HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Coven detachments and formations

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Crazy_Ivan
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 499
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Wellingborough

PostSubject: Coven detachments and formations   Sat Oct 11 2014, 13:54

If I take a coven detachment can I just take the formation of two units of grots and a haeme to benefit from the coven rules or do I need the two HQ's and two elites to make the detachment work and use the coven rules?
Back to top Go down
skullmonkeyz
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2014-06-04

PostSubject: Re: Coven detachments and formations   Sat Oct 11 2014, 14:01

you can take the formation to benefit from the altered PFP table, just remember that formations don't fill FOC slots, which can be good or bad depending on points limit Smile
Back to top Go down
Crazy_Ivan
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 499
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Wellingborough

PostSubject: Re: Coven detachments and formations   Sat Oct 11 2014, 14:08

Plan to have a kabal main force then coven formation backing it up the buffs the grots get are pretty damn good!
Back to top Go down
skullmonkeyz
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2014-06-04

PostSubject: Re: Coven detachments and formations   Sat Oct 11 2014, 15:46

i was thinking about something along those lines aswell, i think most coven units would be better off with the PFP table from the supplement, especially grots for being fearless T1 /w haemon, T2 without + that extra S might come in very handy for the rerolling of wounds because of the poison.

If only i could take all the units i wanted in a 1250 / 1500 points list, damnit Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Crazy_Ivan
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 499
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Wellingborough

PostSubject: Re: Coven detachments and formations   Sat Oct 11 2014, 15:50

I need to build more grots! 2 boats is troublesome but 4 would be insane!
Back to top Go down
skullmonkeyz
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2014-06-04

PostSubject: Re: Coven detachments and formations   Sat Oct 11 2014, 15:59

probably yes, however, running the grotestquerie twice amounts to more or less 800 pts depending if you go min grots and what kind of stuff you want to give to your archons.

then you still have 0 HQ, 0 troops and 0 FA (assuming you want to go RSR detachment for the extra cover and whatnot), have to incorporate AA and some other stuff, this gets expensive quickly (points wise that is).

although i didn't play a single game of DE yet, i'm quite eager to test the grots, but i'm not sure how i want to incorporate them into my theorectical lists if i also want reavers, scourges, a RWJF and the mandatory HQ / troops (troops probably min-sized based on points value i'm playing)

oh the humanity, decisions decisions
Back to top Go down
undeadcatd
Slave


Posts : 19
Join date : 2012-07-06

PostSubject: Re: Coven detachments and formations   Sat Oct 11 2014, 16:05

@skullmonkeyz wrote:
probably yes, however, running the grotestquerie twice amounts to more or less 800 pts depending if you go min grots and what kind of stuff you want to give to your archons.

then you still have 0 HQ, 0 troops and 0 FA (assuming you want to go RSR detachment for the extra cover and whatnot), have to incorporate AA and some other stuff, this gets expensive quickly (points wise that is).

although i didn't play a single game of DE yet, i'm quite eager to test the grots, but i'm not sure how i want to incorporate them into my theorectical lists if i also want reavers, scourges, a RWJF and the mandatory HQ / troops (troops probably min-sized based on points value i'm playing)

oh the humanity, decisions decisions

I got a list here : http://www.thedarkcity.net/t10133-1850-pure-dark-eldar-alpha-strike

it's close to your description : RSR detachment with Grots , also reavers and scourges . Just change those ravagers to RWJF
Back to top Go down
 
Coven detachments and formations
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: