HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Xalopec
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 40
Join date : 2015-01-24

PostSubject: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Mon Feb 09 2015, 07:34

Hi, if you just look on the two two Phoenix Lords by themselves, they are quite overpriced. However, in DE Units I see some very nice synergy.

Maugan Ra as Warlord in 20 Warriors with one SK and one Lance. The unit gets:
-Fearless
-Split fire for the Lance, so no shots are waisted
-A 2+ Eternal Warrior tank
-5 S6 Rendering Shots @BS5 with precicion shot on 5+
-Some defence in CC with 4A S6 WS7 AP3

So, a nice fearless, ObSec 20 man blob with quite a Punch at anti Infantery and anti MC. And a Lance without the usual "tax" of models, who can not hurt a tank. Not great, but sounds nice.


Now ist getting interesting. Karandras in a big unit of Grots or a court with 6 Sslyth and 6 Lhamaen. You get:
-Fearless
-Move through cover (especialy usefull on the Charge)
-Stealth
-Infiltrate (IC grants it to a unit in our local meta and on our local tournaments)
-A 2+ Eternal Warrior tank, who can also allocate wounds, one per Sslyth
-Something to deal with Walkers in CC

You put the unit 18" from the enemy in cover for a 4+/3+ cover save and FNP. First round they move and shoot 18x poison @18". On the second round they charge with:
-6A S8 WS7 AP2 and sometimes rerolls
-30A S5
-18A 2+ poison and sometimes ID

The unit should schred infantery, MC and Armour alike. And if the enemy wants to put them out with Shooting, they have lots of T5 wounds with cover, FNP or a 2+ armour. This shouls soak up enough fire to give the REST of your army free hand to operate.

What do you guys think?





Back to top Go down
Xalopec
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 40
Join date : 2015-01-24

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Mon Feb 09 2015, 07:41

Ah, i forgot:

Karandras in a unit of Reavers:

They Infiltrate, so they can Heat Lance a tank on turn 1 or they get a 2+ Jink. Later they split and operate seperately.
Back to top Go down
Creeping Darkness
Wych
avatar

Posts : 548
Join date : 2012-11-21

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Mon Feb 09 2015, 10:22

If I remember correctly, Maugan Ra confers Relentless on his unit?

If so you could use him to assault with that big blob (use that Turn 4+ Power from Pain!), or move and shoot with the lance. Heck, attach him to a webway portal blaster archon and a Trueborn unit with four blasters and two dark lances to hit some poor sap with seven Darklight weapons and a Maugetar. In the rear.

Just try not to think about the points you've just spent on 7 T3 dudes and their escort.
Back to top Go down
http://thecreepingdarkness.blogspot.com
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7207
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Mon Feb 09 2015, 10:47

@Creeping Darkness wrote:
If I remember correctly, Maugan Ra confers Relentless on his unit?

Nope. Relentless doesn't confer to a unit and I don't see any special rules for Maugan Ra that would do so.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Mario Augusto
Slave


Posts : 21
Join date : 2013-11-15

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Mon Feb 09 2015, 17:32

@Count Adhemar wrote:
@Creeping Darkness wrote:
If I remember correctly, Maugan Ra confers Relentless on his unit?

Nope. Relentless doesn't confer to a unit and I don't see any special rules for Maugan Ra that would do so.

He got Relentless, why doesn't he confers to the unit? I checked on RB and it should , RB says "at least 1 model" or am i missing something?


Maybe 5 Scourges with 4 Dark Lance and Maugan Ra ?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7207
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Mon Feb 09 2015, 21:58

@Mario Augusto wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
@Creeping Darkness wrote:
If I remember correctly, Maugan Ra confers Relentless on his unit?

Nope. Relentless doesn't confer to a unit and I don't see any special rules for Maugan Ra that would do so.

He got Relentless, why doesn't he confers to the unit? I checked on RB and it should , RB says "at least 1 model" or am i missing something?

The rulebook doesn't say "at least one model" it says:

Quote :
Relentless
Relentless models can shoot with Heavy, Salvo or Ordnance weapons, counting as stationary, even if they moved in the previous Movement phase. They are also allowed to charge in the same turn they fire Heavy, Ordnance, Rapid Fire or Salvo weapons.

So no conferring to the unit.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Mario Augusto
Slave


Posts : 21
Join date : 2013-11-15

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Mon Feb 09 2015, 23:08

@Count Adhemar wrote:
@Mario Augusto wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
@Creeping Darkness wrote:
If I remember correctly, Maugan Ra confers Relentless on his unit?

Nope. Relentless doesn't confer to a unit and I don't see any special rules for Maugan Ra that would do so.

He got Relentless, why doesn't he confers to the unit? I checked on RB and it should , RB says "at least 1 model" or am i missing something?

The rulebook doesn't say "at least one model" it says:

Quote :
Relentless
Relentless models can shoot with Heavy, Salvo or Ordnance weapons, counting as stationary, even if they moved in the previous Movement phase. They are also allowed to charge in the same turn they fire Heavy, Ordnance, Rapid Fire or Salvo weapons.

So no conferring to the unit.

I'm really sorry, thought he had the rule :Slow and Purposeful, i was confused on checking it Sad
Back to top Go down
Bugs_N_Orks
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 198
Join date : 2011-12-09

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Tue Feb 10 2015, 15:16

As of the new rule book FAQ infilcheating isn't possible anymore. One of my favorite karandras uses is to put him in a 20 man warrior unit and DS them with a WWP archon/succubus. Monster hunter and 20 rapid firing splinter rifles will put a lot of wounds on any non-flying MC, and after that you've got 20 cheap bodies to LOS to while the characters smash things apart in their backfield. (Guardians work well also and they get plasma grenades so can threaten rear AV10)
Back to top Go down
Baron Pompadur
Slave


Posts : 12
Join date : 2013-12-14
Location : Spain

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Tue Feb 10 2015, 21:26

I think Karandras is awesome.

Put it with Guardian Blob and you can kill every MC in the game.

Maybe my favourite tactic with Karandras was infiltrate with Warp Spiders and shoot to some Transport to get First Blood. After that, Karandras can Kill a lot of units by himself.

Now I think is not possible infiltrate a units anymore, so like Bug-n-Ork say, WWP with a blob and Karandras is a good option to caught some MC or tanks.

Is difficult to play good but Karandras is a very good option to our army.
Back to top Go down
solar shock
Hellion


Posts : 96
Join date : 2013-11-11

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Wed Feb 25 2015, 15:42

Interesting Ideas, I've always liked te idea of Mr Ra, but Karandras is equally cool. The infiltrate thingy is defintely a no no imo, and as someone mentioned earlier is now gone. But I certainly like the idea of WWPing in a blob with karandras, would be brutal on any MCs such as wraithknights, dreads and tides.

With Mr Ra, sadly I think his weapons have most synergy with splinter cannons and had originally thought of going with spliterborn, but considering how in-effecient they are already, adding a Plord (plus you'd have to go with a starweaver for the 6man capacity), makes it pretty pricey, even if it does drop a boat load of shots.

Kara, slythh and medusae in a venom, for those AP3 flamers, re-rolls on wounds that bypass quite a few of the MC armour saves, alongside some poison. Has some overwatch protection too.
Back to top Go down
Cerve
Wych
avatar

Posts : 672
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Thu Feb 26 2015, 06:41

Look new FaQs about IC and Infiltrate. No more IC infiltrating a non-infiltrate unit
Back to top Go down
Xalopec
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 40
Join date : 2015-01-24

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Thu Feb 26 2015, 09:07

IC with the infiltrate special rule can't join a unit without that rule during deployment.

Too bad. Seems they can't join even when deploying normally. Wonder if they can join while in reserves.

Would be still worth a consideration for granting Fearless, Move through cover and Stealth.
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   Thu Feb 26 2015, 11:44

Nope - Karandras can only join infiltrators in any deployment scenario now

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE   

Back to top Go down
 
Karandras and Maugan Ra synergy with DE
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: