemonculous has a WWP can he deepstrike with the formation + 5 warriors?
Back to top Go down
Caldria
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 167
Join date : 2011-12-22

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Mon Feb 23 2015, 20:09

Warriors can't join units ever in any case, so regardless of the Dark Artisan's restrictions warriors would not be able to join them unfortunately.
Back to top Go down
Evil Space Elves
Haemonculus Ancient
avatar

Posts : 3700
Join date : 2011-07-13
Location : Santa Cruz, ca

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Mon Feb 23 2015, 20:29

@Caldria wrote:
Warriors can't join units ever in any case, so regardless of the Dark Artisan's restrictions warriors would not be able to join them unfortunately.

This would be my interpretation as well.

_________________

"Solutions are good, how many dark eldar archons can you find sitting in their throne rooms whining that they used to rule the universe? Exactly."  -The Burning Eye
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast
My Dark Eldar Project Log
Back to top Go down
organicpesticide
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 45
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : SoCal

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Mon Feb 23 2015, 20:38

I think that's why I'm confused. Does the Dark Artisan act as a Independent Character type of unit itself. So conversely can it join other units?
Back to top Go down
Evil Space Elves
Haemonculus Ancient
avatar

Posts : 3700
Join date : 2011-07-13
Location : Santa Cruz, ca

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Mon Feb 23 2015, 20:50

@organicpesticide wrote:
I think that's why I'm confused. Does the Dark Artisan act as a Independent Character type of unit itself. So conversely can it join other units?

Think of it as a unit. Can't be joined by independent characters because of the rule in the entry, can't be joined by units because it's a unit.

_________________

"Solutions are good, how many dark eldar archons can you find sitting in their throne rooms whining that they used to rule the universe? Exactly."  -The Burning Eye
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast
My Dark Eldar Project Log
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Mon Feb 23 2015, 22:52

you also have to remember, that ordinarily the talos and cronos wouldn't be able to be joined by the haemonculus were it not for the formation rule, nor would they be able to join each other. Nothing in the formation rule allows other units to join the monstrous creatures, even if it doesn't say they can't join the haemonculus.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Bleaksoul Brethren
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 251
Join date : 2014-09-02
Location : San Antonio

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Mon Feb 23 2015, 23:25

I forgot the ruling but did we determine if it is a squad of talos and cronos or just 1 of each?
Back to top Go down
Sinister
Slave
avatar

Posts : 13
Join date : 2015-01-15

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Mon Feb 23 2015, 23:55

@Bleaksoul Brethren wrote:
I forgot the ruling but did we determine if it is a squad of talos and cronos or just 1 of each?

I have seen in played as a unit of each + HQ but we are still waiting to see a response to our FAQ to GW on this one. There is no way my gaming group would let me play it as a unit of 3 talos and cronos as it stretches the wording of the entry a little far IMO.
Back to top Go down
organicpesticide
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 45
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : SoCal

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Tue Feb 24 2015, 18:04

According to the Haemonculous Covens Supplement "All units in this Formation must be fielded as a single unit, even though this is not normally allowed. Models with the Independent Character special rule cannot join this unit." This means the unit still has a majority toughness of 7. So if the haemonculous is in front (equidistant from the Talos and Cronos) all wound rolls must used toughness 7? Additionally, does that mean weapons that double out the haemonculous' toughness of 4 are ineffective?
Back to top Go down
Omega1907
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 78
Join date : 2015-02-08

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Tue Feb 24 2015, 18:06

@organicpesticide wrote:
According to the Haemonculous Covens Supplement "All units in this Formation must be fielded as a single unit, even though this is not normally allowed. Models with the Independent Character special rule cannot join this unit."  This means the unit still has a majority toughness of 7. So if the haemonculous is in front (equidistant from the Talos and Cronos) all wound rolls must used toughness 7? Additionally, does that mean weapons that double out the haemonculous' toughness of 4 are ineffective?

In the shooting phase, yes, the majority T is 7, so all attacks are rolled against that value. As 7 can't be doubled, the haemy can't be instantdeathed.
Back to top Go down
Caldria
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 167
Join date : 2011-12-22

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Tue Feb 24 2015, 18:09

That only counts for when rolling to wound. If a S8 wound is allocated to the haemonculus and his save is failed, he will still be doubled out and die instantly.
Back to top Go down
Omega1907
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 78
Join date : 2015-02-08

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Tue Feb 24 2015, 18:11

@Caldria wrote:
That only counts for when rolling to wound. If a S8 wound is allocated to the haemonculus and his save is failed, he will still be doubled out and die instantly.

True point, I stand corrected.
Back to top Go down
organicpesticide
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 45
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : SoCal

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Tue Feb 24 2015, 18:13

That makes sense. If I understand correctly the Haemonculous wouldn't be able to take a 3+(1+, 4) Feel No Pain because he already took the instant death wound?
Back to top Go down
Caldria
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 167
Join date : 2011-12-22

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Tue Feb 24 2015, 18:22

That's correct - however, in order to have the 3+ FnP you're most likely using the nightmare doll, which ignores the first instant death wound the Haemonculus would receive, and then breaks - unable to be used for the rest of the game. So there is that still.
Back to top Go down
organicpesticide
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 45
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : SoCal

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Tue Feb 24 2015, 18:30

Is the look out sir roll a 2+ in this case(Haemonculous is an IC)? Just in case you want to allocate >strength 8 wounds to the MCs.
Back to top Go down
Caldria
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 167
Join date : 2011-12-22

PostSubject: Re: Dark Artisan Rules Questions   Tue Feb 24 2015, 19:41

Indeed it is.
Back to top Go down
 
Dark Artisan Rules Questions
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: