HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Archons, Dedicated Transports, and Other Units

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Amornar
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 165
Join date : 2014-06-20
Location : Northern New York

PostSubject: Archons, Dedicated Transports, and Other Units   Mon Oct 13 2014, 20:22

I am fairly sure this is legal but I want to be sure. Posting a new thread as a look through other threads doesn't seem to confirm nor deny.....

I am thinking about running a pair of blaster archons with webway portals to join my two blasterborn squads in their raiders to deep strike in. My question is can I buy dedicated transport venoms for both archons and just run them separate? I can't think of another instance when you have a character with a dedicated transport trying to join another unit that has their own dedicated transport......

Thanks in advance and sorry if this has been directly answered already.
Back to top Go down
thesaltedwound
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 470
Join date : 2014-02-13

PostSubject: Re: Archons, Dedicated Transports, and Other Units   Mon Oct 13 2014, 21:16

I think you can't, don't units have to begin the game inside their dedicated transports?
I take it you're trying to leave FA slots open by buying venoms in this sneaky way. But if that's not your reason, just buy some empty venoms.

_________________
Dark Angels. The Rock. Lion El "Dwayne" Jonson. I can't be the first person to have thought of this.
Back to top Go down
http://Www.bakeframes.bigcartel.com
Amornar
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 165
Join date : 2014-06-20
Location : Northern New York

PostSubject: Re: Archons, Dedicated Transports, and Other Units   Mon Oct 13 2014, 21:27

My fast attack slots are filled my reavers and scourges at the moment so there is no room for cheap venoms. The other option is to take a single lhaemean with a venom for a small increase over an empty one....which I can do if the archons would be required to start in their dedicated transport purchases.
Back to top Go down
Starkadder
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 118
Join date : 2013-03-31
Location : Oxford

PostSubject: Re: Archons, Dedicated Transports, and Other Units   Mon Oct 13 2014, 21:28

Units don't have to begin the game in their DTs. In fact there's nothing to stop you buying a Raider for your 15 man wych squad now (as far as I'm aware) as the old codex restriction seems to have been lifted.
Back to top Go down
Amornar
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 165
Join date : 2014-06-20
Location : Northern New York

PostSubject: Re: Archons, Dedicated Transports, and Other Units   Mon Oct 13 2014, 21:31

I think there is a rule in the main rule book about not being able to purchase transports for squads too big to fit in them but I could be wrong....after all space marines can combat squad at 10 and still buy razorbacks for one squad....
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7078
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Archons, Dedicated Transports, and Other Units   Mon Oct 13 2014, 21:35

@Amornar wrote:
I think there is a rule in the main rule book about not being able to purchase transports for squads too big to fit in them but I could be wrong....after all space marines can combat squad at 10 and still buy razorbacks for one squad....

No, that was just DE in the old Codex. Everyone else could buy transports for units that were too big to fit in them.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
avatar

Posts : 5484
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

PostSubject: Re: Archons, Dedicated Transports, and Other Units   Tue Oct 14 2014, 03:21

The only restriction is that at game start - if *any* unit is going to be inside the dedicated transport then it has to be the unit that bought the transport. ICs can join the given unit normally and be in the transport as long as they fit.

_________________


The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Amornar
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 165
Join date : 2014-06-20
Location : Northern New York

PostSubject: Re: Archons, Dedicated Transports, and Other Units   Tue Oct 14 2014, 03:26

Awesome, thanks Thor. Asked a few people, everyone says it is legal. Cheers all who answered!
Back to top Go down
 
Archons, Dedicated Transports, and Other Units
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: