HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Got it pushed in by GK

Go down 
AuthorMessage
keeblerpowell
Slave
avatar

Posts : 16
Join date : 2013-05-22
Location : Dayton Ohio

PostSubject: Got it pushed in by GK   Mon Jan 12 2015, 14:59

So I just got the covens book and I was very excited to try out the new scalpel squad.

Wracks are one of my favorite infantry choices in the game so I was really happy to see something that may make them worth while.


Well lets just say that I was not ready to play this. lol

I am nids player by most rights. Nids deep strike in pods and don't care what's around.


I learned the hard way that Dark Eldar DO CARE! I miss-happed all game. I couldn't get a full squad on the board to save my life. It was really funny. I learned a whole bunch.


Next game I will deep strike with just a ton more reservation. trying to deepstrike close enough to liquify GK squads did not do anything for me.


Un-lucky for me I didn't roll a direct hit on the scatter roll until turn 4. Luck for me I only rolled 2-5 on the miss-hap table all game long.




I really want Wracks to work.


I ran 2 scalpel squads
3 blaster born squads
a raider boat with warriors and splinter racks.
2 ravagers
2 jets
and filler squads of witches.


LOTS OF DEEP STRIKE

Almost no luck. lol
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Mon Jan 12 2015, 15:11

This guide should help you estimate deep strike risks. Hope that helps. Smile

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
keeblerpowell
Slave
avatar

Posts : 16
Join date : 2013-05-22
Location : Dayton Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Mon Jan 12 2015, 17:05

Thanks

That is awesome
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3065
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Mon Jan 12 2015, 20:42

My experience is that Deep Strike lists tend to have bad luck front-loaded on them. Hopefully it gets better from here on out.
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Mon Jan 12 2015, 22:47

Personally, unless I'm using a WWP, I try to avoid Deep Striking in general.

I just find it too risky - especially if you're attempting to arrive close enough to use flamer or melta weapons on an enemy unit/vehicle.

This applies to all my armies - if I have nothing to make my Deep Strikes more reliable, I don't use them.

I also learned the hard way with IG Scions...
Back to top Go down
nexs
Wych
avatar

Posts : 766
Join date : 2014-12-28

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Mon Jan 12 2015, 23:00

Don't deep strikes only scatter 6"? If you're arriving by transport then they can move 12" after arriving, yes?
I see no issue with getting where you need to be.. (unless I've gotten something wrong)
Back to top Go down
1++
Hekatrix


Posts : 1036
Join date : 2011-06-27
Location : Sydney

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Mon Jan 12 2015, 23:09

@nexs wrote:
Don't deep strikes only scatter 6"? If you're arriving by transport then they can move 12" after arriving, yes?
I see no issue with getting where you need to be.. (unless I've gotten something wrong)

Our units have no special rules allowing them to scatter only 1d6" when arriving via deepstrike. It's 2d6". As for the movement, no, they cannot move any further. What you are allowed to do is either disembark troops or move fallout in the shooting phase

_________________
"I'm alive from this pain!"
Back to top Go down
nexs
Wych
avatar

Posts : 766
Join date : 2014-12-28

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Mon Jan 12 2015, 23:11

Ah, 2D6. Cheers.
I've only read through the book once thus far. Thanks Smile

This puts a whole new value to the WWP!
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Mon Jan 12 2015, 23:20

On the subject of deep strike, does anyone use multiple WWPs in their army?

They get expensive fast, but I'm wondering if it's sometimes worth it.
Back to top Go down
Gazbal
Slave


Posts : 21
Join date : 2013-07-25

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Tue Jan 13 2015, 00:22

I do use 2 wwp when fielding a Grotesquerie.

1 for the Archon and 1 for the Haemonculis.
Back to top Go down
Caldria
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 167
Join date : 2011-12-22

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Tue Jan 13 2015, 00:38

The last game I had, I used 2 WWPs.

1 on a dark artisan unit and the second on an archon with blaster in a raider with blasterborn. First time I had ever used the archon + blaster with blasterborn in a raider in general, not to mention with a WWP as well. They did really well, the turn they dropped in they got me first blood and Slay the warlord on a necron overlord in command barge. (the funny thing is, they killed him on the turn they deepstruck, but he got back up. He then assaulted them and a single blaster hit in overwatch, which he failed his 3+ inv on and failed to get back up, giving me first blood and slay the warlord xD)

After that they put 2 hps on a ghost ark and took out 1 or 2 wraiths. But I was quite happy with what they managed to do.
Back to top Go down
nexs
Wych
avatar

Posts : 766
Join date : 2014-12-28

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Tue Jan 13 2015, 00:44

@Caldria wrote:
The last game I had, I used 2 WWPs.

1 on a dark artisan unit and the second on an archon with blaster in a raider with blasterborn. First time I had ever used the archon + blaster with blasterborn in a raider in general, not to mention with a WWP as well. They did really well, the turn they dropped in they got me first blood and Slay the warlord on a necron overlord in command barge. (the funny thing is, they killed him on the turn they deepstruck, but he got back up. He then assaulted them and a single blaster hit in overwatch, which he failed his 3+ inv on and failed to get back up, giving me first blood and slay the warlord xD)

After that they put 2 hps on a ghost ark and took out 1 or 2 wraiths. But I was quite happy with what they managed to do.
How does that work with VP? Do you get slay the warlord twice?
Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Caldria
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 167
Join date : 2011-12-22

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Tue Jan 13 2015, 00:45

haha nah, if he gets back up you do not get slay the warlord.
Back to top Go down
nexs
Wych
avatar

Posts : 766
Join date : 2014-12-28

PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   Tue Jan 13 2015, 00:48

Shame Razz
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Got it pushed in by GK   

Back to top Go down
 
Got it pushed in by GK
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: