HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Ramming skimmers

Go down 
AuthorMessage
daviedight
Slave


Posts : 11
Join date : 2013-01-08

PostSubject: Ramming skimmers   Sat Nov 22 2014, 15:42

Hi folks. I was rammed today by a Sicaran battle tank  which removed my last hull point. I was about to jink when my opponent said no saves.... Uh, oh. Looks like the skimmer jinking from rams that was in 6th has gone. I can't find anything relevant in 7th. :-( Has anyone got any ideas? Surely there must be something allowing a skimmer to move out the way of a ram?!
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1935
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: Ramming skimmers   Sat Nov 22 2014, 15:48

Why would there be no Jink?
I can't find anything in the rulebook that says you don't get saves.

Now, I know Ramming is a kind of Tank Shock, but Tank Shock casualties are worked out differently, and even then no saves doesn;t mean no cover or invulnverable saves.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Riddip
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 27
Join date : 2014-06-04

PostSubject: Re: Ramming skimmers   Sat Nov 22 2014, 19:30

Isn't jinking only working vs shooting attacks? So i would say no jink when ramming.
Back to top Go down
daviedight
Slave


Posts : 11
Join date : 2013-01-08

PostSubject: Re: Ramming skimmers   Sun Nov 23 2014, 05:57

@Riddip wrote:
Isn't jinking only working vs shooting attacks? So i would say no jink when ramming.

This seems to be the case now. In 6th ed. On page 84 or 85, it specifically said you could jink a ram. In this edition however, it seems to be gone. The jink special rule is only relevant for shooting attacks. :-(

I was hoping someone on here had found out otherwise.
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1935
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: Ramming skimmers   Sun Nov 23 2014, 12:39

I would reason that as Ramming is done with a Flat-Out move, which is during the Shoting Phase, then it would be allowed.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Ramming skimmers   Sun Nov 23 2014, 12:55

jinking specifies you are the target of the attack - Ram does not pick a target

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Laughingcarp
Wych
avatar

Posts : 562
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : The insane asylum of the universe

PostSubject: Re: Ramming skimmers   Sun Nov 23 2014, 21:11

Squidmaster, Ramming is done with a regular movement, I don't think it is allowed to ram with a flat-out is it? So movement phase only.

_________________
I dedicate these deaths to Odin Allfather, Spearshaker, One Eye.
Fleet Shadowmaker - Kabal of the Dying Sun; Cult of Marrow Excised; Coven of Lambent Hunger
Sons of the Last Breath - Chaos Space Marines
Host of Shattered Purity - Chaos Daemons
Back to top Go down
clever handle
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 122
Join date : 2013-07-10
Location : Right behind you

PostSubject: Re: Ramming skimmers   Mon Nov 24 2014, 21:18

this is one of the many small changes in 7th edition. Previously there was the jink save, before that all skimmers had a 3+ "dodge" save... don't believe there's anything anymore.
Back to top Go down
Unholyllama
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 267
Join date : 2013-08-27

PostSubject: Re: Ramming skimmers   Mon Nov 24 2014, 22:21

Ramming is done only in the movement phase. Jinking specifically states it's a save against shooting attacks (which ramming is not) so you cannot get a jink save against a hit from someone ramming you.
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1935
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: Ramming skimmers   Tue Nov 25 2014, 11:20

@Laughingcarp wrote:
Squidmaster, Ramming is done with a regular movement, I don't think it is allowed to ram with a flat-out is it? So movement phase only.

Damn, did I get that wrong?
Its been so long since I used to ram EVERYTHING (5th) it must have gotten muddled in my brain. Apologies.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
honethedroll
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 39
Join date : 2013-11-18
Location : KC, MO

PostSubject: Re: Ramming skimmers   Tue Nov 25 2014, 21:09

@Massaen wrote:
jinking specifies you are the target of the attack

This may seem to be a minor quibble, but it has implications in other situations. Jinking actually specifies "a target for a shooting attack."
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Ramming skimmers   

Back to top Go down
 
Ramming skimmers
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: