HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
darkgear
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2014-10-11

PostSubject: WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?   Tue Oct 14 2014, 16:47

Considering that the Webway Portal applies to any unit that has been joined by the holder of said device, and that all units composing a formation must be deployed together, is a formation considered as a unit for the purposes of deep striking?

E.g.: Would the 3 raiders and 3 units of wracks attached to the WWP-equipped haemonculus in the Covenite Fleshcorps formation be able to deepstrike without scattering?

If so, the Grotesquerie (1 Haemonculus and 2 units of Grots) could now be seen as Grot Bomb.

Any thoughts?
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

PostSubject: Re: WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?   Tue Oct 14 2014, 16:53

I think you've answered your own question.

Quote :
all units composing a formation

Or in other words, no.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
aurynn
Incubi


Posts : 1621
Join date : 2013-04-23

PostSubject: Re: WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?   Tue Oct 14 2014, 16:54

Unit and Formation are two distinct things. I would not even try to pull that on an opponent, lest I might end up being "that guy". :-)
Back to top Go down
darkgear
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2014-10-11

PostSubject: Re: WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?   Tue Oct 14 2014, 17:08

Since a formation is not considered a unit for the purposes of deep striking, there is therefore no point in taking a WWP on a Haemonculus in a formation is there?

Fair enough but it's somewhat of a loss.
Back to top Go down
Unholyllama
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 267
Join date : 2013-08-27

PostSubject: Re: WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?   Tue Oct 14 2014, 17:18

The only formations where this would work is any that have verbiage like the Ork formations where multiple units are joined together to create 1 super-unit.

Sadly, we don't have such so it'll be on a unit-by-unit basis.


Last edited by Unholyllama on Tue Oct 14 2014, 20:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi


Posts : 1621
Join date : 2013-04-23

PostSubject: Re: WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?   Tue Oct 14 2014, 17:20

If a formation forms one unit, like the formation with 1x Haemi, 1x Talos, 1x Cronos, then there is a point... But it has to be specifically stated.
Back to top Go down
darkgear
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2014-10-11

PostSubject: Re: WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?   Tue Oct 14 2014, 17:30

You beat me to it. I was writing exactly that point.

For those of you who don't have the Covens book, there is only formation that has such a rule and it's "Follow me, My Children".

"All units in this formation must be fielded as a single unit, even though this is not normally allowed."

Things are getting interesting. 2 deep striking pain engines are not something to ignore. Smile
Back to top Go down
Balisong
Sybarite


Posts : 324
Join date : 2012-09-05

PostSubject: Re: WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?   Tue Oct 14 2014, 17:40

Haemie/Talos/Chrons can use the webway portal.

I don't think any of the others can, although I think you would make only one reserves roll to bring in the formation.
Back to top Go down
darkgear
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2014-10-11

PostSubject: Re: WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?   Tue Oct 14 2014, 18:08

@ Balisong:

You're correct regarding the one reserve roll for the formation.

It's not as precise as a WWP deployment if everything arrives by deepstrike but then that means that unless everything in your formation can take a vehicle you're stuck with foot slogging. I guess that the next best option then would be to take Advanced Aethersails and starting the models on the board. Not only would this prevent Tau from Intercepting your incoming vehicles in the following turns but with the Sails you can practically place your vehicles wherever you want thanks to the added mobility.

Plenty of options to check out still.
Back to top Go down
Laughingcarp
Wych
avatar

Posts : 562
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : The insane asylum of the universe

PostSubject: Re: WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?   Tue Oct 14 2014, 20:11

Any HQ models that are allowed to take a WWP in a formation still can. Not all the formations have rules for how to deploy.

So you could, say, take a Grotesquerie (1x Haemy, 2x Grots), put a WWP on the Haemonculus, and start him in DS reserve with one of the units of Grots. Or deploy the Haemonculus with a unit of 20 kabalite warriors or whatever you've taken with your other detachment and DS them.

_________________
I dedicate these deaths to Odin Allfather, Spearshaker, One Eye.
Fleet Shadowmaker - Kabal of the Dying Sun; Cult of Marrow Excised; Coven of Lambent Hunger
Sons of the Last Breath - Chaos Space Marines
Host of Shattered Purity - Chaos Daemons
Back to top Go down
 
WWP and formations | Will the whole formation benefit?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: