HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 jinking vehicle and people on board

Go down 
AuthorMessage
SOlyer
Hellion


Posts : 89
Join date : 2013-03-23

PostSubject: jinking vehicle and people on board   Fri Oct 24 2014, 22:59

If i jink my raider, can the warriors still fire as normal or are they also forced to snapfire?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: jinking vehicle and people on board   Sat Oct 25 2014, 00:03

They fire as normal.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Lord Puberis
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 89
Join date : 2013-09-14
Location : Sheffield uk

PostSubject: Re: jinking vehicle and people on board   Fri Nov 14 2014, 23:10

I'm sorry to re bring this up, but is there a rule book page reference for this as it's a contentious issue within our group!
Thank you

Jk

_________________
Flying round space with pointy ears in cardboard aeroplanes

"I think the next stage for him is to remortgage and bring a captial Ship...
.....Brings it on a roof rack, leans out the window, rolls a 2+.Wins. Goes Home.
Its the future we're all facing"
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: jinking vehicle and people on board   Fri Nov 14 2014, 23:26

It's hard to provide a reference for something that isn't there. You should ask your group to explain how they think the jink rule works on passengers when the rules don't say that it does?

Quote :
Jink
When a unit with any models with the Jink special rule is selected as a target for a shooting attack, you may declare that it will Jink. The decision must be made before any To Hit rolls have been made. If the unit Jinks, all models in the unit with this special rule gain a 4+ cover save until the start of their next Movement phase, but they can only fire Snap Shots until the end of their next turn.

The vehicle is the unit that is jinking, not the passengers.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
avatar

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

PostSubject: Re: jinking vehicle and people on board   Sat Nov 15 2014, 00:22

There is also no rule indicating passengers and vehicle = 1 unit.
There used to be, but now no longer does that rule exist.

Therefore they are two separate units.

_________________


The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
MyNameDidntFit
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 140
Join date : 2014-05-13

PostSubject: Re: jinking vehicle and people on board   Sat Nov 15 2014, 01:24

Even if they were one unit it is MODELS with the Jink rule that gain Cover and must fire Snap Shots.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1935
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: jinking vehicle and people on board   Sat Nov 15 2014, 12:57

If they do argue the point, throw this counter at them:
"If they are one unit, and Jink does affect the passengers, do the passengers therefore benefit from a Flickerfield (against No Escape obviously)?"
That's the one I used to clamp down on arguments, and it seemed to work.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: jinking vehicle and people on board   Sat Nov 15 2014, 13:15

And also how are they worth more than 1 vp in purge missions if they're not separate units

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Bleaksoul Brethren
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 252
Join date : 2014-09-02
Location : San Antonio

PostSubject: Re: jinking vehicle and people on board   Mon Nov 17 2014, 05:27

The only argument is the comma placement (I know a nitpick grammar thing). Getting rid of the part in between the 2 commas the sentence reads like so;

If the unit Jinks they can only fire Snap Shots until the end of their next turn.

This implies that even if someone doesn't have the jink special rule in a squad that jinked they still have to snap fire and don't get the 4+ cover save.

Back to top Go down
Dra'al Nacht
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 103
Join date : 2012-12-09
Location : Perth, Australia

PostSubject: Re: jinking vehicle and people on board   Mon Nov 17 2014, 06:13

@Bleaksoul Brethren wrote:
The only argument is the comma placement (I know a nitpick grammar thing). Getting rid of the part in between the 2 commas the sentence reads like so;

If the unit Jinks they can only fire Snap Shots until the end of their next turn.

This implies that even if someone doesn't have the jink special rule in a squad that jinked they still have to snap fire and don't get the 4+ cover save.


Still not a valid argument however, regardless of how grammatically nitpicky you want to be.

The vehicle and the embarked unit are still separate units.
Back to top Go down
Bleaksoul Brethren
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 252
Join date : 2014-09-02
Location : San Antonio

PostSubject: Re: jinking vehicle and people on board   Mon Nov 17 2014, 06:55

I agree just be prepared for that argument to be put up by the opposition.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: jinking vehicle and people on board   

Back to top Go down
 
jinking vehicle and people on board
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: