HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

Going first or going second?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
BlackCadian
Kabalite Warrior

PostSubject: Going first or going second?   Tue Jan 27 2015, 06:39

Alright so I'm still fairly new to 40K and Dark Eldar, and while I understand that apparently it's GOOD to to have the initiative in a game I simply have no clue how to take advantage of it fully.

In the campaign we're currently running due to some special rules there's about a 90% chance that I get to choose if I want go first or not, but so far I don't think I've made the most of it.

Which leads me to my question:

How do you decide when to go first and when to go second, and how does it affect your deployment and reserve strategy?

My experience so far:

Spoiler:

Last edited by BlackCadian on Tue Jan 27 2015, 06:44; edited 3 times in total
Back to top Go down
Grimcrimm
Kabalite Warrior

PostSubject: Re: Going first or going second?   Tue Jan 27 2015, 06:42

Someone else will give you in-depth tactics, but in short if you choose to go first you take away the toys that will negatively effect you most

Arena Champion

PostSubject: Re: Going first or going second?   Tue Jan 27 2015, 08:56

Going second doesn't mean you lose the initiative. I'm actually a huge proponent if going second and not seizing. Most players prefer to go first and as a result its good to learn to go second especially with a glass hammer like dark eldar. A lot of dark eldar players rely way too much on the alpha strike which is a crutch you will only get half the time. On the other hand if we get seized against we can often be caught out of position and lose the game.

From the sounds of it, it also looks like you are misjudging how much to put in reserve.

Anyway I'm in the middle of writing s pragmatic real space raider guide on both topics which should be up in the next few days.