HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Sucubus w/ Incubi

Go down 
AuthorMessage
MurDok
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 220
Join date : 2013-07-24

PostSubject: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 06:41

I've seen quite a few lists pop up recently that had a Sucubus escorted with Incubi.... Is this the new Deldar killy unit or are people just experimenting with the new codex?
Back to top Go down
StokieRich
Hellion


Posts : 69
Join date : 2014-01-02
Location : Exeter, Devon

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 10:16

Works well for me, I guess the best escort is Grots but I like the Incubi and I've been very impressed with the damage the Klaivex can put out with Rampage.

Depends what you need I guess, for me they provide 3+ against overwatch and AP2 in combat, while being a small enough unit to put in a Venom with a Succubus. They can be pretty killy against MEQ as long as you're not charging through cover.

_________________
Why not follow along with the progress of my Dark Eldar Wych Cult Kabal at Two Times Two Hobby Time
Back to top Go down
http://twotimestwohobbytime.blogspot.com/
Vasara
Incognito assault marine
avatar

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Vantaa

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 10:41

The only thing that Succubus is bringing to Incubi is 4++ and thats only in cc. The Incubion the otherhand doesn't benefit Succubus much.

I rather take Grots.

_________________
New Dark Eldar in Tournaments: Wins: 17 Draws: 2 Losses: 8
ETC 2013 DE/Eldar player (4th)
ETC 2014 Coach (16th)
ETC 2015 Captain, Eldar/DE (10th)
Painting blog
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 10:57

The Incubi are the scalpel to the Grot's hammer (or in their case, several hammers). As Vasara points out, the Succubus brings very little to a unit of Incubi (and certainly nothing I'd want to risk if she were my warlord!).
On the other hand, her AP2 can be quite important in a unit of Grots, particularly since they tend to work through large quantities of attacks for which the 2+ save is a pretty decent counter, the Succubus can strip out a few wounds first, the Grots soak the damage and then hit back.

I could see Succubus and Incubi being a reasonable combo against deathwing, and Grey Knights (whose force weapons would make a mockery of Grots high level of wounds) but outside of that I'd tend to leave them for fluffy games (I have a unit painted, it will sometimes be fielded and I have other models to add to it)

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Thor665
Archon
avatar

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 15:08

The question to me isn't why someone would take a Succubus over an Archon in an assault uint - it's why they'd pick Incubi Laughing

_________________


The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 16:37

@Thor665 wrote:
The question to me isn't why someone would take a Succubus over an Archon in an assault uint - it's why they'd pick Incubi Laughing

Cos ya know, the models! Laughing

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Thor665
Archon
avatar

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 17:17

That is one of the two valid reasons I can think of for taking Incubi.

_________________


The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
sweetbacon
Sybarite


Posts : 369
Join date : 2014-02-09

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 17:19

@Thor665 wrote:
That is one of the two valid reasons I can think of for taking Incubi.

Don't keep us in suspense, man!  What's the other valid reason?
Back to top Go down
MurDok
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 220
Join date : 2013-07-24

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 18:20

Thanks guys, I think I'll just stick to my Grots as the go to unit for assaults. I'm going to be posting a 1500 point list soon any and all feed back would be most welcomed as I am the only Deldar player for a 200 mile radius (not even joking).

_________________
~Current Armies~
Deldar
Eldar
Adeptus Mechanicus - Taghmata Omnissiah & Legio Cybernetica
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
avatar

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 21:45

@sweetbacon wrote:
@Thor665 wrote:
That is one of the two valid reasons I can think of for taking Incubi.

Don't keep us in suspense, man!  What's the other valid reason?
Fluff Laughing

_________________


The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
sweetbacon
Sybarite


Posts : 369
Join date : 2014-02-09

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 22:33

@Thor665 wrote:
@sweetbacon wrote:
@Thor665 wrote:

Fluff Laughing

You got my hopes up there for a second, Thor.  I have lots of Incubi I can never find a good use for.  How fittingly cruel of you.
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Mon Nov 24 2014, 22:43

I'd love to do a mainly incubi army, if only to see how it looks on the table! If only funds allowed.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Bleaksoul Brethren
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 252
Join date : 2014-09-02
Location : San Antonio

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Tue Nov 25 2014, 04:16

Succubus gives the incubi assault grenades. I've used it with fantastic results.
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Tue Nov 25 2014, 08:03

Ooo. .. actually... closer look at those rules bud... I know, I have some extra tissue if you need to weep for what could have been...

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Tue Nov 25 2014, 08:20

@Bleaksoul Brethren wrote:
Succubus gives the incubi assault grenades. I've used it with fantastic results.
No she doesn't, not any more

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Tue Nov 25 2014, 09:32

If she did there would have been much less wailing and gnashing of teeth when the new codex dropped.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Tue Nov 25 2014, 10:15

And you'd see a lot more incubi being used!

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Bleaksoul Brethren
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 252
Join date : 2014-09-02
Location : San Antonio

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Tue Nov 25 2014, 18:39

She has plasma grenades does she not?
Back to top Go down
ShadowcatX
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 38
Join date : 2014-11-24
Location : Oklahoma

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Tue Nov 25 2014, 18:52

She does. Grenades only effect the model who has them though, so she doesn't help the incubi at all.

_________________
Everything I have ever told you, even this, is a lie.
Back to top Go down
Maple Tiishay
Slave
avatar

Posts : 23
Join date : 2014-11-20
Location : Saskatchewan

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Tue Nov 25 2014, 19:11

Not arguing, but this seems silly to me, as only one model can throw a grenade anyways.. Still having a hard time grasping, fluff wise, how throwing grenades affects your speed in combat. Would make more sense if, by throwing grenades, you lowered your opponents initiative to 1, due to them having to hide from the explosions. Also funny how a squad of 10 wyches throws ten grenades and doesn't manage to wound anyone.. Ever.

_________________
Whoever appeals to the law against his fellow man, is either a fool or a coward. Whoever cannot take care of himself without that law is both. For a wounded man shall say to his assailant: "If I live, I will kill you. If I die you are forgiven." Such is the rule of honor.
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Tue Nov 25 2014, 22:02

@Maple Tiishay wrote:
Not arguing, but this seems silly to me, as only one model can throw a grenade anyways.. Still having a hard time grasping, fluff wise, how throwing grenades affects your speed in combat. Would make more sense if, by throwing grenades, you lowered your opponents initiative to 1, due to them having to hide from the explosions. Also funny how a squad of 10 wyches throws ten grenades and doesn't manage to wound anyone.. Ever.

It's representative only, the idea is that if you're charging into cover, you have to climb over the wall/rubble etc and therefore the opponent gets the chance to hit you while you're doing that. by throwing grenades you force the enemy to keep their heads down and therefore you get the drop on them, because there's no reason why you'd only throw one as you charge in. It's not about causing damage though.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Bleaksoul Brethren
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 252
Join date : 2014-09-02
Location : San Antonio

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Wed Nov 26 2014, 01:28

You are absolutely correct my mistake.
Back to top Go down
Myrvn
Sybarite


Posts : 381
Join date : 2012-08-05

PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   Wed Nov 26 2014, 02:42

My Wyches killed my Klaivex with grenades... That counts right? He even had FNP....
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Sucubus w/ Incubi   

Back to top Go down
 
Sucubus w/ Incubi
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: