HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Grav Weapons

Go down 
AuthorMessage
ShamPow1999
Hellion


Posts : 80
Join date : 2013-03-24
Location : Internet

PostSubject: Grav Weapons   Sat Jan 24 2015, 17:09

I was playing a game the other day against a Space Marine player and I was a bit confused as to how grav weaponry works. Apparently, grav weapons ignore ALL cover saves; this means that skimmers can't jink against them.

I just wanted to validate this claim. Is it true and if so, how Dark Eldar fare against grav weapons?
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
avatar

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

PostSubject: Re: Grav Weapons   Sat Jan 24 2015, 17:45

Grav weapons do not inherently ignore cover saves.
I consider DE quite strong versus Grav Weaponry - which pleases me because Grav weapons are quite good and show up a lot.

_________________


The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: Grav Weapons   Sat Jan 24 2015, 18:14

Your opponent is wrong. Grav weapons do not ignore cover in any way shape or form, as they do not have the ignore cover special rule. There was a convoluted argument in 6th as they didn't inflict glancing/penetrating hits that they bypassed the vehicle cover system. However this has been clarified in 7th under the vehicle cover rules section (orange text).

40k rule book wrote:
If the target is obscured and suffers a glancing hit, a penetrating hit, or is otherwise hit by an enemy shooting attack that inflicts damage upon it (such as being hit by a weapon with the Graviton special rule), it must take a cover save against it, exactly like a non-vehicle model would do against a Wound.

So you do get your jink save against grav weapons. Very Happy

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Grav Weapons   Sat Jan 24 2015, 18:18

Yeah grav weapons don't ignore cover without psychic buffing.

They work best against heavily armoured targets, so we're just about their worst nightmare

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7207
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Grav Weapons   Sat Jan 24 2015, 18:26

@Mushkilla wrote:
Your opponent is wrong. Grav weapons do not ignore cover in any way shape or form, as they do not have the ignore cover special rule. There was a convoluted argument in 6th as they didn't inflict glancing/penetrating hits that they bypassed the vehicle cover system. However this has been clarified in 7th under the vehicle cover rules section (orange text).

40k rule book wrote:
If the target is obscured and suffers a glancing hit, a penetrating hit, or is otherwise hit by an enemy shooting attack that inflicts damage upon it (such as being hit by a weapon with the Graviton special rule), it must take a cover save against it, exactly like a non-vehicle model would do against a Wound.

So you do get your jink save against grav weapons. Very Happy

Mush is correct although I'd disagree that the 6e argument was in any way convoluted. In typical GW fashion, they 'fixed' the issue by ignoring the disease and treating the symptom. Nonetheless, it is now clear that grav weapons allow cover saves against all targets.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: Grav Weapons   Sat Jan 24 2015, 18:30

I was taking convoluted to mean: GW's terrible rules writing being so terrible that they don't even understand how their rules own work. RAW it was completely legit, the same way ignore cover didn't affect vehicles cover saves because they weren't against wounds (or whatever that old argument was).  Wink

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
avatar

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

PostSubject: Re: Grav Weapons   Mon Jan 26 2015, 03:41

@Count Adhemar wrote:
In typical GW fashion, they 'fixed' the issue by ignoring the disease and treating the symptom. Nonetheless, it is now clear that grav weapons allow cover saves against all targets.
I actually thought their fix was a decent treating of the symptom - as they clarified that the saves applied, basically, to any hit that could cause damage in any way. It was actually kind of refreshing and clear - in my opinion.

_________________


The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Grav Weapons   

Back to top Go down
 
Grav Weapons
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: