HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Battle forged armies using formations

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Lord Puberis
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 89
Join date : 2013-09-14
Location : Sheffield uk

PostSubject: Battle forged armies using formations   Sun Oct 19 2014, 15:59

I have a question that I believe I have right.

If I'm taking a detachment of dark eldar as per FOC, I also want to bring a detachment from coven supplement.
If I want to use a couple of the formations detailed in coven supplement, do I have to, as well as the two formations, take the obligatory 2 hq and elite choices?
Or as the two formations fulfill these requirements (two Haemonc and two grots) do I not have to?
Or is it that simply the formations form their own detachments and disregard the FOC altogether?

The rulebook seems to state that formations can be taken irrespective of FOC and still retain battle forged status?

Thanks
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Battle forged armies using formations   Sun Oct 19 2014, 16:17

Correct - formations are a type of detachment with their own requirements and units that are the only options you may access

As such, they have no FOC

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Lord Puberis
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 89
Join date : 2013-09-14
Location : Sheffield uk

PostSubject: Re: Battle forged armies using formations   Sun Oct 19 2014, 16:23

Ok, so the allied detachment can be home to two formations? Or would it be two allied detachments?
As a final question, and this may actually be a different topic altogether.

Can you take a formation as a primary detachment? In battle forged? And how would that work in regards to the rules?
Would it be that one formation would be your entire primary detachment?

I'm having an argument with a friend, and he is adamant that a formation doesn't fulfil battle forged criteria?

Cheers

_________________
Flying round space with pointy ears in cardboard aeroplanes

"I think the next stage for him is to remortgage and bring a captial Ship...
.....Brings it on a roof rack, leans out the window, rolls a 2+.Wins. Goes Home.
Its the future we're all facing"
Back to top Go down
Klaivex Charondyr
Wych
avatar

Posts : 918
Join date : 2014-09-08

PostSubject: Re: Battle forged armies using formations   Sun Oct 19 2014, 16:48

Formations are detachments.
An army consisting of detachments is battle forged.
A Formation can be primary detachment. Warlord can only come from primary detachment. So the Haemi from the Dark Artisan Formation can be your primary detachment und thus, Warlord.

An allied detachment cant be home of 2 formation, as a formation is its own detachment.
An allied detachment has a specific set up as described in the BRB.
Two Formations are two seperate detachments.
Back to top Go down
Lord Puberis
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 89
Join date : 2013-09-14
Location : Sheffield uk

PostSubject: Re: Battle forged armies using formations   Sun Oct 19 2014, 17:10

I see, thank you.

_________________
Flying round space with pointy ears in cardboard aeroplanes

"I think the next stage for him is to remortgage and bring a captial Ship...
.....Brings it on a roof rack, leans out the window, rolls a 2+.Wins. Goes Home.
Its the future we're all facing"
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Battle forged armies using formations   

Back to top Go down
 
Battle forged armies using formations
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: