HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Marrath
Wych
avatar

Posts : 684
Join date : 2014-01-01
Location : A very spiky Webway-Hulk

PostSubject: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Tue Jan 13 2015, 05:08

Hunt from the shadows says during 1st turn and Night fighting all troops have 5+ and others 6+ cover save.
Does that overwrite your actual cover? So it could RAW even worsen your cover throw?
The wording is a bit confusing to me.

_________________
Archon of the Kabal of the Burning Misery
Thanks for making the Djinn Blade great for once Smile
Back to top Go down
nexs
Wych
avatar

Posts : 766
Join date : 2014-12-28

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Tue Jan 13 2015, 05:14

Doesn't cover stack? Like mandrakes are shrouded and stealth in addition to, say, in a crater?
Back to top Go down
Marrath
Wych
avatar

Posts : 684
Join date : 2014-01-01
Location : A very spiky Webway-Hulk

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Tue Jan 13 2015, 05:33

Those are special rules, that, if i remember correctly, indeed do stack.
But the hunt from Shadows just says they have that cover save.
Without anything about other cover saves or special rules.
And in the rules i didn't find anything about multiple different cover saves.

_________________
Archon of the Kabal of the Burning Misery
Thanks for making the Djinn Blade great for once Smile
Back to top Go down
nexs
Wych
avatar

Posts : 766
Join date : 2014-12-28

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Tue Jan 13 2015, 05:36

Hmm, I guess then put your non-troop dudes in better cover Smile
Even so, night fighting gives you stealth, right? So that's a 4+ cover for troops and 5+ cover for others?
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
avatar

Posts : 5490
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Tue Jan 13 2015, 05:38

Cover saves do not stack.

As to the original question - they have a 5+ or 6+ cover save. Per the wording in the rulebook, you always take the best save available to you - therefore every model can have multiple and variable saves from different sources and may freely select the one they wish to use. If you have a 4+ cover save, use that, and not the 5+ save.

It is no different from a unit that is behind both a ruin and has an intervening unit between it and the firer. It has a 4+ cover save and a 5+ cover save (and, if Marines, a 3+ armor save). It then gets to choose which it uses per pg. 38 of the core rulebook.

_________________


The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Marrath
Wych
avatar

Posts : 684
Join date : 2014-01-01
Location : A very spiky Webway-Hulk

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Tue Jan 13 2015, 05:45

I apparently need new glasses, was on the exact same page and didn't see it Embarassed
Thanks for the help!

_________________
Archon of the Kabal of the Burning Misery
Thanks for making the Djinn Blade great for once Smile
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1234
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Tue Jan 13 2015, 20:03

Whew, dark muses bless you Thor. I don't take the RSR but I almost lost any and all of my little remaining faith in the rules writers of GW.

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
The_Hornet
Slave
avatar

Posts : 17
Join date : 2014-10-03

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Mon Jan 26 2015, 01:20

Another interesting point about this detachment is that you can infiltrate mandrakes into the open and they will still have a 2+ cover save on Turn 1 because their cover save stacks. I have yet found a way to abuse this though, first blood hunting?
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
avatar

Posts : 5490
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Mon Jan 26 2015, 01:51

Mandrakes are not Troops, so they'd only have a 3+ cover save if in the open - unless I'm missing something.

Stealth (+1) Shrouded (+2) and Detachment bonus (Cover save of 6+) = a cover save that passes on a 3+, yeah?

_________________


The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Mon Jan 26 2015, 08:24

@Thor665 wrote:
Mandrakes are not Troops, so they'd only have a 3+ cover save if in the open - unless I'm missing something.

Stealth (+1) Shrouded (+2) and Detachment bonus (Cover save of 6+) = a cover save that passes on a 3+, yeah?

Yep, that sounds right. To be honest, I wouldn't trust myself to pass enough saves to keep them alive on that basis, I'd rather infiltrate them out of sight and move to get a shot on my first turn.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Stolensoul
Slave


Posts : 17
Join date : 2015-01-15

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Mon Jan 26 2015, 14:23

By the way I don't think mandrakes could benefit from this formation as they are not part of it.
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Mon Jan 26 2015, 14:36

@Stolensoul wrote:
By the way I don't think mandrakes could benefit from this formation as they are not part of it.

Don't confuse the detachment with the formation.

The detachment is the Realspace Raiders, and lets you choose any units you want from the codex.

The formation is the Kabalite Raiding Party, which specifies the units you must take, and doesn't include Mandrakes

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
The_Hornet
Slave
avatar

Posts : 17
Join date : 2014-10-03

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Tue Jan 27 2015, 17:22

oh, for some reason I misread troops as infantry models... durrr!

Does that mean that dedicated transports for troops units have a 5+ cover save T1 then?
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   Tue Jan 27 2015, 17:52

Yup, in the same way as they'd have objective secured if taken as part of a CAD.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.   

Back to top Go down
 
Something i stumbled upon about Realspace raiders detachment.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: